We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had read the reviews on tripadvisor first!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Galata Olympos Restaurant

Galata Olympos Restaurant
Yeni Galata Koprusu AltI | Karaköy Boğaz Tarafı no:5-6, Istanbul 34421, Turkey (Formerly Olympos Restaurant)
+90 212 243 8254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,567 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $5 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Galata Olympos RestaurantGet ready for unforgettable moments with our fresh sea foods and large range of wines in elite ambient with your family and friends with the excellent view of Topkapi Place and the Bosphorus.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish I had read the reviews on tripadvisor first!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

One of the members of our party seemed very keen to get a recommendation from our somewhat hapless concierge and he recommended this! The wine was defiitely not a sauvignon blanc as it claimed to be and 3 of the 5 of us ordered prawns- which they managed to over-cook! Totally echo all the comments about over-priced and rip-of. We also got a "free" taxi, the manager tried to kick us out before we were home in a middle lane with on-coming traffic. "Finish, Get out". He had asked if I would recommend to my friends and I had replied truthfully :) It beggars belief that a alleged 5* hotel like the Palazzo Donzetti would recommend this to guests

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    5
    10
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Mundo
1 review
“Avoid this restaurant (Evita este restaurante-Bu restoran kaçının)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We went to this restaurant expecting a nice dinner, but it turned out to be a horrible night. Let me list all of the problems we had:
1. The waiters gave us a special "tourist menu" that was priced higher than the regular Turkish menus - we figured it out when we saw non-tourists eating things not on our menu.
2. My child ordered a chicken fillet. When the food came, they "accidentally" brought him a steak that cost us 20 Lires more than the chicken.
3. We ordered a large fish platter. The waiter suggested it to us, and told us that "1 serving feeds 3 people." However when he brought the dish, it was enough food to feed 9 people! We asked the server about it, and he told us "that we ordered 3 servings," which would cost mean we would be paying triple as much for already overpriced food we weren't going to eat. We realized they had scammed us, so we started arguing with them over it, which lasted about half an hour. We refused to pay the full 300 Lires that they expected us to. After the manager had shed his kind, friendly appearance and started yelling at us, we promptly payed only for what we truly ordered, and not for the extra things they added on, and left.

I am warning you now. Avoid this restaurant AT ALL COSTS or you will be sorry. What a horrible experience. And to top it all off the food was not even good.

Espanol:

Fuimos a este restaurante esperando una buena cena, pero resultó ser una noche horrible. Permítanme enumerar todos los problemas que hemos tenido:
1. Los camareros nos dio un "menú turístico" que estaba a un precio superior al de los menús regulares turcas - que lo imaginó cuando vimos que no son turistas de comer las cosas no está en nuestro menú.
2. Mi hijo pidió un filete de pollo. Cuando llegó la comida, que "accidentalmente" le trajo un bistec que nos costó 20 Lires más que el pollo.
3. Pedimos un plato de peces de gran tamaño. El camarero nos sugirió, y nos dijo que "una porción alimenta 3 personas." Sin embargo, cuando trajo el plato, que era la comida suficiente para alimentar a 9 personas! Le pedimos al camarero acerca de él, y él nos dijo "que pedimos 3 porciones", que costaría decir que tendría que pagar triple de lo más caro para la comida ya que no íbamos a comer. Nos dimos cuenta que nos habían estafado, así que empezamos a discutir con ellos sobre el mismo, que duró alrededor de media hora. Nos negamos a pagar el costo total de 300 Lires que esperaban a nosotros. Después de que el gerente había derramado su tipo, el aspecto amable y empezó a gritar a nosotros, nosotros pagamos puntualmente sólo para lo que realmente ordenado, y no por las cosas adicionales que añadido, y se fue.

Te lo advierto ahora. Evita este restaurante a toda costa o te vas a arrepentir. Lo que una experiencia horrible. Y para rematar la comida no era ni siquiera bueno.

Turkiye:Biz güzel bir akşam yemeği bekliyor bu restorana gittim, ama korkunç bir gece olduğu ortaya çıktı. Bana geçirdiğimiz bütün sorunları sıralayalım:
1.Garsonlar bize Türk düzenli menüleri daha yüksek fiyatlı bir özel "turist menüsü" verdi - Biz olmayan turistlerin bizim menüsünde şeyler yemek görünce bunu anladım.
2. Çocuğum bir tavuk fileto emretti.Yemek gelince, onlar, "kazara" onu bize tavuk 20'den Lires daha pahalı bir biftek getirdi.
3. Biz büyük bir balık tabağı emretti.Garson bize önerilen ve bize söyledi "1 porsiyon 3 kişi besler." Ancak o yemek getirdi, o 9 kişi beslemeye yetecek kadar yiyecek oldu! Biz bu konuda sunucu sordu, o da yediğimiz vermeyecekti zaten fahiş gıda için üçlü kadar ödeme tutulacağı anlamına mal olacağını "biz 3 porsiyon, emrettiğini" söyledi. Bizi kandırdı anladı, bu yüzden yaklaşık yarım saat süren bitti onlarla tartışmaya başladılar. Biz onlar bize beklenen tam 300 Lires ödemeyi reddetti.Müdürün tür dostu görünüm döken ve bize bağırmaya başladıktan sonra, derhal biz gerçekten ne emretti sadece ödenir değil, ekstra şeyler için onlar da eklendi ve oradan ayrıldı.

Şimdi sizi uyarıyorum. Bu restoranın kaçının veya üzgün olacak. Ne korkunç bir deneyim. Ve gıda dışı tüm Başa bile iyi değildi.

(Google Translate)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“no thanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

expensive for its offers,despite that their driver came and get us from the hotel and get us back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I echo previous reviews that this place is a ripoff. While the food is good, the bill when presented is a SHOCK to the system. The food and view is not worth the exorbitant price when there are many fine restaurants nearby. Please be careful and avoid this place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“TAKEN IN BY A SCAM”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Visited this restaurant three weeks ago. it offered free taxi from hotel and back again. but not free at all. we paid in other ways. Picked Sea Bass at 20 TL each, the manager showed us the fish he had to offer including the sea bass, came with veg . the fish was nice, veg was sliced tomato, but the price for the fish and bottle of water was 170TL when we asked why, we were told the fish was weighed and priced by the kilo. What a con, we protested but got nowhere, he then added on 10% for service at 22 TL which is not 10% of 170 TL., by then all we wanted to do was get out. Do not go there unless you price everything carefully before hand..

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galata Olympos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galata Olympos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galata Olympos Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.