We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel amazing people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rast Hotel to your Saves list
Rast Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Pick Up
Ranked #192 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing hotel amazing people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Just got back ,Such a beautiful clean hotel , staff were amazing sevgi, fatma and Hanife were lovely kind and friendly. The views from our room were breath taking. We would sit and eat our breakfast in the morning and not wanna go any were as it was so peaceful. I would Deffo come to this hotel again if I went Istanbul again, not one bad thing to say, thank you rast hotel xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    180
    52
    9
    4
See reviews for
114
257
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just came back from a 12 day trip to Turkey where we had booked the last day at the Rast Hotel, Istanbul and the way I see it now – we left the best for the last, a super hotel in all respects – excellent location, just steps away from the main street where you have Sultanahmet square on your right and Grand bazar on your left with the tram station right on it , the view from the rooftop terrace will blow you away, I had spent a good amount of my afternoon, evening and morning taking pictures of the Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia from there, breakfast was great , room was spacious even for our family of 3, friendly and helpful hotel staff. All in all – we loved it and would check in there next time we are in Istanbul and I know we’ll be there.

Ujjwal Mukherjee
Bangalore, India

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Rast Hotel and I would stay here every time that I return to Istanbul. The view from the rooftop terrace is absolutely incredible. The staff were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was good. The rooms are a bit outdated and the carpets and walls are showing their age but they everything was always clean.
On our second visit we arrived at 9am and we were allowed to store our luggage and change clothes and start our last day of Istanbul before checking in and getting our room later that day.
The staff at the front desk was always very knowledgeable and able to answer all of our questions. We had not planned to get a tour guide for our first day's visit, but it was so inexpensive that we decided that I would be an inefficient use of a day if we did not take advantage of the full day walking tour. The guide which they arranged for us was great. This location is also good because you are a one minute walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop, which allows quick and easy access to all of Istanbul. There are 15+ places to eat within a few blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in April. We had a triple room for 4 of us 2 adults and 2 kids.
The room is big enough, as we had quite a bit of luggage.
It could be easily stowed and still had room to move around.
The closet is good space and also had a safe in it. The bathroom is slightly on the smaller side but workable.
The location is absolutely perfect, literally steps from the Sultanahmet tram stop, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia. Lots of restaurants easily accessible on Divanyolu Caddesi.
The rooftop restaurant is perfect, great views of the mosque and Hagia Sophia.
The breakfast is good. We ordered room service twice, quick efficient service and food was good too.
All in all a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have just returned from four fabulous days in Istanbul having stayed in this small gem of a hotel in the Sutanahmet district (old city), within ten minutes walking distance of some of this great city's key landmarks, and only five minutes stroll from the nearest tram stop from where the rest of both the European and Asian sections were easily accessible. Altrhough our room was small and simply furnished, we had all we could reasonably need here. Our bed was comfortable, the room was cleaned impeccably each day and staff were friendly and accommodating. But the piece de resistance is the wonderful rooftop restaurant and terrace, where we had our breakfast (more of a brunch, with a large selection of Turkish and Continental food to set you up for the day, as well as the madatory omelette station). The views from the terrace simply cannot be bettered: each morning we were blown away by the sight of the Bosphorous, the Blue Mosque and Haggia Sophia, shimmering in the ever-changing light. We returned to sit on the terrace at sunset. No doubt there is more luxurious accommodation to be found at a hefty premium in Istanbul, but I doubt a more friendly and well-placed one for a short city break such as ours. The price included a free airport pick-up (one-way only) and for 25 euro we chose to use the hotel's very comfortable private transfer service to return to the airport, rather than taxi. Thank you Rast Hotel for making us feel so welcome. We will certainly return....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Istanbul for 3 nights and booked Rast Hotel based on trip advisor reviews.
The location is perfect for Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Basilica Cistern,Topkapi Palace all within a 10 min walking distance and a 30 min walk to Egyptian spice markets plus the sea shore.

The rooms had a street view and the level 6 restaurant (free breakfast) had sensational views of both the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia :) The breakfast selection was not your typical buffet, it had an extravagant selection of cakes, biscuits and sweets in addition to normal hot breakfast.. The friendly staff made omelette and fried eggs at request - all in all I was very happy with Rast service - we even got a small gift at checkout ☺️
Well done team and I'm already recommending my friends to come and stay with u..


  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Staying in Sultanahmet puts you in the middle of most everything you want to see in Istanbul -- and the Rast Hotel is a great place to stay in this region. Quiet enough to sleep well at night, but only a short walk to Aya Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Constantine's Column, and all of the other sites in this area. You're a block from the tram line stop. Rooms are clean and quiet. The breakfasts are huge and delicious -- served buffet style on the 6th floor with views that are simply amazing. Staff was very helpful in moving us to a room with two beds, as well as in facilitating early morning check outs, and were even able to keep a bag for us for a week while we traveled around the rest of Turkey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#124 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.