We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, but still traditionally glamorous hotel in very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Darussaade Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Darussaade Istanbul to your Saves list
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Cad. No:90 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #42 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Kerava, Finland
1 review
“Cosy, but still traditionally glamorous hotel in very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We took long time to choose hotel, because of the special meaning of our visit to Istanbul: 10th year anniversary of a wedding day! After several searches from the net, we always came up to Darussaade, mainly because of it's location in the middle of historical Sultanahmet together with reasonable charge and glamorous old-fashioned look. What could be better way to spend nights during wedding anniversary, than in a hotel directly from The Book of the Thousand Nights and a Night. After late arrival to hotel, it was immediately clear that service would be top class. Friendly manager Ergin waited just us to arrive late in the evenening to welcome us in person! During next few days all the friendly staff came familiar to us. At the first morning, visitors will get very thorough guidance to miracles of Istanbul and of course the most important practical information, including map and Istanbul card (public transportation). If something negative must be figured, the roof top terrace could've had more open view to Sea of Marmara and to blue mosque, which was very close but behind overgrown trees. But that's not an issue of course. There was also 24/7 small market just on the other side of the street, which was nice after loooong day around the huge city. As typical Finns, we enjoyed having cold beer on the roof top terrace after exhausting day.
You'll really feel yourself as a unique customer in this hotel! We have previously decided not to visit same foreign citys and specially same hotels again, but in this case we almost made a promise to Yusuf (?) to make exception, and come back some time. Maybe 20th year anniversary of a wedding day... Thank you guys of making our special week unforgettable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    113
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
206
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent as it is a few minutes walk from the important historical places such as Topkapı Palace,blue Mosque ,hagia sophia etc.
The staff of the hotel is excellent,they are always very friendly and ready to help you.they are attentive to all the guests.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and when you come back,everything is ready for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a terrific hotel and reasonably priced for the value! It's a restored mansion and most of the rooms are unique. It's new, clean and very close the the Blue Mosque (you can hear the call to prayer), the Hagia Sofia and more. The breakfast is fresh and filling and part of the room charge. Best of all: the friendly and helpful hotel staff. Yusef at the front desk is an amazing asset to the hotel. He gave us great tips on what to see, where to eat and how to get there. Overall a great experience that doesn't often happen in a trip. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. Our room was nice & is always very clean, staff are always helpful and attentive to their guests specially the front desk staff Yusuf. He's always smiling, pleasant and very helpful, even offering useful tips on where to go and how to get around. The hotel is lucky to have somebody like him, he sincerely loves what he does and he loves to build rapport to their guests.
What I love about this hotel is it's location. It is at the end of the busy hotel neighborhood of Sultanahmet where there are lots of restaurants and tourists around but its location is just perfect as its quiet and have more privacy than other hotels in the area while still accessible to the busy street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

really nice place, employees are so sympathic, service is very good. They booked for us some city tours as well with always the best recommandation. Yusuf at the reception is now a friend ! Very clan rooms with old time victorian style. The place is very nice as well. Excellent wifi signal in our room, and minibar with correct prices

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a lovely stay at at the Darussaade Hotel, the staff we incredibly helpful, when we arrived we got tea and they sat us down with a map showing us all the local places. The room was deorated well, and we really appreciated the pick up from the airport. The location was brilliant near all the main attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Darussaade is a very well run, well appointed hotel within easy walking distance of Istanbul's main attractions. This is the old section of town where every hotel of any size is made up of more than one building so you are dealing with multiple levels and stairs. Still, they have a nice new elevator so there isn't a problem in this case. Even the water pressure (low water pressure being the hallmark of older buildings) is excellent, plenty of hot water too. The free breakfast is excellent and a perfect way to fuel up for a day of walking. I had no idea that Turkey has such good cheeses and baked goods.
Just remember, this is a very busy part of the city and Istanbul is always busy, so the rooms aren't particularly quiet, I don't know how they could be. It's all part of visiting a huge vibrant city.
We stayed here for two weeks and will stay here again on our next trip. Great for a couple, probably tight quarters for a family.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the back rooms if you want more quiet. The room on the first floor behind the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Darussaade Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darussaade Istanbul

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:90 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#161 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darussaade Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darussaade Istanbul is one of the protected examples of Ottoman civil architecture dating from 19. century. The wooden mansion, which is restored by sticking to its original, is decorated with elaborately so as to reflect the spirit of the period it belongs to. Darussaade Istanbul, which is in the middle of many unique structures belonging to Byzantine, Roman and Ottoman Empires, provides opportunity to explore this magical city with its perfect position within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Darussaade Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darussaade Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Darussaade Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.