We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aruna was just what we wanted and needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARN Aruna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ARN Aruna Hotel to your Saves list
ARN Aruna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Mah. Ahirkapi Sok No 74, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #478 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aruna was just what we wanted and needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Aruna Hotel was a great choice and offer transfers from the airport. The rooms are small but clean and cozy, the location is excellent and the breakfast was the best. The hotel has a Hammam which was awesome and the people r very friendly and helpful. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back so the sounds of the street don;t disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    90
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
53
123
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location, within walking distance to main attractions, helpful staff at reception and super breakfast, very tasty and a lot of choices with. All in all an unique place to stay, If we were going again we would choose this hotel one more time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed in Aruna hotel for a week. Out stay was good overall and the hotel staff and management was good and helping. Most of them understood and spoke English to some extent which as I came to realise is quite uncommon. I had lost watch at the airport and the hotel helped me lodge a complain to get it back. On the downside to my surprise the hotel did not provide toothbrush and toothpaste which may seem like a trivial thing but was still surprising and the hotel did not help me get one. Overall a good hotel to stay at if travelling alone or with 1 other person.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just 2 days ago, we only stayed one night but if we go back to Istanbul again I would be happy to stay there again. Room and bathroom was very clean, really enjoyed our stay there and they even packed a breakfast for us to take as we left before breakfast was served.:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you are expecting a four star hotel or a boutique hotel (usually understood as a unique, intimate and luxurious hotel) then you are going to be disappointed. It is a small hotel 2 mins walk from the corniche and a few minutes walk from the major tourist attractions like the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia. It is certainly not very fancy or posh. It is unique in that while it is so close to the busy tourist area, it is actually located on a small street away from the hustle and bustle. If you fancy a walk or a run along the water front in the morning, this is the place to be. The Turkish bath in the basement is clean and wonderful - and free usage for guests really makes it worthwhile. The rooms are great value. The staff is friendly, esp the lady who manages the Turkish bath and massage. If your idea of a holiday is a decent place to sleep and bathe and take in as much of the history and beauty of Istanbul at a great value, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week in late September. Service was perfect. Very professional staff members. Good location, walking distance to all the main attractions, away from all the noise. No regrets!!!

Selection for buffet breakfast was lavish. Really have no complaints. Enjoyed my stay & would always choose to stay here again when visiting Istanbul.


Ersan Mehmet, Nevzat Ahmet & Ibrahim Cok iyi birisin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

On arrival, we were professionally greeted by all staff present & offered a variety of welcome drinks. The hotel staff took care in taking our luggage to the designated room, which was a family connecting room. It was spacious, clean & traditional. Just what we were looking for. The fridge was stocked with many drinks & the view was lovely. The bathroom was very clean, with a nice shower & jacuzzi style bath. The floor under the beds was very clean aswell. :-) After a short while a staff member took us on a tour of the hotel to familiarise us with the location of all the facilities available to us. The roof terrace has lovely views of the blue mosque and breathtaking views of the sea.

The basement houses a clean sauna, massage room & Turkish bath. A free Turkish bath was included in the price we payed for 5 nights, which was unbeatable. The Turkish bath experience is a must. The professional lady ( Oslo I think) is very good & once it is over, you leave feeling very refreshed.

The reception staff are extremely friendly. They take the time out to go that extra mile for you. All the places we wanted to visit: blue mosque, the cistern, aya sofya, topkapi palace are all within walking distance of the hotel & the staff mapped out the directions for us very patiently. They also arranged a full day Bosporus cruise, visit to the Asia side & cable car ride for us, at a competitive rate.

Definitely enjoyed our time here & if I visit Istanbul again would stay at Aruna again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ARN Aruna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARN Aruna Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ahirkapi Sok No 74, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#261 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARN Aruna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARN Aruna Hotel is one of the newest jewels of the Old City (Sultanahmet) / Istanbul. The hotel is located in the heart of the historic peninsula "Old City". It is only 5 minutes walking distance away from the must-seen treasures of the area such as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Grand and Spice Bazaar etc... ARN Aruna is a brand new hotel with exclusive interior decoration and its 16 carefully, well designed and elegantly decorated rooms (5 Suites "3 of them with Turkish Bath and 2 with Jacuzzi", 7 Deluxe Double and 2 Deluxe Triple and 2 Deluxe Single rooms) for the comfort of its guests, an indoor restaurant and a terrace café bar where you can enjoy watching the unique Bosphorus and the Marmara Sea as well as the Asian Side of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ARN Aruna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruna Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARN Aruna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.