We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Witt Istanbul Suites to your Saves list
Witt Istanbul Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We thought that this hotel was AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. Recommend it fully to anyone who wants to stay in central Istanbul. It is an easy walk (downhill) to the tram which within 5 minutes will take you to old Istanbul with the spice markets, bazaars, and mosques (note on the way back from the tram there is a steep hill to walk up although there are these types of hills a lot in Istanbul going from old town to new town). The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the new Istanbul where all the good bars and restuarants are too. The road the hotel is on is not the prettiest, however a short walk up it takes you to some really nice little cafes/bars.

The hotel itself is gorgeous - it has a real 'boutique' feel. Look forward to the lift in the hotel its cool. The rooms are really big and we think that the pictures on some of the travel websites don't do them justice. The huge bed is so luxorious, thre is an ipod system, TV with all channels, and the most amazing shower! Quite literally the best shower expereince ever (the molton brown shower gel and hand cream is a lovely touch!). The hotel upgraded us to the penthouse suite for our final night there as it was our honeymoon, which was very sweet. The penthouse is unbelievable - just the view. Floor to ceiling windows along two walls and a wrap around balcony make it a very special place to watch the sun set over Istanbul. Apart from the balcony, which makes the penthouse well worth staying in, we thought our suite was probably a nicer room and interestingly the shower in the penthouse suite wasn't a patch on the one in our suite.

Finally, the staff at Witt Istanbul Suites are amazing - really sweet, helpful and friendly. Aykut and Onur offered us lots of advice on where to go, were really friendly and chatty but also really professional. We look forwrd to staying here again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    94
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
92
530
33
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at the Witt Hotel in early June and it was great. The location was beautiful, we had a view of the Bosphorus, the service was impeccable and the place is very nicely designed. Very stylish with interesting and great touches such as the painting at the back of the elevator. Their breakfast was delicious.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I stayed at the Witt for 4 nights as part of my honeymoon and this is hands down the BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT in my entire life. From the location to the decor to the staff to the service, the showers, the breakfast... everything was incredible.

After seeing its website I had been highly anticipating our stay - usually such high expectations aren't good but the Witt actually exceeded our expectations. I will definitely be back if I'm in Istanbul again.

The only negative thing I would have to say, is that it's on a very steep road if you're coming from Tophane tram station. It's about a 2 minute walk up. If you don't want to hack it, do what we did and hail a cab for 2.5 lira from the bottom of the road :P

I'm not posting any of my own pictures because the ones on their website are what the rooms really look like. http://www.wittistanbul.com

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Witt Istanbul Suites is very well hidden, tucked away in a sidestreet, between Taksim Square and the Galata Bridge which leads you to the tourist spots. We arrived in Taksim late in the evening in a thunderstorm (yes it does rain sometimes!), and got lost trying to find the Witt. We did eventually find it, thanks to 2 friendly police officers, who took pity on our bedraggled appearance, and gave us a lift.

The apartments are on 6 floors (get the top floor if possible for a view over the Bosphorus), and we were on the 4th. It was open and spacious, and had a small balcony, which if you opened the double doors, gave an excellent view over the city. There is no cooking facilities, just a microwave, fridge, and sink, with an assortment of cutlery & crockery. The bathroom was roomy, and the shower had 2 settings (single head standard, and multi-head on the ceiling).

Breakfast was from 7.00 - 11.00, so plenty of time to get over the 2 hour difference, and was buffet style, with a turkish slant - very nice.

Top tip is to get the Bosphorus ferry, which takes you from west to east and back several times, travelling the length of the Bosphorus, and ending just at the mouth of the Black Sea, on the east side. The ferry waits there 2 hours, giving you time to walk around, or eat (not enough time for both), and then retraces it's steps. All for 25 Lira (about £11). Otherwise, if you get the "Bosphorus Cruise" for 10 Lira, it only takes you 1/3 of the way up, and doesn't stop - avoid it at all costs.

We visited Topkapi Palace (visiting the Harem is a must), and the Blue Mosque (which is free). Don't take the open top bus tour, as the commentary is poor, and the experience is not good value for money.

Evenings walking along the pedestrianised Istiklal Caddesi were great, with so many sidestreets off, containing bars & restaurants. We were spoiled for choice.

Altogether an excellent visit, and we would certainly stay at the Witt, should we find ourselves in Istanbul again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We had a seaview room which was a little short on seaviews but you could get a good glimpse of the Bosphorous and the Galata Tower. The room was spacious, stylish and well equipped. An additional bed was placed in the room for our 5 year old daughter and there was still plenty of room. The kitchenette was a bonus for preparing some simple snacks. The hotel is well located for exploring the Beyogulu area. Nearby attractions include Istanbul Modern (art museum) and the Dolmache Palace. A tram stop is a short walk down a steep hill and two stops from the action on the other side of the Galata Bridge. The young staff were very friendly and helpful (thanks Onur). The breakfast spread was first class although I question why cappucino and orange juice is additional and pricey (they are included every else we stayed). A great alternative to staying in the very touristy Sultanahmet. The room was very quiet except for the call to prayer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The hotel is very well designed, the rooms are big and beautiful especially the bathrooms. Fantastic view over Istanbul and the Bosphorus.
The personal is very nice and helpfull.
Good breakfast buffet.
Location in the middle of the city

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We had 4 nights at the Witt and stayed again for a night when we returned to Istanbul. Aykut and Jan, in particular, were very friendly and helpful and contributed to a memorable stay in Istanbul. The beds are fantastic and the rooms stylish and comfortable. Location was great for sightseeing and nightlife. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witt Istanbul Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.