We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airport hotel but watch out for your Starwoods benefits and shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sahilyolu Cad | Atakoy, Istanbul 34158, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #504 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice airport hotel but watch out for your Starwoods benefits and shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Came in for s 2 days stay from the USA and since I had no meetings downtown thought this would be the right place to stay especially since I am gold SPG member. When I checked in and asked if upgrade was available I was told that theyyyy only upgrade platinum members. Instead of arguing I went upsatirs,k checked the SPG website and did not find in hotel or SPG website anything to that effect. I went back downstairs and mentioned
this to SPG desk who said they would check with manager and eventually received a larger room. All the rooms in hotel are very nice, good beds, and wonderful views of the water. I just did not like working so hard for an upgrade which I received in 2 other Sheratons this summer, where I booked with points and cash while here I was paying regular rates.
I still don't understand whny Sheraton only gives you free wireless in the lobby and not in the rooms. For what they charge they should give it to you. Also, while room service menu and breakfast were reasonably priced, I found that the soft drinks in minibar and mene outrageous. I went right outside to major mall with supermarket and bought drinks for 15% of what hotel charged. Too much of a mark-up. Also I found out at airport that shuttle runs every 2 hours or so which fort a hotel 7 minutes away doers not work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    133
    50
    29
    22
See reviews for
50
65
24
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for 9 nights, I loved the hotel, it was very luxurious, the breakfast was very good.
There are two swimming pools indoor and outdoor, but they are both about 1.6 meter deep only.
The room and the bed were big enough for me,wife and 4 year old son.
There is a gym with sauna and everything it was very nice.
The receptionists were helpful I asked them everyday about tourists attraction places.
Almost everyday there is a wedding which was fine by us because we enjoyed watching the ceremony but the music maybe annoying for some people.
There is a big market in front on the hotel which is very good (cinema, food, etc)
The only problem with the hotel is the location it is very far from city centre and the taxi take about 30 min and about 50 turkish lira (one way)

Room Tip: Take a room on a high floor, book through Heysam agency (140$ only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were a family of 4 with 2 young kids.
The hotel staff was excellent, esp the manager at their only resaturant that was open. He was very helpful and greeted us by name each day. The breakfast buffet was expensive 50Lira/person but was extensive and delicious.
My only complaint is that the beds in the hotel are too small. we requested a room with 2 beds and they gave us 2 single beds. We were told that's the only 2 beds-room they have. Rest are 1 bed rooms.

The hotel is not too far from the attractions and has a shuttle twice to the heart of the city. Taxi was about 25 liras each way.

Nice place. would consider going again. 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed Sheraton Atakoy for 3 days with my colleagues in July. We had some urgent meetings and we decided to isolate ourselves from city. Hotel location is great. It is near the Bakirkoy town. Bakirkoy is not historical or touristic place but you may find everything. It is 3rd or 4th biggest town of Istanbul city. And there is a wonderful mall that is called Galleria just near the hotel.
We stayed from Friday to Monday and our jobs finished almost 04:00-04:30 PM. After meetings i wanted to swim at outdoor pool but it was impossible. There were wedding ceremonies at the outdoor pool every night and it was forbidden to swim there before. I am not sure if Sheraton Atakoy is a hotel. It must be wedding governance office.
Hotel staff is polite and they offered me to swim at indoor swimming pool. May be you know, Istanbul is like a hell in July. I refused sharply indoor swimming pool offer. As you guess, Sheraton Hotels are not economical. Even ,if you cant swim, it never worths paying high bill.
I never visit again this hotel on summers and if you like swimming i never advice. I talked to other customers and they complained that there is no enough sunbed and they had to sit on grasses. As i said, never again in summer with these prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here for a change to Polat. I was sorry i did.
it's A Sheraton franchise and run very very badly.
Staff are demotivated, unhelpful, poorly trained.
Check in - 40 mins (was told it was staff lunch time)
Wake up call didn't come ("technical problems")
Pillows had holes and tears, carpet was stained
"club room" bathreoom door hanging off hinges
Needed to get electrician to come and turn lights of in my room one night
No shower gel day 1, No shampoo day 2
Woke at 2am for laundry collection (turned out wrong room)
Could go on...
If anyone from Starwood?sheraton reads this...i'd do an audit prett fast of this place - damagoing the brand!Until Sheraton sort this place out - stay at the Polat!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

We were looking for a place near the airport (late flight in & early flight out) and thought the Shearton would be a good choice. On arrival, we noticed parking area was very busy. There seemed to be a bit of confusion at checkin but it was sorted quickly. When we finally got to our room, rhe door was open with a house keeper in the room fiddling with bed. After 5 mts., she left and closed the door. We then noticed the loud music - a very large wedding was in progress on the patio below our window (we were on the 3rd floor). On course we were not told about this at checkin). The music were on until 12:30. My girlfriend used the Bose headset & 2 glasses of wine to get to sleep -:) I was not so lucky. At 11 pm, room service called to say a delivery was on the way. I opened the door - a trolly with champagne, flowers, and fruit was brought into the room. I am a member of SPG but this was way over the top. The waiter told me it was a special gift from my son - small issue in that I do not have a son. Disscussions with mgt downstairs - trolly with goodies leaves room. Seems it was meant for the person who was in the room but moved an hour before due to the noise (they stuck us inthe room). Hotel did send a make up bottle of wine at 11:30 pm (bit late as we were getting up @ 5:30am).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you have business around the airport area or close ot that, this Hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Higher Floors better View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel

Address: Sahilyolu Cad | Atakoy, Istanbul 34158, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel welcomed by distinguished comfort and an ideal location on the shores of the Sea of Marmar. The Sheraton Istanbul Ataköy Hotel is positioned immediately alongside Ataköy Marina and the sea bus terminal, and just 8 minutes from Ataturk Airport. Just 10 minutes from Sultanahmetth, the cultural and tourism highlight of Istanbul, and 20 minutes from historic Taksim Square, we offer easy access to the area’s most popular attractions. Plus, we’re a short stroll to major shopping malls such as Galleria, Carousel, Capacity, and Town Center, and offer convenient transportation options to major centers and fairgrounds including the Istanbul Performance Center, CNR and TUYAP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Istanbul Atakoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.