We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish available at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Balik Restaurant

Istanbul Balik Restaurant
Yeni Galata Koprusu AltI, Karakoy Bogaz tarafI No: 15 | Karaköy, Istanbul, Turkey
+ 90 212 293 23 46
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,226 of 11,070 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good fish available at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Recommended here by our hotel, so we were taken there in the restaurant's minibus.

You will see from other reviews that not everyone was happy! Well, you will get really fresh and tasty sea food and attentive service, with views over to the old city. However, this does not come cheap. Expect to pay 300 lira a couple before drinks. I guess the transport and a kick back to the hotel have to be paid for somewhere!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    12
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krasnodar, Russia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Although touristic place,but food is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to this restourant.Although it is located in quite a touristic place and we were almost forced to go inside, we were not disappointed. We were promised a 20% discount and we really got it. The staff was friendly and we were waiting for our order no more than 5-7 minutes. I don`t like than I`m forced by restourant staff to go inside and necessary order something, but the impression from visiting this restaurant is quite nice. It`s worth visiting once. Note:for our order we paid about 30 turkish liras.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rip Off Merchants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I went here after a recommendation from the hotel. They offered a pick up service which was as advertised. Once at the restaurant we found we were the only people there and we were pushed into ordering a red mullet.

The fish was not filleted as advertised and at the end of the meal we were presented with a £75 bill for a fish! On top of this was the wine which was in line with what we would expect to pay in Istanbul. After negotiating a discount we left feeling disgruntled and ripped off.

The hotel staff was horrified when we told them about our experience and they pulled out all the stops and managed to get us a refund of approximately 1/3 of the bill. Even if the financial loss was somewhat reduced the incident still put a stain on what we were looking forward to as a lovely evening in Istanbul.

I wish we had read the reviews here before we went. It appears something changed around the middle of last year. New management/owner or strategy?

Istanbul Balik Restaurant is better left alone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I wish we had read the recent Tripadvisor reviews before we went - AVOID!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If only we had read the recent reviews on this site before going to this place.... But unfortunately we fell into the same tourist trap as some other reviewers here. The restaurant was mentioned to us in our hotel and it was as described - pick-up service, and once you are in the restaurant, they sell you a piece of fish for an absolute fortune. My husband and I shared a red mullet - granted, it was nice, but it wasn't huge and they didn't fillet it as they had promised. Imagine our horror when it turns out they charged us the Turkish Lira equivqlent of £75.00 - for one fish! It definitely wasn't that special.... We were quite shocked, negotiated a bit of a discount and left, disgruntled. During the evening, we were the only diners in this place!

When we recounted our experience in our hotel the next day (where the recommendation had come from), the hotel staff were horrified. I can only credit them for going the extra mile and getting in touch with the restaurant, complaining to the owner and retrieving some money (around 30% off our original bill) for us - this made the evening slightly less of a financial loss, but of course still the loss of what should have been a nice evening out in Istanbul.

The reviews for this restaurant up until middle of last year here on Tripadvisor were very positive, it almost seems like there has been a change of ownership/management or a change of strategy - pulling a fast one for short-term financial gain rather than building a solid good reputation based on excellent customer service. Very strange...

Whatever you do - don't go there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“tourist trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'm writing this review while still in shock of how much they just robbed us! The food was good but certainly not worth €200 for 2!!!!!! Our hotel reccomended this place, there was a driver waiting to take us, be aware and don't fall for it, certainly not worth it at ALL!!!!! I feel like they took advantage of us, sad to think your own hotel would reccommend a tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Balik Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Balik Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Balik Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.