We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Heart of Istanbul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nayla Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nayla Palace to your Saves list
Nayla Palace
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kutlugun Sok. No:22/A Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #633 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In The Heart of Istanbul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Firstly, for the money you pay to stay here, this hotel represents excellent value. The Nayla Palace is a short walk from the biggest and best tourist attractions in the old city and some really good restaurants. The only negative thing I can think of to say is that the rooms are on the small side, but they're comfortable and clean and we had a view of the Sea of Marmara so... The breakfast is ideal - hard boiled eggs, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers and black olives with bread, coffee and tea are available and all served up on the roof terrace overlooking the sea. when we were here (early June 2014) breakfast entertainment was a playful quartet of kittens who loved to duff each other up!!
The staff are brilliant and will help you in any way they can. Qadeer is the owner and a smashing bloke. He has good english and with his knowledge of the area and local businesses, you can't go wrong. He helped us book a couple of trips and also recommended a good turkish baths to visit.
One night I watched the England game with Hussein the night manager… al of the staff are such a lovely, big hearted, friendly bunch. I highly recommend the Nayla Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel can be an inexpensive base to explore Istanbul. We paid only $56/night (breakfast included). It was a basic Turkish breakfast (tea, bread, butter, jam. olives, hard boiled eggs, juice, cucumbers, tomatoes, and sometimes melon), but a great way to start the day. It was served on a rooftop with a great view of the Sea of Mamara.

We loved the location, no more than 3 minutes from the Hagia Sophia, near Sultanamet Square, and a 20 minute walk to Eminou where you can catch ferries and buy fish sandwiches from the rocking boats. But is still on a quiet dead-end street. Kadir, the owner, is a great source of information--great fun to talk to. He arranged for us to be picked up at the airport--and he set up other airport pick-ups (for our trip to Izmir)--it all worked like clockwork. His helper Hussein was also a prince--he was up at 3:00 to help us on the final shuttle to the airport, and to offer us tea.

The rooms and bathrooms are small, as others have mentioned, but clean. The rooms are not equally appealing. We stayed at one in the front of the hotel and one at the rear--I think the front ones are better as they give a view out to the sea. So it is isn't for everyone, but it was just what we needed.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a much better view--best from the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We travelled on 16.07.2013, and we had only 3 days, but wanted to see everywhere(all sightseeing of Istanbul ,we were in a worry how our hotel will be, is it far to the sightseeing of Istanbul or not? So with these questions in our mind we went to Nayla Palace.There we were met by the owner of this Hotel Kadir bey whom i'm very thankful. We were offered room by receptionist(who can freely manage both Russian and English).Our room was very clean,tidy and also we had hot and cold water all day,at nights there was no annoying noise outside. Food was very fresh, tasty.When the weather is fine you can have breakfast on the top roof terrace with a view of Bosphorus. Location of this hotel is fantastic,excellent .just 3 minutes walking to Sultanahmet (Blue)Mosque,German fountain,Hagia Sophia,5 minute walking to Topkapi,10 minute to Grand Bazaar (kapali charshi).if you wanna go to Bosphorus no need taxi etc, just 15 walking on foot will take you Gulhane park, to Misir charshisi and Bosphorus cruise,Eminonu where you can taste fresh fish with 3 liras. In one word I'm very very thankful to the owner of this hotel Kadir bey, he was very hospitable man with good English,we are planing to go Istanbul next year and to stay in Nayla Palace.Though it was our first travel to Istanbul with the help of Kadir bey we could arrange everything well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

In the first place, you have to realize that this was not built as a hotel - it was a private house, probably a pretty nice one. Therefore, some of the rooms are wonderful, some of the rooms a horrible, and everything in between. We were somewhere in between, but managed to sneak a peak at the nice rooms when the maids were cleaning. The nice rooms are small, but very pleasant, with balconies, plenty of storage, and nice baths. The bad rooms (really bad) face a dark courtyard, are depressing, small and crowded, and the bathroom is unacceptable - horrible. There are worse - basement rooms called "garden rooms". Looked like dungeons. We were given a bad room at first. When we freaked out, they discovered that there was a better room with a view, although very small. Small is an understatement. Bed + 18" of space around it. However, the view was admittedly wonderful, and in the end, we kind of enjoyed it. It felt like camping. The roof terrace is also a bit DIY, but again, beautiful view. The breakfast is so-so, but there was fresh watermelon. Order tea, because the coffe is instant.

Now the upside: the location is fantastic, and who spends a lot of time in their room in Istanbul. A 3 minute walk from Hagia Sophia. It is very cheap. The owner, Kadir, is super nice and helpful, and speaks very good English (6 years in North Carolina). He insisted that we cancel our airport shuttle, and paid for the transfer himself. Couldn't be nicer. Same with Hussein, the night manager. Hence, we are kind of torn: hit or miss hotel, but super nice people. If you could somehow get one of the nice rooms, you will love this place. If you get a horrible room, you will want to jump off the Bosporus bridge.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms facing the street, on the second floor. Avoid the "garden r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Dirty, terrible place. They gave us a room that was a corridor with 2 beds, with a kind of bathroom where you couldn' t stay sit on the toilet and close the door...we complained and they changed our room...the new room was underneath and not cleaned.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When I arrived in Sultanahmet I had no accommodation booked and was in search of a Hostel dorm, however as I passed Nayla Palace I was offered a private single room (no bathroom) for not much more than what the dorms down the road were asking. This hotel has the friendliest staff, is kept impeccably clean and at very affordable prices. There are a range of rooms available from singles to dorms and the hotel is extremely centrally located right in the heart of Sultanahmet.

Despite arriving at 7 am in the morning, I was allowed access to my room immediately and all amenities of the hotel, also, after check out, the staff were so helpful and kind that they allowed me to store my luggage for the day and even use the shower facilities prior to my flight that evening. I enjoyed my time in Nayla Palace so much that after travelling around Turkey, I came back here for my last night in Turkey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just came back from 5 days in Istanbul for NYE and we stayed at Nayla Palace.
Good points:
-location: really close Blue Mosque etc, like 200 mt from S.Sofia! And also close to a street full of nice places to eat and to the metro in Sultanahmet.
-owner: speaks good english, and is very kind and helpful, as we left our luggage the last day to have a half-day trip and then we collect them before leaving the city.
-breakfast in the price: not excellent, but simply tea,coffee, fresh bread and small jams,chocolate creams, cheese and butter, sometimes vegetables like olives and tomatoes.
-cleanliness: ok, rooms and the hotel are clean, and there is always hot water.
Bad Points
-rooms: we stayed three days in a room with a plus bed. This room was quite big, but the bathroom had no towel or toilet paper holder, and cables or tubes on view. And the window was half broken so we heard all the noises out during the night (cats meowing, muezzin prayers etc.)Then we moved to another, the owner didn't tell us why and honestly I don't think it's polite to move guests from their rooms. Anyway this room was smaller but more comfortable, yet the shower was too tiny.
-tea room: unfortunately it's a sort of patio so it' was quite cold having breakfast there.
So, it's a typical budget hotel. If you want to spend little money and you can adapt yourself to some problems, it's the right choice for you. If you have more money, then I suggest you to choose another one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayla Palace

Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:22/A Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nayla Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nayla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayla Palace Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayla Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.