We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best chain of shops in Istanbul for desserts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mado

Mado
186 Istiklal Caddesi, Istanbul Beyoğlu, Turkey
+90 212 244 17 81
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 277 Ice Cream in Istanbul
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“one of the best chain of shops in Istanbul for desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

i have visited Istanbul a few time in past 3 years, i love this dynamic and highly contrasting city. Mado is a great place to hang out and have your coffee and desserts. it might be on slightly expensive side compared to some other humble dessert retailers but i love the quality and ambiance of the place.
i have tried cheese cakes, ice cream, coffee, baklava and kunafe here, all of them tasted fabulous.
people seem to like the ice cream and pastries here a lot.
do give it a try if you around in the city and craving for some sweet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    121
    43
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Personally I loved the ice cream. Unfortunately not everyone with me had the same view. The ice cream made by goat milk totally melts in your mouth. And what's better is the amount of choices you have. They also had a huge share of baklava and other Turkisj delicacies. Unfortunately we weren't able to taste them. The ice cream overall was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a treat with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I loved Mark because they have really great ice cream, so many choices, interesting toppings and nice servers. I had a traditional pistachio covered ice cream with some nice cherry jam. My kids had chocolate and vanilla ice cream, they loved it. Mark is very clean and nice, can't wait to go back and try more stuff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Customer services stinks!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Mado located at No. 24 DivanYolu, Istanbul hosts a dozen young service staff mainly male who lack customer service. Beware. As a gay woman, I experienced not only poor service but homophobic behaviour at the above location. Personally, I would avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“one word: awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you crave ice cream, have it somewhere else, anywhere else. Dessert, breakfast, coffee, neither is worth paying for. Staff is too rude, they don't speak english. A friend enjoyed Mado's Turkish coffee but in Turkey good coffee is not that hard to find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mado also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.