We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and clean and family pension...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antique Hostel - Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Antique Hostel - Guest House to your Saves list
Antique Hostel - Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kutlugun Str. No:51 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 930 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location and clean and family pension...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

it is in the heart of old İstanbul ( Sultanahmet ), it has a few rooms for people that like to have their own space and it also has dorms for young people that like to travel on budget. it is very clean. receptions are helpful and friendly. breakfast is served on the terrace where there is a nice little restaurant with great sea view. the place is a few steps a way from Saint Sophia Museum and Blue Mosque. it is great little place to stay and make sure you go and spend sometimes on their wonderful terrace. I think this is the best pension of Sultanahmet (old city).

Room Tip: You should accept the rooms top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    108
    43
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
59
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

During our trip to Turkey we stayed at the Antique Hostel 3 times. The staff was friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. We will stay there again! The hostel is located in a historic area and is close to the transit system and many restaurants and bars.

Mike from Canada

Room Tip: Book early as late comers get the smaller rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice hostel on the best location, so close to all the Istanbul hot spots. Staff is friendly, helpfull and speaks english very well. Terrace bar is great, with a view over the water. Room was spacious and clean. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The four of us stayed at the Antique Hostel for three nights and shared an ensuite room with one double bed and one bunk bed. Our bathroom was spacious enough--there could have been slightly a little more space in the room to put our things, but overall we were happy with the room and the breakfast that was included (~$20USD/person/night--That is a decent deal for Sultanahmet!). There was also a safe in the room--big enough to lock away 3 iPads just in case, but we felt the location was very secure and also super convenient to all major sites. Wifi and hot water worked well in the room. The staff members we spoke with were professional and easy-going--not pushy at all. Good experience! (Also, across the street and down a bit there was same-day laundry service offered for 5 TRY/kilo. Don't know if that's a good price, but it was close and they did a good job.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I was there in 2010 spend there 10 days..i loved it.double room ensuite private bathroom and a litle balcony an air condition!!
Ewery morning breakfast at the roof terrace..nice Bosporus wiew.
Only the breakfast was a little poor..but who cares;-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbilisi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in Antique Hostel for 3 nights in August, 2012. Actually, I didn't expect 4-star hotels' condition there, but I think it's a very good place to stay and I'd go back.
It's located in the quiet, narrow streets 2-3 blocks behind the Blue Mosque, Haya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, etc. and a block away from the Four Seasons. So you know you're in a good, safe area, this area is VERY quiet at night starting around 10 PM; We liked it!. The Sultanamet tram stop is about 2-3 blocks away.
The room was good & clean, the toilet was really small, but it's ok if you are not looking for much comfort, I think the price worths the place. Breakfast was served on the terrace with great sea view.That was fantastic! The staff is very kind, friendly and helpful. Thank you, guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location, nice reception staff but rundown (or not too well maintained) place. The reception staff is very helpful (Onur is also more fluent with English, while Yunus is more helpful but has a limited grasp of English).

Frankly found the establishment badly maintained and run down. The upholstry needs changing, the sofas need complete overhauling, the shower stalls creak when you step in them.

I have seen better hotels

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antique Hostel - Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hostel - Guest House

Address: Kutlugun Str. No:51 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 930 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hostel - Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Hostel Istanbul is located in the heart of Sultanahmet in the Old City. We are only a few minutes away from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Turkish Baths, Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul. Antique Hostel Sultanahmet provide cheap accomadation (Bed and Breakfast B&B) in old town Istanbul Turkey.. We offer budget accommodation for backpacker travelers with maximum service. The prices are from 13 euro per night. You will not find anywhere in Istanbul better option than this, with such a low prices. We have great last minute deals for you with online booking as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Antique Hostel - Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hostel - Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antique Hostel - Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.