We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool,clean, simply just good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Second Home Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Second Home Hostel to your Saves list
Second Home Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“cool,clean, simply just good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice place to stay, specially for young people. The hostel is clean, stuff is very friendly and the hostel has a really cool rooftop terrace. The hostel is located very close to the most important tourist attractions like hagia sofia or the blue mosque. Just good this second home hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    88
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
90
159
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed staying here. The front desk always helped me with whatever I needed. The location is close to Sirkeci and Gulhane tram stops. 5 min to Topkapi palace, 10 min walk to Blue mosque, aya sofia. Rooms are clean and in good shape. Each floor has its own showers and toilets. Breakfast included in price too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My friend and I travelled to Istanbul and stayed at the second home hostel for the week. The guys are really friendly, went the extra mile to help us out and make our experience an easy and pleasant one. Can was a great help - always there and offered dinners and pub crawls. The hostel is clean, wifi, close to attractions, friendly and you do feel at home. Thanks so much guys! We thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levoca, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Super nice, smiling and helpful people work there, the location couldn't be better, rooms are small, but clean. Breakfast was good, although if you stay for a longer time you probably get bored of Turkish breakfast :D
I can recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Hazard was always available to help and a very friendly person. Highly recommended! I stayed on the first floor. I didnt need to hire any taxi to go anywhere. Everything is a walking distance. I saved a ton of money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Second Home Hostel was ideally situated in the Sultanahmet area and the hostel manager was very friendly and helpful. The hostel felt safe, the roof garden was fantastic and the en suite and breakfast were a definite plus. The hostel does not particularly lend itself to socialising but you can find much worse hostels. Second Home Hostel wasn't a worldbeater for me but there was little explicitly it could have done better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the nicest hostel I’ve ever been to. When I had no idea where to stay in Istanbul, one of my friends suggested this hostel for me. So I joined him with my other friend. Fortunately they still have 4 beds at dorm, so I could stay even only for one night. I took tram to sultanahmet and stopped at Gulhane station, 20m from that station you can reach the hostel. When arrived, the staff would directly offer you the welcoming tea and ask about your plan staying there, what are you gonna do or find. Then they will help you to get best travel experience there, where u should visit and what kind of activities you can do there.
It’s only 3-5 minutes to reach Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar and other objects in Sultanahmet. At that time I wanted to go to Cappadocia and Hazret helped us making clear about the transportation from there also giving recommendation about the suitable accommodation I could stay during my trip in Cappadocia.
The hostel is clean, with good hospitality the staff will facilitate everything u need. Even I stayed in dorm with 7 other visitors, I could feel safe with no worry about my stuff. Staying in one room with new friends from different countries there was my fun experience. The staff are friendly, I felt like at my home country and stayed with my old friends, no worries at all. When my friend and I wanted to pray morning at Blue Mosque, Yusuf told that he would accompany us, to pray together, he told us his story, his dream, his family, so we got closer like friend or maybe like a family, even I only stayed one night there. When you need information and help, just contact them. Btw, the food is delicious, I love the breakfast and I miss this place and nice people there a lot.

Room Tip: if there is any, choose the single bed in dorm, you can sleep better because of the bigger space but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Second Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Hostel

Address: Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Second Home Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your 'Second Home' in Istanbul !We have been providing a welcoming, clean and safe place for visitors with the best location since 2009 !Dormitory, hostel rooms, private rooms or suites; we have every kind of accomodation choices. So there will certainly be something to match your budgetTravelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socializeWe can arrange tours in Istanbul, give helpful tips and information about the city, and help with any other of your travel needs.We are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Second Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Home Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.