We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good starting point for Old Istanbul sightseeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Polatdemir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Polatdemir to your Saves list
Hotel Polatdemir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aksaray Cad. No:7 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good starting point for Old Istanbul sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Location is a definite strength of the Polatdemir hotel - one gets on the metro in the Airport, one gets out in Aksaray. I wondered how the hotel could fit into such a narrow building, but it does. A visitor has an access to all features required from the 3* hotel - including a very decent breakfast. Rooms are very small, but comfy, I liked the bed and a clean bathroom - but mind you, if one is sensitive to the issue of available space, an episode of claustrophobia is likely.

Within a walking distance from the hotel one can find a T1 tram station (to Sultanahmet), a metro terminal (to the airport) and a couple of bus stops convenient if you want to cross the Golden Horn. Lots of other hotels in the vicinity, but I think that Polatdemir is a right choice for a budget-conscious tourist.

One serious downside of the hotel that I found really annoying: wifi internet connection is completely unreliable and the hotel staff, otherwise helpful, failed to do anything with that during my 5-day stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    66
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
64
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We read the posted reviews and decided to go with this hotel and booked it. We just returned after a very comfortable 4 night stay. Yes, our room was very compact but we didn't care as long as the room was clean; the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was roomy and fully equipped. Istanbul was absolutely awesome!! To my surprise, it is a very sophisticated, well-functioning, exciting city with thousands of years of history. This city is constantly moving with oodles of fresh, rhythmic energy and seems to renew itself over and over again. It is a city that definitely doesn't sleep!!

After an amazing Mediterranean breakfast buffet fit for the Sultan himself, we spent our days sightseeing and didn't care very much about how many square meters the room was or wasn't nor were we delighted or disappointed with the view. Hotel Polatdemir is a great location and is easily accessible to public transportation and only minutes away from most landmarks, making sightseeing very convenient and painless. Actually, one could even walk to most places if desired.
The staff was very polite and welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate us quickly and efficiently.
During our stay, the wireless internet was not functioning properly but there was a computer available to guests who needed to go online. Actually, that was the only disappointment for us as we always travel with our laptop and could not enjoy the convenience of using it in our room for business. The front desk tried to get it repaired but were unable to do during our stay.
We say "Kudos" to Hotel Polatdemir and hope to return next year for a longer stay. By the way, the online room charge was exactly half of what the rate is at the front desk. We love a good bargain and this was definitely a great deal and excellent value for our money.

Room Tip: Book online, you'll save bigtime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is absolutely worth its price! It is very small (6 rooms per floor, 6 floors total), so are the rooms (good for 1 person, a bit tight for two) but super clean, with an excellent bathroom and a very fine bed. Very essential, but with a safe and air conditioning.
The breakfast is rich, thought a bit monotonous. Bar is a plus. I was not charged extra for 2 local calls, which is also a great plus. WiFi did not work well, which is a minus.
Location is strategic: you are 10 min walk from the Blue Mosque. The tram stop is just round the corner. And you're in the market heart of Istambul in case you hunt for cheap shopping. All very fine for a small hotel and price/quality ration.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at polatdemir last year 2010 in march.

To cut it short, rooms are small, just enough for two people to fit in there. Location is not the best as everyone was telling me, but we did not see or face anything disturbing.

Breakfast was good, it needs more than one elevator, but i woud be surprised if they manage to fit another.

Transport to and from the airport was easy, since it is the last station on the metro line going to the airport,a 30 mins ride to ataturk airport.

A small walk to the nearest tramway as well.

W enjoyed our stay there, and the deal was good as well, 60 euros for a double room.

I would recommend this hotel to young couples as older ones would find it hard to move in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

For the price we paid (75 euro/night) this was an excellent hotel! Our double room, though not large, was very comfortable. The bathroom was well designed, cleaning staff were efficient, and the included buffet breakfast was quite good.

The location of the hotel is convenient, especially for the first time visitor to Istanbul, as it is right off the main tram line, making it very easy for one to get to the historic centre and north of the Bosphorus.

One negative point is that, if your room faces the street, as there is a mosque very close by, you may be awoken in the morning during prayer time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Looks lil tight but feel ok. Clean. Nice personnel. Good breakfast. 10 min walk to Sultan Ahmet or 3 min by tram

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

This hotel would definately qualify as a boutique hotel and a good one too. The interiors are contemporary and quite refreshing and a contrast to all the history in the city that can sometimes be a bit overbearing.

First the positives.

Great Location-just off the aksaray tram station and a 30min walk to all attractions.
Good Service- the staff is always available to assist you with a smile night or day.
Great Breakfast- One of the best breakfasts served by any hotel anywhere in this category and that too inclusive with the room prices.
Extremely Clean- The housekeeping staff is to be commended, the whole hotel is spotless.

Now the Negatives-not many here
Small rooms- Some of the rooms may be a tad small however the deluxe double double we stayed in was adequately sized.

Value for money? definately considering what some established chains are charging for similar rooms and service considering we were in peak tourist season there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Polatdemir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polatdemir

Address: Aksaray Cad. No:7 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polatdemir 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Polatdemir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Polatdemir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.