We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but a bit off the charts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hamidiye

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hamidiye to your Saves list
Hotel Hamidiye
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fevziye Cad.No.1 Sehzadebasi | Old City Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #732 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK, but a bit off the charts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything was nice and clean at the hotel and free wifi is always a plus for me but I didn't find the staff especially helpful and the hotel itself is situated maybe 10-15 min walk from the grand bazaar and ca 5 min walk from the nearest tram station which always made me hesitate to go back to the hotel for some rest.
The breakfast is ok, with many varieties, but only turkish coffee and tea and one kind of bread. Boiled eggs and something that resembled scrambled eggs which I never tasted. Several kinds of cereal and musli, milk and yoghurt, fresh fruits, cheese and sausages and plentiful of olives.

Also, some of the photos are photoshopped. The facade doesnt look like that at all and if you were to lie at the pool, (it was empty at our stay) you would look inte to face of the next building, not clear blue skies

Room Tip: The hotel lies ca 100 m from a mosque with minarets which didnt disturb me who had a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Overpriced. Never opt for Old City if you can find a hotel near Taksim Square/Isiklal Street. The place is so dull. Everything closes by 9. Breakfast is good but rooms are very small and I must say again overpriced. Room service is poor. Leaky bathrooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOURIST19621962, Yönetici at Hotel Hamidiye, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hotel.
We would like to remind you that our hotel is located at the OLD CITY near to the historical parts.
Taksim square or ISTIKLAL str are the modern new part of the city where you can enjoy the night life of the city.
Our location is more quiet as it has historical monuments around .
The room you reserved was small if you compare it to our other rooms as our 75% of the rooms are the biggest ones among other hotels,the average room size is around 27 sqm.
We would like to welcome you again and wish you all the best.
Best regards
ORHAN SANCAR
Managinf Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I spent two nights at the Hamidiye Hotel March 17 and 18, 2014. Although the public rooms; lobby, dinning room and hallways were clean and presentable, the rooms were very disappointing. There was dirt in the corners of the rooms,in the drawers and on the closet floor. The worst was the mold in the bathroom. The shower grout on many of the tiles were black with it and a large section of the grout on the floor of the bathroom was also covered in the mold.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ask to view the room before signing in. Our room faced the front of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The location of the hotel is close to almost everywhere. You will be like 10 minutes away from Taksim Square, few minutes away from Historia Mall, and like 5 minutes away from a walk on the sea coast. Sultan Ahmet and Hagia Sofia r 2 tram stations away.You can rely on the hotel staff with any help that you might need like transportation... public or private..touristic maps and places... shopping spots. The place is great for almost any type of trip. Family, couple, friends or on a business trip; this place is just right for you. I recommend it to the people who really want to enjoy the true value of visiting Istanbul.Enjoy!!! and Have a wonderful time !!!

Room Tip: whatever you need in Istanbul just ask the staff there and they will help you out with the best pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Hamidiye Hotel is nice hotel in a good location , Hamidiye Hotel is located in old city ,near to Grand bazaar , to Soliman Mosque and also to public transportation Laleli tram station
And also there are many shop around of the hotel.

The breakfast is very good The rooms are large and clean and some rooms with balcony
Wifi is free and working very well nice and smiling staff .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great hotel with fiendly staff

Excellent location , 5 min walking distance to Grand bazaar and Süleymaniye mosque , 3 min to tram station ,

The room are very large , balcony and clean

Breakfast is nice in the roof top restaurant

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOURIST19621962, Yönetici at Hotel Hamidiye, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Customer,
Please be informed that the hotel is completly
renovated and old managment company has been
changed.
We would like to welcome you again with our new face
Thank you
Orhan Sancar
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel staff were helpfull and friendly . great location ,the hotel room was very clean , close to most of shoping centers I really liked the accommodation and I seriously will recommend it to anyone who is going to Istanbul and especially what I really like was that the staff where very friendly."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hamidiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamidiye

Address: Fevziye Cad.No.1 Sehzadebasi | Old City Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #732 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hamidiye 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamidiye Hotel's managment company has been changed in December 2014. After this period a very serious renovations has ben done at the hotel. All furnitures,beds,tv units are renewed.The TV channels are up dated. Hamidiye hotel is located at the old part of city,near to the historical places. The famous Grand Bazaar is only 100 meters far from the hotel and Sehzade Mosques which is build in 16th century is just opposite of the hotel, The biggest Mosque of Ottoman Empire SULEYMANIYE and the tombs of SULTAN SULEYMAN THE MAGNIFICENT and his wife HURREM SULTAN are just behind the hotel(50 meters) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hamidiye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hamidiye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.