We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Osmanhan Hotel to your Saves list
Osmanhan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 937 Hotels in Istanbul
Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Location, location, location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent three days at the Osmanhan prior to a group trip and enjoyed our stay enough to come back at the end of the tour for two more days.
The hotel is a block away from a wide choice of restaurants and just a little farther from the major sights of old Istanbul and public transit to reach outlying sights.
A major plus is the help available from the staff to make the most of one's stay. Their English is excellent and they provide a welcome greeting after a tiring day seeing the sights and fighting the crowds. The Osmanhan is a home to come back to in Istanbul.
Breakfasts on the rooftop give a good wakeup preparation for the busy day ahead. Be advised that the walk up will make you hungry but the food is ample and good enough to satisfy the hunger.
Since the hotel is a little hard to find avail yourself of the offer to arrange (at reasonable cost) transportation from the airport. We didn't on our return and would up seeing more of Istanbul's traffic than we wanted.

Room Tip: We opted for the cheaper ground floor room on our first stay. The rooms on the upper floors are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    88
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
361
72
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Encouraged by the reviews we read we decided to stay here for 4 nights and we are so glad that we did. The staff were friendly, helpful and fun at all times. Rooms were tastefully furnished and quiet despite being only a stones throw from the main Sultanahmet tourist strip. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent every day. They were happy to book restaurants and hammans for the 4 of us at our request. One got the impression that they could not do enough for you as a guest in their house. I dont normally return to the same hotel when I re-visit a city no matter how good it is but I would not hesitate in first checking for vacancies at the Osmanhan when I next go to Istanbul. Restaurant and bars on the main drag are variable but 2 of the better ones were Shadow cafe and Albura Kathisma. Beware over-priced cocktails with very little alcohol in them at some places particularly at the Byzantium hotel where the selling point is highest roof terrace on the street (but the worst drinks!)

Room Tip: The two rooms on the ground floor were right next to reception so could get noisy. Top 2 floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose to stay at the Osman Han Hotel (Ottoman Inn Hotel is what it means) on the advice of friends who recently stayed here, and after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was great! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel completely welcome, most notably by Fatih, but really by everyone.
The location is great, a 5 minute walk to Haggia Sophia and the Blue mosque, another few to the tram line (3 TL or about $1.60 per trip). We stayed in the deluxe triple, which was very spacious for a couple, but I understand some of the rooms are a bit small. We stayed in the triple simply because there wasn't a double available and we were given a discount for cash. The room was very nice, with a clean, modern feeling bathroom.
The breakfast, which is included, was very enjoyable. The coffee is like american , i.e. weak, so we drank the stronger turkish tea. There was fresh squeezed OJ, the ubiquitous cherry juice, fresh fruit, dried figs and apricots, cereal, yogurt, cheeses, olives, a processed meat and omelets. I'm sure I left a lot out, but we loved the breakfast. You can eat inside, outside or outside on the rooftop terrace.
As you read thru the reviews here you will see Fatih's name over and over, for good reason. Every time we asked him for help or a recommendation, he came through. I wish we had asked more often. Among his picks was Fatih Belediyesi Cankurtaran Sosyal Tesisleri, which is a social center of the local Fatih municipality (belediyesi, a word you will see over and over). We had asked him for a reasonably priced place to eat where predominantly locals go. It was exactly that, very good food, atmosphere and prices. Another place he recommended was Sultanahmet Koftecisi Selim Usta, which he described as the best meatballs in Turkey. I loved it.
A true home run was his suggestion to take a morning trip on the ferry across to the asian side when we were looking for something our last morning while waiting for an afternoon flight to Cappadocia. He told us to take the ferry from Eminonu (by the Galata bridge) to Kadikoy. It's a 20 minute ride and you need a 3TL token which you can purchase there. The ferry seems to run twice an hour with 2 boats. I recommend the boat with an open upper deck where you can sit outside. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and a great crossing, with views of the mosques, Haggia Sophia and the Topkapi Palace.
When you get off, if you head across the streets and to the right, there is a nice, non-touristy turkish market. There is an underpass, which makes the crossing easier. On the way back we hit the second, less open ferry boat, which was ok, but not great.
The hotel is just off a street with a multitude of restaurants and shops, a couple blocks from a 2 block long bazaar.
The Grand Bazaar is a bit further away, you can walk (about 30-40 minutes) or walk 10 minutes to the tram stop. The spice bazaar is a 10 minute walk from the grand bazaar. We walked every where and enjoyed the sites on the way. Particularly on the streets between the 2 bazaars you see a multitude of tiny shops serving the locals for everything from hardware to clothing and toys.
As you walk around this area you will see a great many small and large hotels, many of which are reviewed on TripAdvisor and many not, but it's hard to imagine a ether experience than we had at the OsmanHan Hotel.
By the way, restaurants and shops love to hear you say you will review them on this site. I am not including any bad reviews, in large part because I suspect the places I would review with less enthusiasm suffered from my not enjoying local spices, and /or me trying to order something new and not liking it.
Lastly, having ordered several doner kebabs, I would say the hoagy/sub style bread is far superior to the wrap style. It seems they put in less filling in the wrap and the bread overwhelms the sandwich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Osmanhan is the best place for us in istanbul!i have been in this Hotel with my wife 4 nights!in this four days people who works there they gave their max.effort to make us feel happy.And they did that!Osmanhan hotel has 7 rooms boutique hotel.it was so clean,quait and in perfect location.What was suprised us Knowing that we were leaving early for our tour, they were kind enough to make us a breakfast plate as the regular buffet would not be available.
Staff is the key.They make you happy from
the place or not!And their breakfast was super.Everday very diffrent cakes and specially rose jam still in my mind
Very highly recommended Osmanhan Hotel for everbody who are tired from big hotels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Osmanhan Hotel is a boutique hotel located close to the Blue Mosque. The room we had was small, but impeccable. There is a rooftop terrace where breakfast is served with a view over the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. The hotel is lovely, but what made our stay special was the caring staff. Never have I stayed in a hotel with such attentive interest to our needs and well-being. If we go back to Istanbul, we will return here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights in this lovely little hotel. If you are looking for somewhere clean, quiet, friendly, central and with lovely views from the rooftop terrace, this is it. It is a five minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Breakfast is varied, plentiful and very fresh. The cherry jam is just delicious. I cannot fault this hotel, unless you find stairs difficult, as there is no lift. The staff take your luggage to your room and back again at end of trip so no need to struggle with it up the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Britain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here late May 2013 for two nights. Excellent location - within minutes of the historical sights in Sultanahmet - but on a fairly quiet side-street. Very comfortable room. The staff were helpful throughout. Delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Spotlessly clean. There are only 7 rooms, so it felt like I was staying in a family run "pension". I'd stay here again, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 937 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osmanhan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.