We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antique Hostel - Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Antique Hostel - Guest House to your Saves list
Antique Hostel - Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kutlugun Str. No:51 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 849 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Lyon, France
1 review
“A Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am a 32-year-old American woman traveling alone. I stayed at Antique Hostel for six nights, and was totally satisfied by my experience. I took the most affordable bed, which was in a six-bed dorm. Thought these dorms are in the basement, they still have large enough windows to get adequate light. Each room is equipped with an air conditioning unit, a relief after a fully day of exploring Istanbul in the steamy summer heat. Beds were comfortable enough and clean, and fellow guests were remarkably considerate and friendly. I got a good night's sleep every night, and enjoyed many good conversations with other travelers. Bathrooms and showers are not immaculate, but certainly adequate. The hostel provides a good free breakfast spread daily, and the views and breezes from the dining area and from the rooftop are enlivening and refreshing for the solo traveler's soul. The staff are friendly, respectful and laid-back. I felt easily at home at the Antique Hostel, and I would stay there again on another visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    103
    41
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
56
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Antique hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and even went out of their way to help us when our Gallipoli tour fell through at the last minute. The location is perfect, so close to the Blue Mosque Hagia Sofia, and within walking distance of the Grand Bizaar and spice markets. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel is very close to the main attraction of the old city but It is situated is a calm road. Breakfast is good. Rooms are clean. Most of the staffs are friendly. I took the sea view room that is very nice. I stayed there for five night. In last of June I find the room hot, as there is no fan.

Room Tip: Take Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed there for two times, and I would always choose it again. Great location, only two minutes from Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia. Service was excellent, everyone is polite and very helpful. Rooms and everything is very very clean. You have included breakfast which is very good. Great experience. Good for everyone, for families, couples, friends, solo travelers. Wish you all to stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Three of us stayed at the Antique Hostel in Istanbul for 2 nights we had a ball it was so close to all the great restaurants & shops, the service was unbelievable we had so many people willing to help us even without asking which is so nice to see, literally right behind the Blue Mosque and loads of other tourist attractions, the meals were so delicious & traditional also, a quick walk to the water& tram line, ATM is just around the corner everything you need for your stay is soo close. We really were impressed, AND the view from the rooms& the roof terrace was so amazing our photos are just not good enough everyone should experience that! Loved it would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I only stayed there for one night. The Hostel is situated in a very good place. Restaurants around the hostel are open even after midnight and there is night life around the hostel. There was no air conditioner in the room but there was a window which was OK for that night I stayed. You can have the breakfast on the roof which i think was enjoyable! The day after I moved to a four star hotel and stayed for 3 nights but comparing the price I was more satisfied with Antique Hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In March 2013, my boyfriend and I booked a room for 3 nights (July 15th-July18th) with the total cost of 180€. We had read the ratings on tripadvisor and we were really looking forward to our trip to Istanbul. Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip because of the continous political situation and the excesses between police and demonstrators. So I sent the cancellation via email to the hostel´s mail adress. They did not answer, so I write another mail one week later. They did not answer. Finally they answered to my third mail. It is written that the situation is not as bad as I think, and that the hostel is completely booked, but they understand my fears. They also write, that I will not get any of my money back (I´ve paid the total price!!!). According to my opinion, this is just a bad joke or just dirty trickiness!!! I´ve travelled a lot, but I´ve never heard or experienced that there is no refundable rate in case of cancellation which is announced more than one month before arrival! I hope they feel good to work with my money (180€!!!), the money of a student, paid for nothing!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antique_Hostel, Owner at Antique Hostel - Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Elena Schwarz even did not stay here. She has no right to rate "value" "location" "Sleep Quality" "Rooms" "Cleanliness" "Service"

Actually, writting this comment and rating these conditions like this is REAL dirty trickiness. Because our cancellation policy is so CLEAN. The reservation is with Prepaid Non-Refundable Rate. That is why there is no way to refund the fee. She even saw the same policy while she is making the online booking.

We also asked her how can you ask for refund if you should cancel the flight!!!

Here are the terms and conditions:

Non-refundable full payment

Deposit :

A deposit of 100% of total cost is required at booking
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cancellation :

A penalty equal to 100% of total stay will be applied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antique Hostel - Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hostel - Guest House

Address: Kutlugun Str. No:51 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 849 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hostel - Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Hostel Istanbul is located in the heart of Sultanahmet in the Old City. We are only a few minutes away from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Turkish Baths, Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul. Antique Hostel Sultanahmet provide cheap accomadation (Bed and Breakfast B&B) in old town Istanbul Turkey.. We offer budget accommodation for backpacker travelers with maximum service. The prices are from 13 euro per night. You will not find anywhere in Istanbul better option than this, with such a low prices. We have great last minute deals for you with online booking as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antique Hostel - Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hostel - Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antique Hostel - Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.