We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rast Hotel to your Saves list
Rast Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Pick Up
Ranked #190 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

5 mins walk to Blue Mosque and 10 mins walk to Great Bazaar. You could almost walk to everywhere of Istanbul old city from the hotel.
And we really enjoyed eating breakfast with the fabulous view on the top floor. Sea, bird, blue mosque, hagia sofia and the Istanbul old city.
The staff was helpful but not that welcoming compared to the other Turkish people.
We booked whirling dervish and airport transport through the hotel which was very convenient.
Sadly I lost my phone in the hotel and they can't find it.
Hotels in Istanbul are really expensive, you could find a much better hotel in most other main cities in the world.

Room Tip: Triple room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    180
    52
    9
    4
See reviews for
114
257
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfsberg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

You could not get a better location to the major tourist sites. Staff were helpful, breakfast excellent, rooftop views magnificent and the rooms clean and functional. I lost my purse in Restaurant and they picked it up for me and sent it to my home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed a total of 4 nights at the Rast.

Location is extremely close to the Ayya Sofya and the Blue mosque. And the Sultanahmet Tram station just 100m away.

Lots of restaurants around the area

Rooms are alright, not too small though the showers are a little dirty and leaky. Might be noisy at night.

Wifi Internet is stable and of acceptable speed.

The highlight of the hotel is the view from the Terrace (6th floor). Fantastic panoramic view of the city facing the Ayya Sofya and the Blue mosque.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room on a higher floor to avoid the street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights April/May 2013 as part of a package. Terrific location, but service just average. Initially we did one night (Very nice room!) before going to Gallipoli, then back to a much smaller, very average room - probably a function of the package price.One of the foyer PCs had its wifi link hang, and I rebooted it myself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect, central position to everything in Sultanment with the most fantastic rooftop restaurant looking directly over the Blue Mosque. 2 minute walk to the tram which takes you directly into the Galata Bridge and Spice Market. Walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace and Cistern. Fairly small room with tiny bathroom but the view from the rooftop is worth these small details. Mr Happy assisted us with a private guide and transfers from the airport are free if you stay for 5 nights. Only negative - the Hotel is Alcohol free, so if you want to have a drink while enjoying the view, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better view and are the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is perfect, right in the heart of the Old Town. And it is with a big and warm heart that Happy, Jasmin and the whole staff will welcome you from the moment you check in and during all your pleasant stay in the incredible Istanbul. We would like to thank Happy for all his experience helping us to make good use of our time there. He helped us planning our sightseeing for the 4 days we spent there. Ah, I was forgetting the cherry on the cake, breakfast is on the roof facing the Bosphorus and surrounded by the two major mosques: Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, breathtaking view. We loved Istanbul, its people and Rast Hotel. If I ever come back to Turkey I would defenetely stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, me, my husband and my son who is 6 years-old. The room facied the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Centrally located in Sultanahmet, this hotel has breathtaking view of the Bosphorus, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia from its rooftop restaurant. It offers an extensive and delicious breakfast - included in the room rate. Staff were helpful mostly, and allowed us to check in early and throw in a complimentary breakfast (very appreciated as we had travelled overnight). There is a tram stop just around the corner, and many restaurants in the vicinity. On the down side, the room and bathroom were very small and dark and the shower could have been cleaner (and bigger). One sleeps under odd bedding - best described as a curtain and a tablecloth. Good aircon though!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rast Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:4 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this perfectly located hotel, you can enjoy your breakfast every morning while admiring the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus and Princess Islands. Most of the old city's attractions, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi Palace, are practically on your doorstep. After exploring these great sites, come back and feel the warm and kind atmosphere at the Rast Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rast Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.