We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not deserve 1 star!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hamidiye

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hamidiye to your Saves list
Hotel Hamidiye
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fevziye Cad.No.1 Sehzadebasi | Old City Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #734 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does not deserve 1 star!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel barely deserves one star. My friends (Honeymooners) were staying there for 5 nights. I used to come to pick them from the hotel every morning. The Reception stuff was rude, disrespectful and obviously lacked traning. I also checked the room before thier arrival and i was shocked! it is a very tired hotel.
Please stay away.

Room Tip: stay a way!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

good location near to tramvay and public buses, lot of food shops, lot of shopping shops around,

we stayed for 7 nights (family 4 peoples) , daily room cleaning, open buffet breakfast not perfect but ok, some noisy voices during night but maybe because our room in 1st floor on the street side

Room Tip: higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This hotel is nice. We stayied 4 nights there and was ok.
It is very close to the main obiectives. The meal is ok, a lot of good turkish plates. There is a problem with the parking if you go by car, like us. The road where hotel and parking is, is closed daily by 10:00 to 18:00. We coulnd t take the car out when we wanted. Another "problem": the rooms aren t so clen they look on web page.
But in comparison with the price it s ok.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

A poor hotel by all means. I cant find one advantage to list.
Unfriendly staff with mask faces. Unhelpful at all even with luggage at check in.
Old fashioned lobby which is dark after midnight for saving electricity costs !!! (first time in life to meet that phenomenon)
Small pool with a rim of one meter to walk around. I followed the instructions by not bringing my towel to the pool. I was furious when the staff down there told me: sorry, we run out of towels !!!!
Filthy room (4 beds). Very old fashioned. Stains on carpets.
Useless AC bringing water like Niagra Falls inside the room all time !!
Non working Wifi in first floor (have no idea about other floors).
Most of electricity ports are not working in the room.
Toilet was not much different from public ones in design and usage!!! Even the toilet door did not close properly!!!
Take care you will be awakened every morning by the noise of the room service team joking with each other while they arrange your neighbors` rooms.
This hotel gonna make you lose your joy and happiness in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaencwm, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Used this hotel for our two days stay in Istanbul. Great location, clean, good sized room with extra duvets and blankets for cold nights. Air conditioning was little bit too noisy for our liking, but can't really complain about it. Breakfast was a big selection of continental and cooked items, something for everyone and coffee was decent. There is no kettle in the room, but hairdryer and bathroom amenities are provided. Would stay in this hotel again if visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

If you have no plans about your stay,trip,bussiness connections and any issue you are wondering,
If you need to be close to old city as well as new city and commercial sites,
Yes they may not be speaking very good english and may not be very professional team surrounded by many unnecessary rules but if you. If you want to stay in a friendly, smiley place with an exra helpfull team and an agency ready there attached to it and full of hard workers for any question of yours;hamidiye is your adress

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was more than pleasantly surprised to see the hotel, very nice and we had good sized room with three single beds. Though we were directly onto the road, the noise did not disturb us. The temperature was obviously hot, but luckily the air-con was not at all noisy so we could have it on all night and still got a good nights sleep.
We did not go into the ground floor restaurant, but we did the top floor restaurant when we had our Buffet Breakfast, which was varied and plentiful as well as satisfying.
You can even sit outside on the roof for your breakfast enjoying some wonderful views of Istanbul.
The hotel is quite central and with a fairly easy walk to the Quay as well as the Grand Bazaar, the Spice Market is a bit further.

Room Tip: Unsure, but maybe rooms overlooking the pool might well be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hamidiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamidiye

Address: Fevziye Cad.No.1 Sehzadebasi | Old City Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #734 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hamidiye 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamidiye Hotel's managment company has been changed in December 2014. After this period a very serious renovations has ben done at the hotel. All furnitures,beds,tv units are renewed.The TV channels are up dated. Hamidiye hotel is located at the old part of city,near to the historical places. The famous Grand Bazaar is only 100 meters far from the hotel and Sehzade Mosques which is build in 16th century is just opposite of the hotel, The biggest Mosque of Ottoman Empire SULEYMANIYE and the tombs of SULTAN SULEYMAN THE MAGNIFICENT and his wife HURREM SULTAN are just behind the hotel(50 meters) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Budget Places, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hamidiye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hamidiye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.