We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution Beware Room 101!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ARN Aruna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ARN Aruna Hotel to your Saves list
ARN Aruna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Mah. Ahirkapi Sok No 74, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #478 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
istnbu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Caution Beware Room 101!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

On arrival they did not have the rooms that we requested ready so we were told that our friends would be upgraded to a junior suite the following day and we would be upgraded the same the day after. Our friends were put in room 101 which was a tiny box room and we were put in a fairly reasonable one which we were happy with. The following day we assumed that our friends would be moved, but no they decided to move us instead with no consultation and without us packing our belongings and and left our friends in the broom cupboard! After much complain we finally got our friends moved to a decent sized room the following day and we were both happy with our final rooms except for the smell of damp in our room and the noise of the cats from the adjoining courtyard. We were however given a bottle of wine each as compensation.
What did annoy us however was the fact that the hotel probably assuming that we were not happy and would look for alternative accommodation took the full amount due from the debit card we used to secure the booking,on the 2nd. day of our stay without any consultation. I have never known any hotel do this before and it caused us to be needlessly overdrawn on one of our accounts It stated clearly on the terms and conditions of booking that payment was to be made at the end of the stay.
The other error they made was in the airport transfer that the hotel arranged on our behalf at considerable cost ( 70 euros each way) the shuttle arrived late and then proceeded to take us to the wrong airport when luckily we realised what was happening and made our flight by the skin of our teeth!
On the plus side the breakfast buffet was very good and most of the staff very attentive but maybe need a bit more customer training.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    90
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
53
123
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel was close to the sea and close to all attraction and all within walking distance...we enjoyed our stay very much and we will stay there again...The staff were friendly and very helpful...Breakfast was good.
If you are coming from the Airport..your best bet is to take a taxi from outside the airport building...and it will cost between 30 to 45 Turkish money..that is the best advise i can give you to save you lots of money:-))

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrade if available..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We spent wonderfull 5 days in Aruna Hotel. When we arrive to hotel we spent 1 hour at the reception to get information. They are giving huge information about city and facilities.
They gave us city map which shows all the historical buildings. They got us ready to visit city with full information. It was so helpful.
If you need they are giving you notebook to use for free !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We went there at low season and we have a very pleasant 5-days stay here. The staff and manager are all great and truly helpful. Manager even give us a free upgrade to suite and that was grougrous! They even helped us to buy some turkish delight for souvenir (great quality and very cheap price)
A turk friend come to hotel to find us, and hotel boss even give him a free ride back home. It does show how great their hospitality are!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I would never thought that it's possible to find a hotel room in Istanbul for about 40 euros, at least not a clean one. But Aruna was a surprise: it was clean, no bugs or anything, very close to main attractions. Taxi driver had some trouble to find it first, as it is situated on a very small street, but we got there quite fast. Receptionist was very friendly and helpfull. I expected something really aufull as the price was so cheap, but it turned out to be not bad at all. As long as you just looking for a place to sleep and not a 5-star hotel, it's more than fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This was our first visit and we enjoyed our stay at the Aruna Hotel. The staff were quite welcoming and ready to assist always. The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. The breakfast was good and we had no difficulty getting around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Value for money, well located near the sea and quiet near the mosques. Well furnished rooms!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARN Aruna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARN Aruna Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ahirkapi Sok No 74, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#261 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARN Aruna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARN Aruna Hotel is one of the newest jewels of the Old City (Sultanahmet) / Istanbul. The hotel is located in the heart of the historic peninsula "Old City". It is only 5 minutes walking distance away from the must-seen treasures of the area such as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Grand and Spice Bazaar etc... ARN Aruna is a brand new hotel with exclusive interior decoration and its 16 carefully, well designed and elegantly decorated rooms (5 Suites "3 of them with Turkish Bath and 2 with Jacuzzi", 7 Deluxe Double and 2 Deluxe Triple and 2 Deluxe Single rooms) for the comfort of its guests, an indoor restaurant and a terrace café bar where you can enjoy watching the unique Bosphorus and the Marmara Sea as well as the Asian Side of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ARN Aruna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruna Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARN Aruna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.