We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Good Choice for Hotel near Blue Mosque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tulip House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tulip House to your Saves list
Hotel Tulip House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Cami Sok. No:28 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of a Good Choice for Hotel near Blue Mosque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not only Good breakfast with nice view but also, has a reasonable price . Cleanliness Room. But hard to go to hotel with large luggage because you have to walk down hill and the street is not good enough.And little bit far form Tram. But you can walk to Blue Mosque within 5 mins that's very close.

I'm very satisfy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    196
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
75
252
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

great location. 5 -7 mins walking distance from historical places. very friendly staff and can communicate in English which is a luxury in Istanbul. Also, they will go out of their way to help you. we stayed in room 303 which is located on the street side. simple yet complete hotel. terrace has a good view of marmara sea. sound of seagulls are annoying first thing in the morning but nature lovers would love that. we stayed their fir 3 days. overall very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It took us about 15 minutes to find the hotel after disembarking from the tram station near blue mosque, with the steep roads certainly working our calves.the room was ok, although we were placed in one on the 5th floor and had to take the stairs all the way up.the furniture was a bit dated, but the room was clean. The tv also did not work.
The breakfast spread was good, and it was one of the highlights of this hotel.
Istanbul was a great city to visit and i will cetainly return,but will rather stay in a place closer to the main attractions as its too far to walk. I would return only if nothing better or closer is available.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. They have lovely, clean rooms. And the staffs were very friendly and helpful. Not to mention, great location too! Worth every penny! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A small, personal hotel run by hard-working dedicated friendly staff who are eager to help make your stay enjoyable. For example, when we said we had only a few hangers in our closet, they went out and bought about 10 more for us.
We were in room 403, which is on the street side of the hotel. The bathroom is small, but the shower had plenty of hot water. Wifi reception is excellent; there's a repeater on each floor. We even had a mini-fridge, which made it easy to keep some cold water, yogurt, and snacks on hand.
The room has lots of windows. The room got a little warm with the afternoon sun, but the fan and the windows cooled the room down as the sun set.
There's street noise from occasional trucks and cars; also noise from children, especially in the evening, but the noise is the happy sound of children at play. The street becomes quiet as darkness comes. We never heard noise from TVs or radios. If noise is a problem for you, then pay extra to have a room with the sea view. You'll still hear the amplified call to prayer 5 times a day from the Blue Mosque, but that's true for any hotel in this area.
Breakfast is amazing. A colorful array of fresh fruits, fresh vegetables, several breads (sesame-covered simit rolls were our favorite), string cheese, white cheese (both plain or topped with seeds and herbs -- delicious!), helva, cereals, frittata, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, juices, and tea. I'm sure I left some things out. The breakfast kept us going all day. We had little room to eat much more than light snacks the rest of the day. The breakfast area has both a terrace with a sea view and a covered area. Delightful.
The hotel has no elevator, so be prepared for winding narrowish stairs.
The hotel is located in Sultanahmet just a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque in a mixed area of small hotels, residential dwellings, small shops, and restaurants. Streets are small and winding. At first it's a little confusing, but we soon knew our landmarks and our turns so we could easily get to the Blue Mosque.
However, on departure, we saw that there's a nice local shopping area with bakery just down the hill a few blocks. This is a good neighborhood for exploring if you want to see more than the tourist area.

Room Tip: If street noise is a concern to you, pay a bit extra for the Bosphorus view instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are visiting Istanbul and want to stay in Old City, this is the hotel to be at. Located in a small street, the front side is a view of the small street (boisterous during the day with children playing, etc) and the back is an amazing view of the water and a mosque. The room was comfortable and clean - the air conditioner took a little bit to get cranking but once on, it worked perfectly for those sunny hot afternoons. And a great perk is free wifi in the rooms and it's fast.
The breakfast is a must - probably the best eggs in all of Istanbul!
The staff was very friendly, especially Ni who has a great personality and made sure we were happy with everything. Nice to enter the hotel every time and see someone sitting at the front desk with a welcoming smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A good hotel if you want to see the sights as most things are in a short walking distance.
As all others have said staff very nice and helpful.
Budget room downstairs very noisy and dark.
Changed to top floor west facing with balcony at a €30 increase in price.
Fantastic view and a nice room be ready for a very steep hike up the stairs after you reach floor 4 one's legs start to fail. but as said magnificent view. You need a head for heights to use the balcony!
Would defiantly go back but do avoid the downstairs budget rooms

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tulip House

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Cami Sok. No:28 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tulip House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was built as a mansion, during the last years of the Ottoman Empire and has recently been renovated as a boutique hotel retaining the original design and look. From Tulip House you can see the sea on one side and a lovely little street with children playing games on the other. There is a nice backyard where you can have your fresh breakfast and evening tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tulip House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.