We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acra Hotel to your Saves list
Acra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 15 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 1,005 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Everything people say about this place is true. We stayed 5 nights in a superior room - worth the small extra cost if you are staying more than a couple of nights. We qualified for the free airport pick up and this was a really convenient, stress-free way to arrive at the city. We also used and paid for the service on return at a cost of 30 euro which while slightly dearer than a regular taxi it was again convenient, prompt and courteous.
The staff are extremely helpful (they help print our boarding passes for our return flights using their free computer/wi-fi). The breakfast is comprehensive and location is perfect - just 5 mins from the middle of the action. All in all a very good value, clean, safe and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    163
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
205
263
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We were at the Acra for a few days in Decemer, went to Cappadoccia and returned for a few more days. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff were wonderfu l - from Lale, Mesut and Hasan at the desk to Con in the breakfast room. The were very helpful in making reommendations for places to eat and how to get around. They held our extra luggage when we went to Cappadoccia. The basement breakfast room is large but cozy. Food was good. Bread fresh. Tea and pastries were available when we arrived back fro our time exploring the city. We met some very nice people who were also staying there. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked the corner room which had two windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel was great, fairly new, the standard double room is ample with a queen size bed and nice linens, the bathroom is spacious, well lighted, with a great shower, and very clean. The hotel is conveniently located, walking distance to the majority of Old Town attractions and the tram. It is in a quiet street but just one block from AkbIyIk Cad which has about two dozen restaurants. The hotel staff is very attentive and helpful. It is listed as a 4 star hotel, but probably it is a 3.5 stars. My room only had 1 TV channel in English (BBC News), the room could have used a facial tissue box. the hair drier did not dry much, but those are minor details; this place is a really good value for the money, and I loved the place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top floor have better views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I was well impressed by the standard of service and especially staff. They were very welcoming and helpful-Masud was particularly helpful.thank you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
entebbe
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here as a stop off, just to relax for a couple of nights. We wish we had stayed longer. We arrived early, at 830am - the hotel had organised our airport collection in a comfortable air/con mini bus. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at no charge and an early check in room was ready for us. Lale at the front desk orgainsed a boat trip for us and gave us information about what to see, where to change money, etc. Ozlem at reservations had been helpful all along as our booking dates changed twice before we arrived. Porters could not be more helpful, showing us the internet area, carrying bags and generally just being gracious.
The hotel is central to everything that we did, the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Aya Sophia, the covered Bazaar, Cistern basilica, shops, Mesale cafe for the dervish display. We walked everywhere although it is easy to get the hop on hop off buses close by if you want to venture further.
Our room had excellent air con, a lovely bathroom, with good quality toiletries, towels and shower and bath, There was TV in the room, safe, fridge, free internet, a little balcony, all delightful and very elegant. We loved Istanbul and plan to come back and stop over on our way home again - friends had suggested a few hotels in the area so we checked them out, but we will only stay at the Acra- with the airport transfers taken care of, and transport to the boat trips it was a real pleasure plus we felt very safe there.
The staff are a credit to the hotel and the hotel is great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I must agree with the other reviewers. This is an excellent hotel. A 4 1/2 if I could figure out how to mark 1/2.
It is modern and clean, and I would include that it has lovely elegant touches (chandeliers for instance) without bein over whelming or stuffy.The bathrooms are great- marble and modern- good lighting and water pressure. The beds and bed linens are very good and comfortable. The rooms are nicely done (somewhat small but not really by European standards) with lovely touches including ,molding, built in wooden clsets, antique type lamps. Our room also had a balcony (looking up to Aya Sophia and across the water at the Bosphorous, which we loved) and two chairs, which is always nicer than always having to sit on the bed. It may not have all the old fashioned charm of say Yesil Ev, but it is a great and lovely refuge in a very busy and noisy city. (Windows very good and double glazed-keeping out much of the noise of the streets.)
The breakfast was also excellent, the usual with fresh bread, yogurts, cheeses, eggs, juice etc. Breakfast is served in a charming partially below grade basement, but it was bright, cheerful and charming nonetheless- with light streaming in from the window wells. But the show stopped in the basement was the old stone walls, which were the outside foundation of the old palace.
I must also comment on the staff- very friendly and welcoming and very helpful. Thank you all.
The location couldn't be better-one block from "restaurant row" in Sultanamet, 2 1/2 blocks from the Arasta Market (Much more enjoyable than the Grand Bazaar), 3 blocks from the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome .Really a very short walk to all of the top sites in Istanbul.
We couldn't have been happier with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Really one of the best hotels I ever stayed in my life. Big rooms, ideal location very close to the Blue Mosque and at the same time at the quiet street, very helpful staff. Good bathroom with all necessary equipment. I would definitely come beck to this hotel when I am in Istanbul the next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Acra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Hotel

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No 15 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Acra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.