We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There can't be any better hotel in that area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tomtom Suites to your Saves list
Tomtom Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“There can't be any better hotel in that area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the TomTom hotel for a long weekend in Istanbul and we both loved it. I get to stay a lot in hotels due to my job and I've seen my share of good hotels. This however is definitely coming onto my top 10 list. The hotel itself is beautiful; contemporary design that combines both modern and classic style elements. The light wooden floors give the rooms and floodways a very friendly and chic touch. The rooms and all other areas of the hotel are extremely clean. Spotless. I am very picky with cleanliness and it takes a lot for me to run around barefoot in a hotel room. I had no concerns whatsoever in this one. The roof top terrace on the top floor alone, overlooking large parts of Istanbul's Beyoglu area and the Bosphorus is worth visiting the hotel. Breakfast is served there and the exclusive setting, view and quality of the food makes every breakfast one you don't wanna finish quick. Only the choice of food could be a little bit richer but that's about the only comment for improvement I have.
The mattress and blankets are of superb quality, always fresh and with a nice and clean smell. We both slept like babies. The water pressure in the shower was perfect and there were so many toiletries, you don't really need to bring anything yourself.

The service is equally fantastic and I consumed a lot of it. Taxi reservations (including instructions for the Turkish drivers), restaurant bookings, etc, all done professionally and with a smile. But what blew me away most was the offer to use one of their rooms on our last day AFTER check out (our flight left at midnight) to take a shower and freshen up before we left for the airport. We could deposit our luggage at the hotel after check out, do our thing and then come back in the evening, freshen up and leave for the airport relaxed and with a smile. This is not something most of the other hotels I strayed in would offer.

I want to mention Mr. Alican from the front desk specifically because I dealt with him the most and he has been overly friendly, helpful and extremely professional. Thank you for all your help and your great service!

The location is also great. Right opposite the Italian consulate/embassy (which makes the area extremely well guarded and QUIET!!) and only a 2 minute walk to Istekal caddesi, the main street with all the shops in Beyoglu. Only the walk up to the main road might be a little too steep for older people I guess.

We had a really good time in Istanbul and largely thanks to TomTom. Rest assured, I will never book any other hotel when I'm in Istanbul.

Room Tip: We had a room toward the backyard, which was extremely quiet. The only thing we heard was the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    68
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
418
27
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Tom Tom Suites is a great hotel to visit Istanbul. Tom Tom is a fairly new hotel with a contemporary décor. It is located on the same street as the Italian embassy. The street is very quiet as access is restricted. Tom Tom is a 5 to 10 minute walk to the tram line that runs direct to the major sites- really easy to use and quite low cost. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Istikal Street, a pedestrian promenade is a short uphill walk from Tom Tom. Staff at Tom Tom is very helpful at the reception arranging dinner reservations, transportation, etc. (particularly Alican). They also provide excellent maps and directions for getting around. Do buy the Istanbulkart for use on public transportation and the Museum Kard for entry to all the major sites (you do not have to wait in line to buy tickets at thesights). To return to Tom Tom try the “Tunnel” (a funicular) up to Istikal and then walk to the street (can’t remember name) and downhill to Tom Tom.
Brekfast at Tom Tom is served on the top floor restaurant with a fine view. Nice buffet for breakfast. Dinner was also very pleasant there.

Room Tip: any will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

In close proximity to Beyoglu's nightlife and shopping, as well as the train, yet on a quiet residential street with a school adjacent. Rooms are spacious and modern, with high ceilings and marble bathrooms. It is worth getting the breakfast, as it is quality and convenient. The staff was very accommodating. Definitely would stay here anytime in Istanbul.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just returned from an amazing time in Istanbul at the Tomtom suites. My only regret was i didn't stay long enough. Hotel location is perfect, you would never be bored of stuff to do within walking distance yet is quiet. Small hotel so very top-notched personalized service. Rooms are huge, bathrooms are great with a lovely jacuzzi that can bathe two comfortably plus rainfall shower. Nural as previous guests mentioned is amazing. Every recommendation he gave us was spot-on. The genuine warmth and hospitality received was unprecedented. Very safe neighborhood next to embassies. Bars and restaurants all over are open till very late (if not all night). Nice breakfast on the terrace. I can go on and on but if you wish to stay in a lovely hotel in the center of everything yet quite and exclusive, look no further. Everywhere is easy to walk or get to via tram, metro or taxi from here. Will visit again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are quieter and some have really great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Your first impression: Personal, attentive & excellent service. Rooms are spacious, moderN & well appointed with every sort of gadget such as Nespresso coffee maker, DVD player, choice of pillows, etc. Welcome drink provided. Quiet location. After arriving in my room(personally attended to by a manager who explained all), reception phoned to insure all was OK. Lovely breakfast location on roof w/ good quality offerings, especially the fresh fruit. Complimentary water & Godiva chocolates each day. 24/7 assistance with anything. Only drawback was bathroom lighting--in spite of a lighted magnifying mirror--almost impossible to shave easily. Adequate room lighting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at TomTom during our annual vacation in Istanbul. After reading very helpful reviews on Tripadvisor we narrowed down on TomTom. While we normally prefer staying at a reputed chain/brand it was a very decision to choose TomTom. The place is designed very tastefully and the rooms are very well appointed and equipped (read: Molton Brown toiletries, nespresso coffee machines in each room etc). If you want a good size room the Classic Suite is very apt although the Standard Suite is just as good. If you want something HUGE the deluxe suite is your answer!

The hotel has an invaluable asset in Nural (Guest Relations Manager). To cut a long story short: He is your one man army for anything you need in Istanbul...sightseeing tips to getting dinner reservations at the best tables in town...Nural is your man!

Overall: would highly recommend the place and would definitely choose Istanbul as and when we visit next!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just got back from an amazing stay at the Tomtom Suites. It was great being in Istanbul with the political debate raging. We always felt safe, and it was a fascinating time to be there. As for Tomtom, we could not have been happier with the hotel. The location is perfect, as it is near Istiklal Street and the view of the river and mosques is wonderful. We had an incredible room on the top (6th floor) with a huge balcony, and our kids (17 and 15) had the room next door. Perfect family set up.

While the hotel is stylish and well-situated, what makes it really stand out is the service. Nural helped over email before we left on numerous issues from tour guides to restaurants, and he and others on their staff we just as helpful we were there, sitting us down and orienting us when we arrived and always making us feel extremely welcome.. Our teenage kids felt the same way. Breakfast on the roofdeck was also a great way to start each day.

I will also toss in here a recommendation for pefect guides to work with, either Eda or Sinan Sokmen of their own sister and brother owed company, Istanbulite. Check out their website. Nural recommended them and they were awesome. We spent three days with them, two with Sinan and one with Eda. They are bright, energetic and extremely knowledgeable about both Turkish history and all of the sites. They customized a perfect three days of touring for us, working with us responsively over email before we came to plan it out and then making adaptions after we arrived. They took us around in a Mercedes van, which was always waiting for us, took us to all the main sites, set up a private yacht cruise on the Bosphorus and, most of all, were just delightful folks with whom to spend time on vacation. I could not recommend either Tomtom Suites or the Istanbulite team of Eda and Sinan Sokmen more highly. Thanks to all of you for helping us have an unforgettable trip in Turkey.

Room Tip: If you can get the rooms on the 6th floor with the big deck, you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomtom Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.