We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agora Guesthouse to your Saves list
Agora Guesthouse
Cankurtaran Mah. Ak Biyik Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Agora Guest House is my second home. It’s very clean and safe. The hospitality of the staffs is No.1. Their breakfast is fresh and rich. We had breakfast on the roof-top terrace seeing the panoramic view of Marmara. Agora’s friendly atmosphere makes everyone friend. We enjoyed new year party with new friends so much. Agora Guest House is an unforgettable place. I’ll be back to Istanbul and stay at Agora Guest House again.

Room Tip: If you stay at the dormitory, I recommend you to stay at the rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    84
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
84
250
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

There is a warm atmosphere in Agora Guesthouse.
The staffs are all kind and like old friends.
Whole the inside of the guesthouse was very clean.
I liked the terrace floor the most. It has a great view of sea.
Their breakfast is given in a buffet style on this floor.
What I liked most was their hand-made cakes.
They’re baking them for themselves every day.
I spent time at the terrace floor in the evenings, too.
On the terrace, you can read books, watch DVDs or TV, play games or just sit looking at the sea.
I will never forget the time I spent at Agora Guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have stayed in Agora 3 times since April 2013. It feels like my home away from home and the staff know me by now. Every day begins with a great breakfast, clean showers, and a friendly smile from the staff. They have helped me to organize tours, airports rides, order food, send postcards and even received a set of champion league tickets for me.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in the heart of Istanbul - less than 5 mins walking distance from the major tourist attractions, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia etc. Spic & span rooms & washrooms. A cozy rooftop kitchen & breakfast area, where one can have home like breakfast, very friendly staff & you get a chance to meet & chit chat with other tourists from various parts of the world. You can have your free morning breakfast, & otherwise reheat / microwave your packed food any hour of the day. With a beautiful view of the sea from the terrace, its a wonderful place to stay anytime of the year. Have been there twice and its like a second home for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

this is the second time that i chose Agora Hostel,everything excellent , clean and friendly team
this time i chose to sleep in 4 bed dorm garden view i think its a good option.you can see some trees,seagulls,cats and drops of rain outside the window.
everyday the room service team cleaning the room
i'm sure I'll come third time and will also chose Agora hostel
special thank to Vahap, Ali and the Japanese roof team

Room Tip: 4 bed dorm garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This guest house is new and immaculate and the staff very kind and responsive. Its location is the best possible with terrace views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Bosporus shipping. I am older and enjoy reflection and reading and did that when I was here. Tomomi gave me special treats and Vahap who has lived in the US was flexible and funny and efficient. He explained why the rug merchants and café men still accost you in Sultanahmet as you pass.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

That about sums it up! One of the cleanest hostels I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. Plenty of showers & toilets, excellent breakfast and the hostel employees were great. Pretty mellow crowd so I had no problems with noise, etc. Great location for visiting all of the major tourist sites - a little far from the nightlife though. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Guesthouse

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ak Biyik Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agora Guesthouse & Hotel is a boutique hotel created for the savvy, modern traveler. An edgy feel, online and personal interaction, and a spectrum of available room types make the Agora experience unique to the individual. Depending on budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities. Private rooms with private baths, wide screen TV with DVD player, air-conditioner, complimentary wireless Internet, mini bars, and direct-dial telephones and hair dryers.You will get to enjoy Agora’s home-made breakfasts which are served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Bosphorus and the Asiatic part of Istanbul. Agora is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. Our rooms are simple, stylish, and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spendthrift traveler. In-the-know 18-40 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. Agora Guesthouse and Hotel is located in the heart of Istanbul, only steps away from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Underground Cistern, 10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market, 10 minutes drive to Taksim square. Agora Guesthouse and hotel is sure to be Turkey's best and when you stay you'll see that Agora has included all the small details to ensure a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Agora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.