We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest hotel I've ever stayed at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Osmanhan Hotel to your Saves list
Osmanhan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPECIAL RATES IN OURWEB
Ranked #8 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The nicest hotel I've ever stayed at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. From our first contact, the entire staff was dedicated to their guests needs and comfort.

Location was excellent-quick walk to the Blue Mosque and Ayasofia, Easy walk to Topkapi Palace, Galata Bridge. Many cafes and shops in the neighborhood of the hotel. We felt safe walking at night and no one hassled us.

We used the hotel's airport transport service which worked perfectly. The wonderful young man at the front desk spoke excellent English

Our room was nicely appointed with an excellent bathroom and shower. Breakfast was in an enclosed rooftop room with a bird's eye view of Istanbul The breakfast was varied and the staff prepared us fresh coffee and tea every morning.

If I return to Istanbul, this will be my hotel. The entire staff should be highly commended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    99
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
137
417
90
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I've never bothered to write a TripAdvisor review before, so the fact that I'm doing so proves that this hotel was something special! The 5* review is largely based on the brilliant staff, who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful... in addition to which the room was pretty, well-kept and the breakfast was a definite winner!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Very small (7 room) hotel in old Istanbul. Walking distance to Blue Mosque, Haya Sofya and Topkapi.

Friendly service, Fati the regular front desk clerk is very helpful and knowledgeable.

The rooms are a reasonable size and clean. Shower/washroom up to date. Flat screen tv and free wireless internet.

On the downside, single room on the main floor is right behind reception so not the most private and at the side is below the floor level for the sloping street beside it so not for the light sleepers.
Excellent breakfast with many fresh breads/cheeses and other items served on the roof top terrace which gives you a beautiful view of the surrounding area and the Golden Horn/Asia

Easiest way to get there is take Metro from airport, change to tram on T1 line and get off at Sultanahmet stop, then walk to hotel...the last part is a bit tricky if you have lots of luggage, then take taxi in street at Sultanahmet stop as you will go down the cobble stoned streets. I asked the hotel to put a better map on the site on how to walk there because street names are not easily visible in Turkey, ask for Arista bazaar then walk down the street leading down from it , then ask someone

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We almost booked a cheap hotel but the 100s of good reviews led us to pay extra and we were not disappointed from check-in to check-out. We arrived at 11am and were expecting to leave our luggage and go and find somewhere for a cup of coffee, instead we were show straight to our excellent room. Admittedly, we had paid extra for a superior room but it was worth it. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious.
The hotel is situated just a few minutes from several sites and excellent restaurants and yet the hotel position is quiet and secluded. Breakfast on the terrace is an experience in itself, looking out over the Bosporus and the city. The English speaking staff are friendly and helpful and when our Transport4U shuttle didn't turn up to take us back to the airport, the receptionist booked a shuttle for us for €20 and it arrived in minutes so that we were in time for our flight.
We couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Begium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We recently stayed in this hotel, which is in the center of Sultanahmet, close to the 'things to visit' on a first stay in Istanbul. It is located at the corner of a reasonably quiet street for this area. During the evening and night we could hear the neighbours on the stairs and in their room quite well, so you have to be lucky that the other visitors in the hotel are decent and quiet people. Breakfast was perfect on the nice roof terrace (outside or inside). People were very friendly. Very clean
Overall: good hotel, espacially considering the price; noise level could be a little bit anoying for some geasts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Agree with everyone that the hotel is conveniently located and boasts a great rooftop for breakfast (most hotels in that area do though) and very comfortable and clean rooms. I loved to cut through the Blue Mosque on my way to the hotel after a day of sightseeing and to sit on the rooftop admiring the glittering lights across the Sea of Marmara. But the most memorable part of the hotel was the owner who was the most sincere and helpful host. He spent half a day taking us to the Grand Bazaar and Spice Market and negotiated on everything we bought - there was no way the average tourist could get the deals he got for us! His English was good and we immensely enjoyed his company while having lunch under the Galata Bridge. On another day, the owner graciously drove us to a locals only kebab restaurant and we had a fantastic meal. Fatih who worked at the front desk spoke perfect English and was genuinely friendly and resourceful. One of my favorite experiences in Turkey was meeting the incredible people but these two guys really stood out above everyone else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

What a fantastic welcome we received in this wonderful little hotel. The location is ideal to explore on foot the best of what Istanbul has to offer. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean and superbly finished, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace magnificent and the help , advice and service in general was outstanding in every respect. Fatih's local restaurant recommendations were perfect for our needs. We certainly cannot wait to return. This hotel is streets ahead of any other hotel we have experienced in Istanbul and, at the price, is a real bargain!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#2 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,532 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#7 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,174 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Millennium Suites
Millennium Suites
#3 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osmanhan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.