We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a second home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Home Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Second Home Hostel to your Saves list
Second Home Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly a second home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stay here if you can! This hostel is clean, walking distance to many attractions and tram, but most importantly has a great environment. The staff is incredible, so friendly and welcoming, they make delicious breakfast every morning, will give you advice about where to go/what to see and help arrange tours/Turkish bath. They are great company for smoking shisha and having drinks in the evening! Thank you Second Home Hostel for making our stay in Istanbul unforgettable!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    96
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
90
175
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very nice place to stay, close from everything. You can go walking to most of the Istambul main must-sees. The staff was very friendly and gave advices in nice places to go everynight, in one of them they joined us and took us to a club far from the hostel but full of local people and local music.. amazing place! Would definitely come back there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was my first time in Istanbul. My friend recommended the location. It was such a good location. I had a comfortable bed, clean room, shared showers and toilet. The staff was so friendly and assisting. Each morning I came downstairs to find that the hostel had prepared nice breakfast choices of olives, cereal, cookies, and even hard boiled eggs. They provided hot tea as well. A nice way to start each morning. The location was just a few blocks from buses, metro, etc. Also many places to eat locally. The first night I went to a Turkish dance just two blocks away. What a memorable occasion seeing local folk dances and belly dancing -- both women and a man. I was told it is the only place where a male performer belly dances. After this stay, I went to Venice Italy for two weeks and then returned to the same hostel for a return stay prior to returning to Washington, DC. The hostel also arranged transportation to and from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a great base for exploring the old part of Istanbul. Decent area and very helpful and attentive staff. It was quite clean. They made us and everyone else feel very welcome. I would definitely return. The only negative was the room was tiny, couldn't get around the end of the bed in our double room with shared bath. Had to crawl over.

Room Tip: Second floor (over the common room on 1st floor) probably gets noise from the common room below wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Around the corner from everything! So convenient. I also had a great time talking to the staff. Everyone was amazing, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was always a good chance to talk with everyone and meet new friends. I will for sure stay at Second Home hostel again! Thank you for making my trip great!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice location and friendly staff.. free nice breakfast.. cheap and secure .. I met nice people from many countries and we hanged out one night and went to smoke sheesha (waterpipe) and having tea.. I was there for 7 nights with my girlfriend and it was amazing time.. I was sad about leaving from that hostel :( the name is right, Second Home.. I reccomend 100%

Room Tip: take room at second floor ;) because I stayed there :) sometimes its loud so 3rd flooor could also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great staff and great location!
I recommend this place and would go back.
Rooms are simple; but have all the basics you need/expect.
I felt like I was part of the family while here. Our group meals, night time sheesha and Turkish Halay dance parties were a blast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Second Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Hostel

Address: Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Second Home Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your 'Second Home' in Istanbul !We have been providing a welcoming, clean and safe place for visitors with the best location since 2009 !Dormitory, hostel rooms, private rooms or suites; we have every kind of accomodation choices. So there will certainly be something to match your budgetTravelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socializeWe can arrange tours in Istanbul, give helpful tips and information about the city, and help with any other of your travel needs.We are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Second Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Home Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.