We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff makes the stay "Perfect"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Sultan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Modern Sultan Hotel to your Saves list
Modern Sultan Hotel
Alemdar Mah.Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:13 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff makes the stay "Perfect"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at Modern Sultan was very nice thanks to the friendly staff. The location is excellent very close to Hagia Sophia and other historical sights. The room with occupancy of 3 adults was nice. Toilet slightly small but clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    47
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
69
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Can't say enough about Istanbul and the Modern Sultan is perfectly located. Next Hagia Sophia and easy walk to all major sites. Tram station two minutes away for longer trips.

The staff makes this colorful, fun hotel a gem. I arrived in Istanbul with two issues. My medication as being held hostage to UPS and Turkish customs and my son's backpack strap ripped. They spent over an hour on the phone with UPS and took the backpack to be restitched at no charge. Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in late Sept. The location in the heart of the old city was convenient for all the sights, and my room had a direct view onto Aya Sofia that was extraordinary.
The room was small, but spotless and nicely decorated. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Modern Sultan Hotel is very nice, stylish and clean, and in a good location very near to the main highlights of Istanbul, and plenty of bars and restaurants.
They were very helpful prior to our arrival to organize trips, guided tours, tickets entrance and restaurant reservations. I would rate our experience highly. Thanks!

Room Tip: please, ask for the Ay Sophya room view. Extraordinary! in the morning the wake up is sung by the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I'm not usually one to write reviews, but the Modern Sultan Hotel in Istanbul is very deserving of praise. Beautiful, clean, classy, and comfortable rooms (I extended my stay twice and stayed in 3 rooms total because of previous bookings. All were lovely, and had nice views... one looked right onto Hagia Sofia). The best part was the staff, who were so friendly that we became... friends! You will love Aziz, Guljahan, and Osman pretty much immediately. I didn't think to take pictures of the place while I was there, except for a quick shot of their breakfast buffet, which will give you a small glimpse of the pride they take in everything they do.

Room Tip: 303 looked onto Ayasofya, larger than life, but it's a single. 301 is a nice double with good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The modern sultan hotel is nestled in the back streets of Sultanahmet and is a stones through from aya Sofia, blue mosque, grand bazaar ( terrible terrible place if you want to spend money!),and pier for the Bosphorus. Our room was on the top floor of the hotel, and the friendly staff assisted with carrying our bags for us. Our room had views of the aya Sofia which was exceptional and we awoke to the early morning prayer.

Breakfast is served daily on the ground floor and the entrance has seats in which you can sit with an Efes and watch the locals and tourists walk by.

Istanbul is an amazing city .....and the modern sultan hotel staff hospitality assisted with my views! I will be back!

Thanks to all staff! Sarah.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were pleased when Osman helped us take out bags up the stairs - made it easy as we were tired after the long journey. This place and the city of Istanbul is grossly underadvertised. The view of Hagia Sofia is exceptional from our room - the prayers are music to the ear. Topkapi Palace, Orient Express train station, Grand Bazaar, pier for Bosphorus cruise are all walkable distances - less than 20 minutes walk - despite the fact that Istanbul has inclined roads. They arranged transportation from the airport and then back to airport - it is more reasonable for the family - convenient. Most of all the staff are friendly, helpful and provide great service. We will consider staying in this hotel in our future Istanbul trips.

Room Tip: if you like good breeze in July and love sea gulls waking you up in the morning or the prayer - ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Modern Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Sultan Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah.Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:13 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Sultan Hotel located in the heart of Historical Peninsula, within walking distance of many attractions including Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar etc…Our hotel since put into service , aim to serve you to feel yourself at home with its hospitality, qualified personnel and maintains its high quality service concept on the higher level with continuous development. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Modern Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Sultan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.