We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, a charming piece of Turkey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Darussaade Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Darussaade Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Cad. No:90 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #40 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff, a charming piece of Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I am writing this from my hotel room. I couldn't have picked a better place for the location, we are a 5 minute walk from the Mosque Hagis Sophia. We arrived last night around 9pm, staff were so friendly helping make our check in speedy and carrying our luggage to the room. They have a beautiful working elevator which is nice. There are 4 floors, the top being the terrace (under construction at the moment) and the bottom being the breakfast cafe. We were put on the 3rd floor, there was a misunderstanding because we requested a larger bed but all they had available was two single beds, that was the only problem beside the 4am call to prayer for sleeping. Location is amazing because you are close enough to the mosque, Bazar, and night life. Up the street is restaurant rowe where people sit and people watch while they enjoy awesome meals. Over all we overlooked the bed misunderstanding and the broken telephone (in both rooms) because we were here only for one night and the staff's friendliness is of a really high standard and the working AC was amazingly good. They have a free breakfast and are really helpful when it comes to directions. In case you are wondering about transportation it should be 40-50TL from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    103
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
189
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is situated at the quieter end of 'bar street' as we called it, and only five minutes walk from the main sites. The room and en suite were spotless and cleaned every day.
Breakfast was the usual 'continental' with homemade cakes too, but plenty of it! The bar was a little tucked away down in the basement, but the staff were happy to bring your drink to you wherever you wanted to sit, either on the terrace or the pavement level.
We were very impressed with the staff - especially Yusuf - who was attentive, friendly and eager to help with any questions we had. My husband would like to come to Istanbul with me so next time we will definitely be booking the Hotel Darussaade Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerava, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We took long time to choose hotel, because of the special meaning of our visit to Istanbul: 10th year anniversary of a wedding day! After several searches from the net, we always came up to Darussaade, mainly because of it's location in the middle of historical Sultanahmet together with reasonable charge and glamorous old-fashioned look. What could be better way to spend nights during wedding anniversary, than in a hotel directly from The Book of the Thousand Nights and a Night. After late arrival to hotel, it was immediately clear that service would be top class. Friendly manager Ergin waited just us to arrive late in the evenening to welcome us in person! During next few days all the friendly staff came familiar to us. At the first morning, visitors will get very thorough guidance to miracles of Istanbul and of course the most important practical information, including map and Istanbul card (public transportation). If something negative must be figured, the roof top terrace could've had more open view to Sea of Marmara and to blue mosque, which was very close but behind overgrown trees. But that's not an issue of course. There was also 24/7 small market just on the other side of the street, which was nice after loooong day around the huge city. As typical Finns, we enjoyed having cold beer on the roof top terrace after exhausting day.
You'll really feel yourself as a unique customer in this hotel! We have previously decided not to visit same foreign citys and specially same hotels again, but in this case we almost made a promise to Yusuf (?) to make exception, and come back some time. Maybe 20th year anniversary of a wedding day... Thank you guys of making our special week unforgettable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent as it is a few minutes walk from the important historical places such as Topkapı Palace,blue Mosque ,hagia sophia etc.
The staff of the hotel is excellent,they are always very friendly and ready to help you.they are attentive to all the guests.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and when you come back,everything is ready for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a terrific hotel and reasonably priced for the value! It's a restored mansion and most of the rooms are unique. It's new, clean and very close the the Blue Mosque (you can hear the call to prayer), the Hagia Sofia and more. The breakfast is fresh and filling and part of the room charge. Best of all: the friendly and helpful hotel staff. Yusef at the front desk is an amazing asset to the hotel. He gave us great tips on what to see, where to eat and how to get there. Overall a great experience that doesn't often happen in a trip. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. Our room was nice & is always very clean, staff are always helpful and attentive to their guests specially the front desk staff Yusuf. He's always smiling, pleasant and very helpful, even offering useful tips on where to go and how to get around. The hotel is lucky to have somebody like him, he sincerely loves what he does and he loves to build rapport to their guests.
What I love about this hotel is it's location. It is at the end of the busy hotel neighborhood of Sultanahmet where there are lots of restaurants and tourists around but its location is just perfect as its quiet and have more privacy than other hotels in the area while still accessible to the busy street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

really nice place, employees are so sympathic, service is very good. They booked for us some city tours as well with always the best recommandation. Yusuf at the reception is now a friend ! Very clan rooms with old time victorian style. The place is very nice as well. Excellent wifi signal in our room, and minibar with correct prices

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Darussaade Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darussaade Istanbul

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:90 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#136 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darussaade Istanbul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darussaade Istanbul is one of the protected examples of Ottoman civil architecture dating from 19. century. The wooden mansion, which is restored by sticking to its original, is decorated with elaborately so as to reflect the spirit of the period it belongs to. Darussaade Istanbul, which is in the middle of many unique structures belonging to Byzantine, Roman and Ottoman Empires, provides opportunity to explore this magical city with its perfect position within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Darussaade Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darussaade Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Darussaade Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.