We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay, brilliant staff, amazing room and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tomtom Suites to your Saves list
Tomtom Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Rennes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Unforgettable stay, brilliant staff, amazing room and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in this very beautiful hotel and Tomtom suites totally fulfilled our expectations. We wanted a quiet location in Istanbul and this hotel is more than perfect. Located near busy Istiklal street for shopping and restaurants, with easy reach to the tramway stop going to Sultanahmet in 5 minutes. The hotel is surrounded by embassies (Itally, Russia, France) and is very safe. We also loved the mixing contrast with the beautiful, lively popular life in the surrounding the area. It is not dirty neither rundown, it is just life as we lost in many hygienist western cities...

During the day, you just hear for very few minutes children going to school and playing. This is absolutely not noise, just manifestation of life.

Tomtom suites is very QUIET and it is really a peaceful, relaxing hotel where you can pamper and sooth yourself from hectic Istanbul activities.

We were in executive suite and it is really an AMAZING suite : very large, king size comfy bed, 2 big flat TVs, large marble bathroom with big jacuzzi bathtub, living room with kitchenette, lots of stowage.

Top of the top is the terrace, as big as the suite, with magnificent views on the Bosphorus and Sultanahamet. We loved to go early in Sultanahmet to visit turistic places than coming back at noon at the hotel to have sunbathing on the terrace and then going out again for shopping and eating + night life.

We particularly loved the design of the hotel : contemporary beautiful and chic wooden furniture, beige fabrics, wooden and marble floors. It is has no flashy nor kitsch furniture you could find in many bad design hotels. Very feng shui and chic atmosphere.

Staff is brilliant : very serviceable, professional staff, never intrusive. Thanks to Ali Dogan and his assistant working in the morning, a wonderful and very helpful woman.

Breakfast is very good.
Terrace bar-restaurant has nice atmosphere and beathtaking views.

The only minus is the random turndown service. For this category of hotel we could expect a regular turndown service with bottles of water each night. Internet connection is also very slow.

Tomtom suites is a top-notch hotel, one of the best in Istanbul. We'll definitely go back for our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    68
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
103
420
27
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We booked this hotel in September 2009 going on the reviews on Tripadvisor.

Positives:

Large room - well serviced, including luxury toiletries, dressing gowns and slippers
Great decor throughout the hotel - very boutiquey
Wonderful view from roof terrace


Negatives:

Room very noisy - asked for top floor room away from lifts at end of corridor, was actually accommodated in a room on 2nd floor (out of 4 floors) at the end of the corridor. We would like to add that we are quite well travelled and this is the noisiest room we have ever stayed in. On 2 nights we were woken up by the people above us at 02.00, then again at 06.00. We tried to come back one afternoon for a nap as we were so tired, to be greeted by stomping above, doors slamming, noise of people in bathrooms (won't elaborate here), children screaming in the consulate opposite, this really wasn't the quiet break that we were after. After reporting this we were told that there were not any other rooms so we didn't have any other alternative.

No turn-down service, not a major thing but when a hotel is charging guests for the top end of the market and not delivering.

Only 1 bottle of water per stay per room. We had to buy our own water from a local supermarket.

Found staff on reception to be very unhelpful and quite surly.

The rooms do have air-conditioning although it's not turned on until middle of May, not what you expect from a supposed 5* hotel. We were told to open the window?! Consequently we found the rooms to be very stuffy, could not open the window for long due to other outside noises.

Breakfast was ok, although not really much choice, there were 3 trolleys of food that were wheeled in and out every morning, just cold items, jams, cheese, salad, fruit, bread, only 2 cereal choices. You could order eggs anyway you wanted them cooked though.

The hotel is quite a walk away from the main sights, however, the tram at the bottom of the hill is quite easy and accessible. Would also like to add that the surrounding areas are not that nice, to be honest, found it be rather dirty and run down.

All in all, we would say that this hotel is trying to be something that it's not and is over-charging for what it is. In our view it is just a bed and breakfast but not a very good one at that. In comparison, 2 hotels that are on a par, Rathaus Wein and Design in Vienna and Hotel Josef in Prague, TomTom Suites has got a lot to learn.

We would certainly not recommend and would not stay again. VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Dear Madame;

We are sincerely sorry to not be able to welcome you in the comfort that you expected.

We will continue to find out the best way to entertain our guests in a highest comfort.

Nevertheless, please allow us to explain to you a few small points:

Our building has built 110 years ago, to be used by Franciscan nuns.
We restored our hotel to be used in necessary forms of modern life needs.

Our whole environment is surrounded by 4-5 centennial old embassys, churches and levantine schools; dating from the period of when Istanbul was the capital of Ottoman Empire.

The street where we are located; is a dead-end street without any traffic circulation.

Despite this; especially in the daytime hours; the children who leave from the minority schools (wich are inherited from the Ottoman Empire to today); can be noisy.

Our hotel facilitys are published francly on our website and our corporate’s websites.

But we apologise for this disappointment.
Please be sure; that we will improve our guest satisfaction hereafter.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We selected this hotel because of the Tripadvisor.com reviews and it turns out they were all true. The hotel is wonderfully located, though the first night coming late from the airport we were a little worried as its nestled right in the middle of the old neighborhood of Beyoglu.

The Rooms:
Very large, very well appointed, very clean with lots of extra little details -- very full minibar, provided with the choice of local wines (we didn't but it was nice to see), beautiful carpets and lots of space. The hotel is a renovated convent so the bones of the place are great, the owner redid it in a modern style, which can sometimes mean poor details and bad construction, but not in this case. The whole place is beautifully renovated. Also I think the artwork is original and mostly of turkish artists, its very nice.

Beds were incredibly comfortable with big pillows. Our bathroom had both a HUGE bathtup and a shower, with a very wide selection of soaps. When was the last time you stayed at hotel and you could choose between 3 different types of soap which are rotated daily so you have 3 different choices every day?

Internet connection is a little slow at first but I think thats more a function of the Turkish states control on communication than the hotel's fault (it was interesting to see which sites were blocked or not).

We had a room on the 3 floor overlooking the Italian consulates residency and the golden horn. The hotel doesn' t have what I imagine are the amazing views of the Bosphorus of the hotels on the water, but it doesn't need them either.

The staff was beyond courteous. they were charming. The breakfast is delicious and a real spread and the staff was very helpful in the morning with our planning for the day.

I would not only go back to this hotel, but recommend it (already have) heartily to friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my wife. Unfortunately the deluxe room type (their standard room) I had booked was full for the first night so they offered us the executive suite (200m2 including terrace with fantastic view). I was afraid that the deluxe room would be a dissapointment afterwards but the contrary was true. I have stayed in many 5* luxury hotels and in many of them this would one of their higher end rooms. The service is really great and very personal. The location is very central: shopping street around the corner and tourist sight is about 20 min walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

The hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful (as everyone has mentioned). I really appreciated the late and tastey breakfasts at the weekend after partying in Istanbul.
Only minor gripe was the bed wasnt too comfortable. It looked fantastic so couldnt work out why this was....made long lie ins a bit tricky. However overall I'd definitely recommend this place as a quiet street (noise seems to be an issue in the city), great service, lovely looking rooms and good location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

This hotel is quietly situated opposite the Italian Consulate.Even the sign is discreet. Istanbul has a lot of goood hotels. For the price this one is outstanding. The staff are attentive and well mannered, the rooms are modern and well furnished. The food was well prepared and presented. The view from the upstaires terrace is superb.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We have just come back from a birthday celebartion at this very special Hotel.All the previous comments re the staff are true , they are the best, i have come across, warm , friendly, attentive helpful and charming and i am very hard to please!! Nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay they just wanted us to have the best time. we did not like our room as it was on the first floor , without any issue we were upgraded to a higher floor and a senior Suite. My birthday gifts from the hotel were flowers , Chocolate cake and Champagne!! Our room was huge , Bathroom as impressive as said in detail by others, all in all we could not have choosen a more wonderful hotel made special by the staff Only minus i would add is if you want a hotel from which you can walk to all the main sights then this is not ideal, but it was not an issue for us as we had taken comfy shoes as suggested by others. Final touch as we were personally escorted to our taxi was small gift of Turkish delight and charm to ward off evil spirits. I could go on but all i would say is go and experince this special place for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomtom Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.