We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Super Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomtom Suites

Save Saved
You added Tomtom Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Bramhall
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Super Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Tomtom Suites are well located to visit most of the "must do" attractions in Istanbul with the tram station only a few minutes walk at the bottom of the street. Our room was huge and well furnished with a super ensuite bathroom. The hotel was spotless and the staff could not be more helpful, especially the staff on the reception desk. Food in the roof top restuarant was first class if a little pricey and again the service very attentive and speedy. If you like small classy hotels then this is one for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    63
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
97
389
27
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have travelled and stayed at hotels all over the world and believe me Tom Tom Suites exceeded expectations on all levels.
The hotel is super clean and smells delicious. The hotel employees whether at reception, concierge or in the restaurant were all EXTREMELY helpful, kind and love their job. My partner a stomach bug, after eating in a 5star famous hotel restaurant, which shall remained unnamed. The staff could not have made us feel more at home following this unfortunate event. They made sure my partner was comfortable and had all he needed, but also made sure I was entertained and took well care of me.
Forget large hotel chains- boutique hotels like this one, are the ones to choose if you're looking for a more human experience.
Ps: The breakfasts re amazing and the views from the restaurant, superb!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay, this is a good hotel by Istanbul standards and we would recommend it.

Our room was spacious, though we had booked one on the third floor and were slightly disappointed with being put on the second because we had read about the noise. If you're a light sleeper you will probably be woken by the children walking to school, it is as you read in the reviews, however when I kept the window shut I did sleep through. I found the bed too hard and the pillows, despite sampling from the pillow menu, were all slightly wrong, but then again my bed standards are exceptionally high. I was surprised, considering the price of the room, to find the coffees from the pod machine charged as extras on the bill; it just seemed a bit cheap not to include coffee, especially since the machine was placed on the surface and there was nothing to indicate it was chargeable. The shower hose in the jacuzzi bath had not been cleaned, yet it hung into the bath. One day at breakfast they took out the hoover and commenced hoovering around us while we were eating, not the most welcoming activity. Other than those issues the staff at Tom Tom try to accommodate your wishes and overall there is a feeling of luxury and attentiveness.

Lastly, I should probably mention the hill - something people mention and we were concerned at how steep they actually are! The first time we took the back route to Istikial Street it was slightly shocking, extremely steep, unkempt and run down. I was concerned about making the trip at night, but my fears were assuaged by the staff and we soon became used to it. The location of the Tom Tom is ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Tomtom Suites beginning of May for almost a week and have to say, that it was an extraordinary experience. The location is phantastic, the Hotel more then charming, the rooms superb and the staff is very very kind and attentively, great service and hospitality!
The bathrooms are great and comfortable, the rooms have all their own charm.
Breakfast you have on the top floor with a great view over Istanbul, very delicious and fresh.

Room Tip: We know three categories and have to say all have their own charme and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

As a place to crash for the night, Tomtom suites is adequate - comfortable mattresses, large rooms. But that's as far as we felt. Our experience was sort of unique because, in the space of a short time we stayed in a few places Istanbul - all decidedly higher rated than Tomtom - (as we swung in and out of the city) - and hopefully you might see what you're missing by not going higher on the TA rating scale.
Tomtom, from the get go, seems more concerned about getting paid than about wanting our (repeat) business. Istanbul, seems to be full of establishments that slide on the scale of wanting to quote everything in USD as opposed to TL; but this place seems to think that it needs to be in the "Euro"zone (that proximity to the Italian consulate must be heady). But dont worry, you wont need to go thru the tedium of monetary rates, the currencies are changed without the amount.
Asked for an airport pickup (it was an email thread of about 4 emails) party that inlcuded a baby .. they were more concerned about the Euros it would cost for their C class or 300'series BMW than about making sure that there was a child seat in the car. (Other hotels, didn't ever need to be asked to provide it .. but have automatically made sure that even taxis they get for us had an infant seat - I guess, we were wrong to mistake luxury to include efficiency).

Though our reservation was made well in advance, the "ONLY" bassinet in the hotel was used in another room... it's not so much the apology on not having it, as much the assumption that "the kid's going to sleep in your bed, anyway, right?" that highlighted the service.
It goes beyond travelling with a family or not on business .. the room service menu is spectacularly unimpressive .. on the bright side the pasta wasn't overcooked, but the higher quality continental breakfast makes one think that they are happier having to cook in the morning than later on in the day.

Which by then was a stay about as pleasant as enjoying malaria .. so we left with a smile because we were on our way out.

Room Tip: Away from the Italian consulate .. I have no idea how a hotel of this calibre has such poor windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtomGM, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Toronto Tripper,

First of all I would like thank you for your feedback .

I’m really sorry to hear all about your stay and concerned of your accomodation .That’ s really unpleasant for us too, that we couldn’t make your one night stay as comfortable and also away from the usual standards of Tomtom Suites.There will be certainly no excuse on the isues you have pointed but just like you to accept our apologies.
Your disappointness of the pricing makes us certainly unhappy and not being able to reach your expectations.
The transfer is an outsource service and even though they had been informed of your infant thats dissapointing we had come aclose with this situation.
And also so upsetting to hear you and your infant couldn't be able to make you feel so comfortable even if we tried to settle a sofa to your suite.

With ,your feedbacks we'll improve our service and try to accomodate our guests in higher standards ,try to be able to meet your expectations,do our best to remember us with smile.

Hope we may have a chance to welcome you here in the future and have the oppotunity to change your thoughts.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our party of eight has just returned from Istanbul and found our hotel excellent. Not only was it bright and cheerfully modern with generous sized rooms but the hotel staff were very helpful in answering our queries, giving recommendations and putting up with us! I am not a fan of continental breakfasts but theirs were very good. Once we had mastered the tram we had no problem with the location.

Room Tip: Ours was a slightly cheaper one with no view but maybe this doesn't worry you and you can spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I spent 4 nights on my own in this marvelous boutique hotel before joining a tour group traveling through Turkey. Although the other hotels were nice this was the best and the only one I'm reviewing. I want to thank Nural for 'looking out for me'. He recommended terrific places for authentic, delicious turkish meals; found me a knowledgable guide who escorted me to areas of the city not included on my 'tour' itinerary; provided me with a transportation pass and the knowledge to use it; helped track down my luggage when it was swapped with another taxi passenger going to a different hotel upon arrival. He was always ready with a warm smile, gracious manner and concern for my enjoyment.

My room was spacious - at least 4 times the size of any place I stayed - and quiet, well-equipped with all amenities. Nice marble and wood floors. Great glass elevator and unusual art. Large functioning bathroom. The rooftop restaurant where breakfast is served has an amazing view, good service and food - an inspiring way to begin each day. I invited 3 traveling companions to dinner the night before our tour group met up. We all agree dinner at the restaurant was superior to anywhere else we ate in Istanbul including a couple of the 'famous' restaurants in the Sultanahmet.

I highly recommend this hotel if you have the inclination to stay just a little bit apart from the masses in the old town and want a personalized experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#16 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomtom Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.