We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“payment mistakes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Venera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Venera to your Saves list
Hotel Venera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesihi Pasa Cad. No:72 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #496 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“payment mistakes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

after booking via a seperate website we were sent an e mail saying the card was not accepted as it was a debit card (they needed a credit card) so we booked again using a credit card and received our confirmation, however on arrival at the hotel they had no record of our payment and didnt take the confirmation email as proof of payment, why i dont know as you only get confirmation after payment! so we had to pay again but because it was not online or through the website they charged us extra plus we were charged for transaction abroad. When we got home we checked the bank account and weren't surprised to see we had been charged twice, the second time much more than the original booking cost. We sent an email to the hotel with copies of bank statements proving their mistake and explained they need to refund the larger sum as it was their mistake, so they replied saying sorry for the mistake (which had left us a bit short on cash for the rest of the trip due to paying for the hotel with our spending money) and the money would be refunded within 15 - 20 days. After 1 month still no refund but they insisted that they had made the transfer then finally after another month of emails and complaints we recieved the money but not the full amount but too fed up to claim the rest back. Shocked that an apparently respected hotel not only made this mistake in the first place but also took so long to sort out such a simple matter, well nearly sort out!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
29
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for only 4 days and had nothing to complain about.
Good food, clean and comfortable rooms.

What's more, there's a nice small Italian restaurant upstairs with great cousin, interior and view of the Bosphorus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I would like to claim that we have paid 32 Turkish lira (20dollars) for package Turkish bath + Sauna. But for our unpleasant surprise we were received in this 4* hotel Venera Turkish bath without soap, water and pilling, only relaxing. We we stayed 10 min. in the sauna and 10-15 min in the Turkish bath, relaxing. We have asked the woman (Marina) when she will start the Turkish bath she told us that our package is only this, if we want the full procedure that we had to pay 60dollars. We are on 100% sure that they lied us because there is no Turkish bath only with relaxing on the stones.
However, we have not received the paid service, they have not returned us the money and for sure we will not return back into this hotel. All our friends will learn for this hotel, for their awful behaviour to us.
My suggest is to be very careful if you stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: no spevial tip, only be careful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My family and I chose this hotel for our Easter visit to Istanbul. We booked a triple room and we could not have been more pleased with the size of the room. It had views over the Bosphorus, a small living room which helped us feel very comfortable moving around in the room and a good sized bathroom. The sheets and towels were changed daily and the breakfast was plentiful and served on the 8th floor, with great views once more. The location was not the absolute best we could have had but it was close to the tram, only one stop from the Bazaar and two from all the Sultanahmet sites so overall, it was very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

After completing our circuit of Turkey, our Pacha Tour returned us to this hotel. It was an improvement to the Blackbird. Furnishings were new and shower drains wonderfully. It was near a mosque but for some reason, no prayer calls came from there. The closest tram is Laleli-Universite and was a 10 minute walk to the Grand Bazaar. The neighborhood appears to be a garment wholesale district.

Our triple room was 215, fairly well lit, very small with 1 queen bed and 1 single bed. There was an in room safe which doesn’t appear to be functioning. Bathroom amenities include hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, shower caps and soap. Shower drains well.

Our room faces the front of the hotel. The window was more like a door as it opens completely and you are able to step out onto a little ledge.

Breakfast was the usual breads, salad, cold cut spread with Nescafe coffee machine, diluted juices (OJ, cherry and peach). Warm options were limited. The omelet station wasn’t operating the first morning but on the next morning, when there appears to be a tour group in residence, it was working.

There was a computer in the lobby but unsure if it’s internet-ready. I was told Wi-Fi was free.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

This is definitely not a location for first time historical/cultural tourist. Mesihpaca is a virtually All-Russian environment and is not reflective of Istanbul. The street is totally lined with Russian speaking clothing shops and deserted on weekends, making it rather unsafe for a female tourist to walk come night.

Grand Bazaar is 900m away; while the rest of the historical sites (Aya Sofia, Blue mosque etc) are about 1.5-2.0 km away whereas they are all within 500m if you stay in the Sultanahmet area.

The hotel however is rather new and modern: and we were given the quadruple room instead of a triple as there was a busload of Russian inbound tourists. The room was huge ( some 50 sq. m) and the beddings were clean and comfy, while the bathroom was reflective of a new 4 star quality. Being on the 5th floor, we could just see over the opposite 5 storey shops for a glimpse of the sea.

However, the air-cond control is fixed to 25 degrees Centrigade and can be rather uncomfortably warm and stuffy. The room windows can be opened slightly (as it had a safety latch) but the noise from the street would be unbearingly loud with service trucks and what not.

The hotel staffs are rather impersonal and most do not speak a word of English. As we stayed 3 nights, we were given a free buffet dinner, however; food was average with a biased towards vegetarians.

Free wifi was absolutely useless as the speed is so slow it timed out for any webpage that has timeout feature and the other big negative was that the TV had only about 8 channels - all of which are Russian channels except for one with English songs and that being a recorded one which repeats about 10 times a day (according to my teenage son). The'Laleli' tramstop is 200m away uphill to the north of the hotel.

By the way, forget about the swimming pool at basement 2 level - it measures about 3 x 3 metres! and the water is not warm enough. The hotel would do better to have a spa pool instead. Oh, and yeah, there was ONE treadmill.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Hotel is very good. Clean
Position of hotel is ideal for both business and city break. Has sea view from the restaurant and bar. Staff very helpful. Doing their best to help especially at the ninth floor bar/restaurant. Near metro station and walking distance to the main tourist attraction and grand bazar .. breakfast is good for 4* . not geared for diner only us were half board but staff at the restaurant provided 4 course meals for us every night each night different main dish . we are very much satisfied with this holiday .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Venera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venera

Address: Mesihi Pasa Cad. No:72 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Venera 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Venera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Venera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.