We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rumist

Cafe Rumist
Akbiyik Caddesi No:5, Istanbul, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)
902124586678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 11,072 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, Italian, Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet - Old City
Description: All the Turkish hot and cold drinks, dessert, kebabs, pides, pizzas in a wood burning oven.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“We love Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cafe Rumist is a restful and charming cafe--away from so much of the hustle and hype of the city. The food is absolutely wonderful--I had the shrimp in a sauce and my husband had chicken. The portions were huge and the ingredients are top quality. No tough mystery meat here. The staff is great fun and attentive. This is a family operated establishment and they all pitch in. Ibrahim and his brother are the movers here and there is no alcohol.
They have a collection of rugs upstairs and will invite you for a look--I now own a beautiful rug! This was not part of the plan, but these are people whom one may trust, as we know very little about the carpet business. Enjoy Cafe Rumist!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    149
    41
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“We loved Cafe Rumist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Cafe Rumist was located right next door to our hotel in Sultanahmet - the Hanedan, but we didn't try it until our second day in Istanbul. I wish we would have eaten there all our meals, everything was delicious! We ate at Rumist maybe 3 or 4 times and every dish we ate was tasty and yummy. The prices were very reasonable and we loved the atmosphere - relaxing in those comfy sofas and enjoying the wonderful breeze. Even on a hot day, it was lovely because the property is located right on a corner and they get a nice flow of air, plus they have mist lightly spraying from the awning. Our server Otai was the best, he was sooo charming, efficient and attentive. Always welcoming us with a big smile, joking and friendly even though he was running around taking care of all the customers. We loved that kid!
We definitely want to go back to Turkey and when we do, we will once again stay at the Hanedan and we will have all our meals at Cafe Rumist!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped here after we saw this street on a bus tour...restaurant looked great and the large table with couch-like seats was perfect for our group of 7! Looked like something you might see in a movie! We visited on a hot day, and the mist spraying down periodically was very refreshing. Food was great and the owner was engaging and attentive. The parade of vintage Chevys, part of a wedding party, only added to the experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Turkish experience in istanbul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The food and atmosphere was amazing! The customer service was also good! Highly recommend you visit! Best kebab I've had here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The food is good here, like many of the other restaurants on this street. I particularly liked the calamari.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rumist also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Cafe Rumist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rumist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.