We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armagrandi Spina Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Armagrandi Spina Istanbul to your Saves list
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Utangac Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Utangac Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very average.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here from the 11th to the 14th of December.
Fantastic location,great value for money(through B.A)but the hotel is very dated.
Breakfast just ok,but enough to get by.
Perfect if you just want a bed and a shower.
Paul and Jackie

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    105
    45
    22
    14
See reviews for
58
100
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Booked through BA Holidays and used Trip Advisor for reviews.
Nice boutique style entrance to hotel - check-in simple and fast. Was given a room with my mate in an annex connected to the hotel, so had to walk outdoors and up steps to get to room. Room was reasonable. A couple of dodgy looking stains on the outer bed cover which should have been removed by housekeeping. TV had very poor picture (had to play with aerial connection) however was not really there to watch tv! Hotel offered free wifi, however connection was very poor.
Breakfast day 1 - scrambled eggs cold - breakfast day 2 scrambled eggs freezing! Staff bemused that I asked for them to be heated in microwave!!! Apart from above the hotel was clean, comfortable, the staff were friendly and for the price paid extremely good value for money. The location of the hotel makes it a must as you are next door to the Blue Mosque (but be prepared the call to prayer woke us up at 06:15!!) Would have awarded a higher mark were it not for these little niggly problems. I have read some reviews which mention poor staff - this was certainly not the case with us. Overall a good hotel but a little rough around the edges.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is not a four star hotel, it is more a two, two and a half star hotel.
Dont believe the hotels own pics. They not shows the true. Look at the tourists pics instead. That is the truth.
And the male breakfast staff is sexual harassing and flirting with the female guests.

The housekeeping staff likes to entering the room without any reasons. Just to get in the room and snooping around. The reception staff is rude and not service minded. Guests that complains are punished in all possible ways.

First of all I would like to say that the hotel have great location with just one, two minutes walk to Blue mosque and Hagia Sofia where there also is a tram station and five minutes walk to Grand Bazar. it is the location that give the hotel the second grade. Otherwise i would have gave it just one grade.
One bad thing with the location is that you get woken up in the middle of the night by the muezzin from the mosques.

The bad thing is that I would not say that the hotel is renovated, it is still a constructions site. The rooms is old apartments with boring and poor furnishing. When we got our room is spelled tobacco smoke and there was a cigarette in the toilet. So the staff must have smoking in the room or the room was not cleaned in a good way.

The daily cleaning is done in a not good way,there is not free buttled water and tea that is promised in the description.
The breakfast was a disaster. Old food cocked in a bad way with very few alternatives. And no silver wear to eat with. No bread.

Room Tip: Not a room in the annex buidling and room with windows against the street, not the parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through British Airways and were immediately greeted by two exceptionally friendly employees. Our room is good for the price and I have been thoroughly impressed with the service here. As well as keeping our room exceedingly tidy (despite our best efforts), I have enjoyed the small details such as complimentary tea and coffee between 15:00 and 17:30 (or around that time anyway).

We are all of 150 metres from the blue mosque and very close to the haggai sophia as well as food and tram stops. All in all, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
austin, tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very accommodating and helpful staff. The front desk really helped us with a problem. Very gracious. Charming breakfast area and very good Turkish breakfast. Upstairs deck even if the restaurant isn't open gives unbelievable pano of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofya, Sultanhamet, and the sea and bridge.
Unbelievable location (some rooms very close to call to Blue Mosque's prayers).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in September 2013. The location -- very near the Blue Mosque and a stone's throw from everything else -- was perfect. I had a rate that seemed a bit high but included Internet access and a room with its own little balcony and a nice view of the water and Asian side over the rooftops. It also included a good breakfast of coffee or tea, juice, bread and cheese, fresh vegetables, eggs, dried fruit, and wonderful plain yogurt to which you could add fruit sauces to your own taste. (Much better than over-sweetened flavored yogurts elsewhere.) The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel in good condition. My only complaint was that linens, although very clean, were a bit worn and past their prime.

I loved going to sleep every night to the sound of Turkish music from somewhere in the neighbourhood and waking up every morning to the sounds of the first call to prayer from the mosque. Others might consider this noise, but I enjoyed it.

I had a bit of trouble connecting with my transportation from the airport to the hotel, but once that was sorted out it was great. On my departure the transport arranged for me from the hotel to the airport was convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mauro Torinese, Italy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

..... to stay in Istambul. Very close to the main attraction Blue mosque and Hagia Sofia. Flyng back from Washington with TurkishAirline we decided to stop a couple of days in this fantastic city.
The hotel is 40 minuts from airport, is regular and clean and have a very nice terrace bar with a very special view on the city. We got a double room for 3 persons ...was perfect for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armagrandi Spina Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagrandi Spina Istanbul

Address: Utangac Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Utangac Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#231 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armagrandi Spina Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armagrandi Spina is a converted 19th century house featuring a striking wooden exterior with ornate Ottoman and Byzantine style architecture and interior decoration. Our hotel is situated in the Old Town in the historic Sultanahmet district of Istanbul From our breakfast room and Top Terrace, we offer stunning views of the Old City and Bosphorus.We would be happy to be able to assist you during your holiday in this fascinating city and to have you here as our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Armagrandi Spina Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Armagrandi Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armagrandi Spina Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.