We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to be kidding!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of En La Luna Restaurant

En La Luna Restaurant
23 Utangac Sokak | sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)
+902125187267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #987 of 10,924 restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet - Old City
Cranbury, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We decided to have a drink on the rooftop restaurant one evening. At first glance, we were disappointed by the rooftop view but we sat down anyway. We were the only customers on the rooftop restaurant because it was early. In the middle of our drink, we were startled by an explosion in the bar area next to our table. Really, we were so scared that we ducked under the table--it sounded like a bomb was exploding! Once the sound subsided in a minute or two, we sat up on our chairs and saw that a gas tank had exploded behind the bar and it sent shards of glass everywhere from the glasses behind the bar, everywhere around us and on our table. No one came to us to apologize- so we dashed out, absolutely shaken! When we got downstairs, they had the nerve to charge us for the half drunk drinks...unbelievable! As we were leaving the restaurant, everyone in the street asked us if we were ok...the sound was heard by everyone in the street. This is a strange place--good location but we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    68
    21
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Uninviting overpriced roof garden with no garden or view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

A few reasons to skip this place-Unpleasant loud owner, who is rude to his stuff; a service by a young boy who doesn't understand a word in English(even asking for salt was a big trouble); mediocre food - our main course arrived cold; uninviting atmosphere-seating under fluorescent light, with unpleasant smell of old carpet, no views..you can do much better in Istanbul!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Perhaps they were having a bad night but our experience here was quite average. They have a nice terrace with a good view ( though the view at Seven Hills is much better). Be prepared to walk up quite a few stairs to get there. I believe their kitchen was on the ground floor because our entree was not hot by the time it was set on our plate. The menu is just average compared to the many other resturants in the area ( such as Metropolis). And our service was quite poor from a young waiter who didn't speak English very well and who we constantly had to ask to bring us things ( such as napkins, dressing for salad and salt/pepper).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
“Small Place, Excellent Turkish Food, Great Service in English”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The restaurant patrons on the evening we visited were all tourists - Canada, Japan, Germany, and South Africa. It made for interesting conversation, which occurred between tables. The food was delicious and authentic, and the evening felt magical. I cannot promise that everyone's experience would be magical, but the food was Turkish and of excellent quality.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Disappointing, wine twice as expensive as other, better restaurants. Food was only acceptable.can get much better elsewhere. Don't wate your money here. Recommend Balicki fish restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed En La Luna Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to En La Luna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage En La Luna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.