We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Big Apple Hostel & Hotel to your Saves list
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 849 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The location was perfect. It was only a two min walk to the beautiful old city. The staff is friendly and informative making sure we got fair deals with taxis. The breakfast is delicious as well. All and all I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    45
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
34
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've been there from the 27/12/2013 till 04/01/2014. My friend Nadya has recommended it to me and it was just perfect!! Everybody was very helpful, friendly and smiling. I won't forget the good sandwiches that our nice and kind friend has prepared for us because we couldn't make it for the breakfast.. that was huge and tasty :-)
Will come back to the same hostel next time I'll be in Istanbul for sure ;-)
Thank you guys for this nice and unforgettable stay <3

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here while looking for longer term places to stay...the staff was great and the views from their rooftop were great. The staff was really helpful, gave us great advice on Istanbul, lugged beers up multiple flights of stairs for my husband even though they had other things to do, and were the most genuine and sincere people we met in Istanbul.

Our room was clean and well priced. The bathrooms were clean and all areas were well kept.

The staff prepared us a great and filling breakfast even though they were busy with repairs and renovations. Istanbul can get tiresome because beyond the history of it, it can be a tourist trap. Again, the price was right and the service was genuine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 days in a 6 bed dorms in Big Apple hostel, and liked every minute of it! Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and even though it was very cold in Istanbul, it was warm and cosy inside. Not to mention the great and generous FREE breakfast ont the scenic terrace, but most of all the kindness of all the staff members, Ilkaï and the others! Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here over the summer with a few fellow travelers. We had a bunk bed, a seperate full sized bed, as well as a private bathroom. The hotel has a great location within walking distance of several restaurants, shops, etc. It is located right by Tokapi palace and the Blue Mosque. The rooftop terrace is great for some quite time or to chat with fellow travelers. If you're looking for a good value, definitely consider the Big Apple!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the right place to stay in Istanbul, especially if you are first time in visit! Recepcionists are more than helpful, stuff also, little Sava? is making wonderful breakfast, Ilkay is great person, he will help you with everything you ask.. And it is near everything you need - Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Ayasofia, Kapali.. Everything. Can't wait to come back here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Staff was amazing, Redone (sorry if i spelled that wrong) walked us to a restaurant that had some awesome turkish food and hung out with us and played cards. The location couldn't be any better and the rooms are all kept very clean. Also the storage lockers under the beds are a brilliant idea that every hostel should have. Also the breakfast on the roof was a great way to start each day. Thank you for a very rememberable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 849 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.