We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect study trip in Istanbul.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tulip House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tulip House to your Saves list
Hotel Tulip House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Cami Sok. No:28 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Olten
1 review
“A perfect study trip in Istanbul.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

A charming small hotel nearby the old city center in a quite accommodation. In 5 minutes by food we were at the tram station an in 10 minutes by the blue mosque.
My rooms was romantic with an amazing few to the sea, though two big windows. The bathroom was very clean and modern. Although I was there with a 20 people group, I could always take a hot shower. In the lovely garden were we ate your delicious breakfast from the buffet. There was a lot of fresh food.
The staff is friendly and cooperative, hospitable people. The concierge Ali had allays a word for everybody. He mad even the students to speak English. We got any help we liked. At the first day, even a staff member showed us a in the city a bit around. I felled welcomed there, like staying by friends.
The only disadvantage were, that the walls are not so big, so you can hear a lot from your neighbours.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    195
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
74
252
50
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

The personal service provided by this small bed-and-breakfast boutique hotel was wonderful! Emrah was there to greet me and to send me off. Ali made sure that I would not get lost and that I would be able to find my way back. The hotel is a leisurely ten minute walk to the Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque. The Hagia Sofia and the Cistern are only a few more minutes away. I even saw the Pudding Shop, but didn't stop in since I was on my way to the Four Seasons. Here is the best part of the personal service: Ali walked my friend back to his hotel after my friend had walked me back from dinner at the Four Seasons restaurant and was clueless as to how to get back to his hotel. What more can a single girl ask for? I had a room with a view of the Bosphorus since it was my last day in Istanbul and Emrah told me that if I were to stay a few more days the next time I come with my friends, I would get a better room : ) What an outstanding offer!

A suggestion for improvement would be to enclose the blanket in a duvet cover that can be bleached and starched, or at the very least, to place a sheet beneath the blanket and over the top. It would look better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

The hotel was small and personal - Ali is a treasure there - he made us very comfortable and nothing was ever too much trouble. Room was roomy and great view. Location was very close to the Blue Mosque, etc and tram. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

What a top location in the old Sultanahmet area! We had a neat clean room with amazing view and small balcony. Cosy intimate hotel so not for you if you prefer giant corporate hotels and 24 hour room service. Staff are truly lovely - warm and nothing is too much trouble. Surprisingly quiet too (apart from regular ubiquitous daily calls to prayer). Was nice to eat breakfast on outside patio when the weather was fine. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed at Tulip House in Istanbul for four days and really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is located just 5 mins walking distance from the Blue Mosque, the rooms are spacious, well furnished and clean, the staff is great and so is the food.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

My wife and her friend stayed at the Tulip House Hotel last year and were very enthusiastic about it. This visit was the 2 of us plus our 19 year old daughter. Now, having stayed there myself, I can certainly agree with her positive comments.
The hotel is centrally located and close to the historic sights, such as the Blue Mosque. It is in a quiet residential street. Rooms are tastefully furnished, and those at the back have lovely views over the Sea of Marmara.
However what makes this hotel so special are the staff, especially Ali, who is incredibly helpful, kind, warm and witty!
I would highly recommend this characterful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisse
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

we spent 5 nights at tulip hotel and we were plenty satisfied by the provided service. the staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean and well furnished. The hotel is at 5 min walking distance from the blue mosque etc...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tulip House

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Cami Sok. No:28 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tulip House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was built as a mansion, during the last years of the Ottoman Empire and has recently been renovated as a boutique hotel retaining the original design and look. From Tulip House you can see the sea on one side and a lovely little street with children playing games on the other. There is a nice backyard where you can have your fresh breakfast and evening tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tulip House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.