We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Boutique Hotel, Istanbul, Turkey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Five Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Five Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Taksim, Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Prof. Celal Oker Sok. No 5, Istanbul 34373, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #644 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Five Boutique Hotel, Istanbul, Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is fairly basic, but includes breakfast and internet in the price. The beds are basic and the accommodations include both twin beds to queen size. Mattresses are basic, but not uncomfortable. Extra pillows are available along with extra blankets. Fully air-conditioned. Very convenient location. The staff were absolutely wonderful. We have never had a more helpful staff who went out of their way to make us welcome and help us with needs. With some exceptions, the staff has limited English, but we were well understood. Ask for Room 531 if you are a couple...it is large and has a small balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    45
    15
    10
    14
See reviews for
16
55
26
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I chose the Hotel for its location, which was perfect. However, in all respects, the announced rating of 4 stars was really optimistic: something was constantly not working (room keys, safety boxes, light and water), the personnel did not speck english with two exceptions, cleaning was approximate, there was no air circulation in the small builiding, which resulted smellish.
What made a difference, making the stay bearable, was a single young person,named Oguz Balkan, employed as evening and night presence, who was intelligently and constructively applied in solving the client's problems, very kind and effective. He always studied tourism, at high school and university level, and he wish to have a future in the industry. I am a professor of business organization, in Istanbul for a confenernce, and I thought it fair to write this review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is 5 min walking distance from the Istanbul Conference Centre, on the main road opposite to the Military Museum.
The room and bath room are very clean and cozy with new furnitures and facilities.
Staff are very friendly and useful.
Breakfast is fine but simple.
It is a very good choice for business stay especially to attend conference in ICC.

Room Tip: Single room is small but the double room is standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am afraid I do not understand the good reviews for this hotel, and certainly not at the price you pay for the rooms.

Here are some of the issues:
- Our party had booked two rooms. When we arrived there was only one room allocated and the hotel swore blind there was no second room booked, despite the printed confirmation. They then suggested that all three of us (one couple and one single) should just share the room. Eventually the hotel found alternative, inferior accommodation nearby for the second room required for that night, but then our poor third person had to move again the next night to somewhere else again. It was a debacle, especially on a business trip with back-to-back appointments and no time to be moving from one hotel to another. We have since learned it is common practice in some hotels to overbook, just like airlines.
- The room that we did have, had a door to a balcony that was broken and would not lock, so impossible to leave anything of any value in the room. Despite a promise to fix it 'that day', nothing happened.
- The room did have a safe in the cupboard, but the safe was not attached to anything. So anyone who came in through our broken balcony door could have just grabbed the safe out of the cupboard where we had conveniently placed all our valuables for them and trotted off down the fire escape.
- As other reviewers have said, there is a foul smell in the lift
- Do not choose this hotel because you think it is 'organic'. A look at the ingredients on the shampoos/conditioners etc does not suggest this at all, nor does the labelling.
- The breakfast was unimpressive.

All in all my feeling was that this was a hotel that tried to give an impression of being what travellers want, but it's all on the surface (like their organic credentials!). In reality, lots of things did not function the way you needed them to, especially on a business trip. Hotels should take the worry out of eating/sleeping in an unfamiliar location, not add to them!

On the plus side - there was a great view from the balcony. A shame about the dead plant and broken outdoor chairs, which made it difficult to enjoy it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am a frequent traveler to Istanbul and have sampled many different hotels in Taksim and Sultanahmet. Unfortunately, Five Boutique Hotel does not rank among the best I have stayed in. I chose the hotel for two main reasons: its alleged "organic" profile and its location. Considering the major construction going on in Taksim square and on Tarlabasi street this season, the location a bit further away from the square and far away from Tarlabasi was convenient. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the top of Istiklal street from the hotel. By the way, the hotel was not at all difficult to find - the sign is visible from Cumhurriyet Caddesi and if you're coming from the airport just have the taxi driver call the front desk and they'll give clear directions to drop you off. So the location was good.

However, there was literally NOTHING organic about this hotel. The first sign that nothing is organic is the bell boy constantly (basically 24 hours a day, non-stop) walking around the reception area and hallways spraying a strongly-floral and chemically air freshener from an aerosol can. We kept our room windows open all the time and after about a day the smell had finally dissipated from the room, but it was still strong in the hallways. There is a little bathroom caddy advertising some organic shampoos and things, but the actual (1 bar of) soap and (single tiny bottle of) shampoo provided (on only the first day of our 7-night stay and not replentished) are a different brand, with an ingredient list that bears no resemblance to anything organic. The breakfast, though substantial and perfectly good, was also not organic - it was easy to tell from the cucumbers and tomatoes, which more resembled ones I've been getting in Moscow this winter than ones you'd get at an average market in Turkey in late March.

It's also worth noting that the front desk staff for the most part did not seem to speak English, or didn't speak it well enough to be very helpful. Also, we stayed in 2 different rooms (because we left Istanbul for a 2-day side trip in between our two 3 and 4 night stays at Five BH) - both in the "deluxe" category, which the website says should be 35-45 square meters - at a cost of 120 for the first 3 nights and 140 Euros for the next 4 nights. Not clear why the rates differed. The 120 Euro room was very spacious and had some quirky decor that was nice. The 140 Euro room was about half the size and completely devoid of decorations, but had a huge balcony (which was unusable, as it was very dirty and had no furniture on it, and also it was still winter-ish and cold outside). Probably the balcony was counted in the square metrage. In both rooms the floor lamp lightbulbs were missing or burned out, and the overhead lights were a hideous bright compact flourescent - not very romantic. The much-lauded "flat screen TV" was about the size of my laptop screen. The minibar in our second room was empty, which we only learned late at night, so we had to go out and buy drinking water (the front desk didn't know where we'd find an open market at that hour, and we had to search around a bit to find something open after 11pm.) Finally, there were plumbing problems in both rooms - in the first room, the water continued to come out of the tub tap while the shower was running, but the drain was sluggish, resulting in the shower floor filling up and flooding after about 4 minutes. In the second room, the shower head/handle did not fit in the wall bracket, so you had to hold it in your hand the whole time. Also, on one occasion the water was suddenly and completely shut off when I was about half way through my shower and still covered in soap. It came back on about 15 minutes later, just as mysteriously as it had gone.

In conclusion, I did some shopping around to choose this hotel, and I'll admit that its price for the location made it a competitive choice for the dates of my travel. It worked for us because we really just needed a place to crash at night, and so I admit that we had a nice stay there. But I don't want others to be misled as we were by the advertising about "organic" and by the excessively positive reviews on Trip Advisor. There are lots of other, much nicer hotels in Taksim for only slightly more money, and lots of nicer hotels in Sultanahmet for somewhat less money. Overall, I was disappointed by this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 521 was spacious and had some quirky decor; room 551 was tiny and had no decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed in room 543 ,it was very well decorated and nice furniture,
Bed's are very comfortable and room is big,,
Hotel location is very good near to Nisantasi which is heart of luxury and activities in Istanbul.
Hotel staf is very helpful and kind,especially the hotel manager Mr.Yasar.
Bufe Breakfast was delicious and everything Organic ,
I was impressed such hotel in City Center.
I Suggest that hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed with my family in room 543,it was very nice decorated and big room, Hotel staf very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

One of the best choices i have ever made as far as hotels is concerned. Extremely friendly personel, from the concierge to the people behic the desk, only a 10 min walk from Taxim. It is located on a neibhourhood and therefore you get the feeling of the local everyday life. Very clean, nice breakfast. Value for money. I highly reccommend it

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Boutique Hotel

Address: Taksim, Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Prof. Celal Oker Sok. No 5, Istanbul 34373, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever experienced the wonders of an organic hotel?Welcome to first organic hotel in Istanbul,Welcome to Five Boutique Hotel...A unique encounter with Turkish hospitality, history, art, gastronomy and service...Incomparable hotel in an incomparable location....• All food served is completely organic – HOT BREAKFAST BUFFET IS COMPLIMENTARY• All rooms are equipped with organic certified textile products including sheets, pillows, and towels• Bathroom hygiene products are organic certified• Furniture, including the wall paint, do not contain any carcinogen (cancer causing) agents• LCD TV’s are special green sence technologyWe know your health is important to you therefore we created a very unique Istanbul experience that is first of its kind.... We give you peace of mind by making sure all details are perfectly in place, so all you have to do is to enjoy what this enchanting city has to offer!Please visit us at Five Boutique Hotel. It’s our promise that your stay will be a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Five Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Boutique Hotel
Hotel Five Boutique
Five Boutique Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.