We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend Acra Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acra Hotel to your Saves list
Acra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommend Acra Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just returned yesterday from a Christmas holiday in Istanbul. My husband and I have stayed in several hotels (we travel approx. 8-10 times/year) and we have to say the Acra hotel is by far the best hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel offers complimentary Ataturk airport/hotel shuttle if you book directly with the hotel. Otherwise, recommend using the Istanbulairport24.com for 38 euros roundtrip total for 2 persons.
The location is excellent for sightseeing, a wide selection of restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel is an easy walking distance to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome. The Grand Bazaar is approx. 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. The area is also safe to walk around since there are many tourists and locals.
Upon arriving, we were greeted immediately. The hotel lobby and room are nicely furnished. The hotel/rooms looks exactly like the pictures posted on the internet. The ambiance is very romantic. The rooms are spacious for European standards however, the rooms are not soundproof. The hotel had quite a bit of guests including children so, the noise did not pose too much of a problem but could potentially be if there are noisy guests.
The hotel staff is always friendly and helpful with any questions or concerns. Turkis tea and coffee was always offered while in the lobby area. Mesut, the hotel manager always made sure guests were taken care of. He would offer tour suggestions and the suggestions were great! We highly recommend the Orient House dinner and show. The food and entertainment were wonderful. The music is loud and therefore would not recommend this for small children. The hotel will assist in arranging complimentary transfers to restaurants, attractions, etc. So, it is not necessary to take a taxi. We also had a late flight and asked for a late check out in which Mesut gladly provided. There are many more positives that I have to say about the Acra hotel but it would be impossible to list them all. Again, we would highly recommend this hotel. In fact, we already told our friends and have given them the website information.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    157
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
203
260
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We visited Istanbul for a short break in December and stayed at the Acra Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome by the staff. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Staff were extremely helpful and professional and couldn't do enough for you.

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all the sights and the Grand Bazaar.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We visited Istanbul and stayed at the Acra Hotel in May 2011 for a week. From the moment we arrived the staff was welcoming, helpful and easy to talk with. The location is excellent for touring the old city. We were able to walk to the blue mosque in less then ten minutes. All the other sights including the grand bazaar and spice market(a little longer walk but not bad at all) are walkable too.
The staff provided great suggestions and reservations for restaurants.
Highlights of the hotel include the breakfast every morning, more then enough to fuel you to lunch and the afternoon tea/snack service in the lobby. The cake with fruit was our favorite!
The rooms were quite spacious. Ours faced the water with a view of ships coming and going. Our parents faced the old city with a view of the blue mosque.
Coming back to the staff, they really made our visit. Many are fluent in english(other languages too) and even those that are learning english made an effort to communicate and help us.
We would visit again any time!
Thank You.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water or one facing the old city depending on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Mesut & team took gr8 care of us. Friendly pleasant helpful professional prompt staff. Homely cosy quiet family oriented hotel. Will recommend anyone for this hotel & wud come back here again myself too. Brilliant !!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Acra hotel. The staff and in particular Mesut were very professional and incredibly helpful. They ensured that all my arrangements and requests were met and all in all were very accomodating. The facilities were first class and my room was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to come to Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The staff of the hotel (Mesut (morning shift) , Mehmet (night shift) were exceptionally helpful in accommodating our requests and making arrangements for our travels. Regardless of the hour of the day, they maintained a good sense of humor. The other staff (Junior Mesut, Orhan, Fret) were also helpful.

Great location - 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque and coast of Sea of Marmara, 10 minutes to both Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace.

Rooms were warm, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast selection was adequate. Nice selection of complimentary cakes, biscuits and flavored tea between 3 to 6 pm. Nice welcome after hard day's walking in the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I visited Istanbul for 5 days last month and choose Acra due to the good reviews I saw on this website. I was picked up from the hotel for free as I booked through their website and also had my room upgraded on arrival as I had a baby with me. The room was cosy and spacious with a cot for my baby.

Throughout our stay the guys at the hotel looked after us. They were always more than happy to give us directions to the different attractions in Istanbul and always arranged a taxi for us when needed. They provide a lovely breakfast for free and the room was always spotless when we arrived back from our days adventure.

The hotel is within walking distance of all the major attractions. You can walk to the Blue Mosque, Hajjia Sofia, Underground Palace and Topaki Palace within 6 minutes. Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar are a 15 minute walk away. I thought I’d need a full 5 days to visit all the attractions but done it quite easily in 3.

I can’t thank the guys at the hotel enough for looking after us. It was our first family holiday and the guys at the hotel played a big part in making it memorable. Special thanks to Mesoud who was star throughout. My baby girl says hello if the guys at the hotel are reading this review.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room if you have a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.