We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Home Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Second Home Hostel to your Saves list
Second Home Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

actually this is my third hostel till i've been here and this one is located in a really good area. it is clean and always open. the staff is really friendly. they are helping a lot. the atmosphere in the hostel is really good. you never feel alone. if you want to enjoy your holiday this is a perfect option.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    96
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
90
175
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed this hostel about 7days. There are few men workers who are kind. The location is perfect, because it takes just 10 minutes by walk to Ayasofia from hostel. The bed was also comfortable and I liked all staffs. Especially, Yusuf is really nice and kind mate. He cooks very well and he has even given me his dinner. It was so thoughtful, so I bought him burger also XD. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in a domitory room only.. it was good, but the only problem is that it was quite cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Why does this place have so many good reviews?!

The location is the only thing that makes up for it..

The staff is weird.. And there are random elder men sitting around all day.
People come in for Dinner. So this might be a hostel.. but I think it's more of a pretense to have their own club house to hang around, and where anyone comes in and goes out as they like.

The staff in general is ok. They are nice. But somethings give a weird creepy vibe..
Only one female staff member.
Or even better: I can't tell who is staff and who is just hanging around.. cause there are just so many of them!!!!!!
And then some of those random men are hitting on women.. It's hard to watch and it made me almost throw up..
But I guess that's the common behaviour of men in Turkey.. Not much respect for women whatsoever.

Rooms are a bit tiny. Expecially if you stay in a dorm room.
Shower and toilet are down the hall. They're unisex and mouldy.
Thank God I had enough desinfection spray on me..

And the noise....
All the windows face the street and that is one major traffic lane!!!
It is incredibly loud at day and til late night.
They have pretty good noise isolating windows though. But if you like fresh air: better bring a pair of ear plugs!!!
I went in off season, so it was ok to shut the windows at night.
I imagine it to be quite a pain in the buttocks if it's high season with the hot weather! Cause there is no AC only a little fan..

I wouldn't recommend this place.. unless you have a tight budget.
If you can afford something better: please do so!!!
I would never go there again, just because of the weird people.....
I never felt so uncomfortable as I did in this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is like the best hostel I ever stayed. Best location that you can walk to the main attraction in Istanbul. I have been in other hostels in Europe but i found this is the best, comfortable, friendliest staff, safe, and worth your money. This hostel is suggested by my friend. And of course I will suggest to all my friends too to stay here. You will not feel lonely if you are travelling alone. And it's not hard to find it if you are first time arriving in Istanbul from the airport. I will miss them so much and stay here again when I visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For the price, this is as good as it gets. I paid €35 per night, and ended up with my own suite! Although I had to walk a few minutes from the lobby to my room, it did not bother me at all. The staff is super friendly, the wifi worked flawlessly, you're in the middle of fantastic sights and restaurants, and the hotel is easy to find from the airport (for example, take the metro to Zeytinburnu and the Kabatas tram from there to Gulhane. Will cost to Jetonmatik tokens which you can get from machines at the airpoprt). Istanbul is a great city and Second Home Hostel is second to none. Thank you, guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice hostel close to centre of Sultanahmed, room was small but clean. If you like to meet another people this place is for you! Personel is very friendly and often prepare barbecue party at the rooftop, so if you like to met other people, smoke water pipe, and drink beer is good idea to stay in this hostel. It's about 200m from tram stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Niedersachsen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Thıs place has the perfect locatıon to travel around the ınner cıty to see the hıghlıghts of ıstanbul. The rooms are nothıng specıal, but they do. The lobby ıs the best thıng ın thıs hostel, very frıendly staffmembers and always up for some fun! I wıll defınatly be back!
Nejdet ıst eın guter Kollege!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Second Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Hostel

Address: Ebussuut No: 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Second Home Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your 'Second Home' in Istanbul !We have been providing a welcoming, clean and safe place for visitors with the best location since 2009 !Dormitory, hostel rooms, private rooms or suites; we have every kind of accomodation choices. So there will certainly be something to match your budgetTravelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socializeWe can arrange tours in Istanbul, give helpful tips and information about the city, and help with any other of your travel needs.We are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Second Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Home Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.