We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Witt Istanbul Suites to your Saves list
Witt Istanbul Suites
Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best hotel I ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Simply put, this is the best hotel I ever stayed in.

Some of the things I really liked:
- SERVICE. The staff had great recommendations for the rest of our trip (cop sis in Selcuk and the boat tour in Fethiye)
- ROOM. The room did not looked like an hotel room, more like an ultra design mini apartment. Great attention to details all around. The ipod speaker is a great addition.
- BATHROOM. The ceiling multi jets shower was awesome although it makes it harder if you don't want to wet your hair :) The biggest towels I ever seen!
- BREAKFAST. Compared to other reviews, I found the breakfast to be exquisite. Hands down, the best olives I tasted in Turkey. Products are fresh and refined. Brewed coffee is free but you need to pay for expresso, cappucino (those little capsule) & fresh orange juice. BTW, it is clearly written on a board in the breakfast area
- LOCATION. The Beyoglu area is much better at night (eating and drinking) than in Sultanahmet. Located in a quiet spot close to everything. Convenient tram station - 5 minutes walk.

Unfortunately, we didn't stay there when we got back to Istanbul, cause it's fairly expensive but totally worth it if you want to splurge.

Quick tips:
- make sure you get the direction (in Turkish) from the hotel for your taxi cab from the airport, ours got lost...
- the restaurant & bars they recommend in Istanbul is pretty much all the high end stuff... so be careful if you're on a tight budget.
- ask for a wake up call on your first night if you're coming from north america... with the nice bed & jet lag... we totally missed breakfast on our first morning (something you don't want to do!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncel, General Manager at Witt Istanbul Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Hi,
Thank you for the very detailed review and it is amazing how internet has allowed the hoteliers to get feedback for free :)
After a couple of complaints about the orange juice not being free, we are offering them free now ( but just one glass is free ). We have even made some changes to the breakfast also and we are not receiving any negative comments about the breakfast since. Greatness of the new way of hospitality: feedback to Tripadvisor, and the hotelier improves on negatives. Thank you...
Tuncel TOPRAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    90
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
90
506
33
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We just had a chance to spend a night in the Witt and wish we could have stayed longer! Wow! It absolutely lived up to all of the positive reviews it's already received. Our room (a city view suite) was amazing... beautiful kitchen area, balcony, living area, and amazingly comfortable bed. We felt immediately as though we'd walked into a gorgeous apartment. Not to mention the bathroom and it's shower - the best I have EVER come across in a hotel! The staff was top of the line and incredibly helpful in arranging our transportation to and from the hotel as well as directing us towards where to go for a late night dinner in Istanbul once we'd arrived. The location itself was great but would definitely recommend getting a taxi/pickup when you arrive with your luggage - the hill would be a little intense otherwise. We were so happy with this hotel and so happy we chose it. We definitely hope to return one day and would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Istanbul!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Pulling up to this hotel through all the hubbub and nonsense of Taksim Square, the sort of in-the-process of gentrifying look of the immediate area and the decent but not overly impressive look of the outside of the Witt, I was feeling a little doubtful of my hotel choice. But I knew that it is a very, very rare occasion when Tripadvisor is really wrong about some place. Once inside, the hotel was cozy and cute with extremely warm and friendly staff that seemed delighted to see us. But the kicker was getting inside our room which was simply glorious in its architecture and design, with all the windows and light and view of the city and the Bosphorous. Really fantastic. You really can't beat it for a very modern and open mix of comfort and glitz. Now I see what all the fuss is about.
Add to that the breakfast the next morning which was lovely and the staff who are always right on hand to help with any and everything and make recommendations and you are set.
We saw two different couples come in who were returning guests greeted by name with hearty handshakes who just seemed thrilled to be back at the hotel again. Count us among those for our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We just returned yesterday from the Witt and can't wait to go back next year. I am an Architect and really appreciated our beautifully designed suite with all of its thought-out touches. The rooms are large with chic kitchenettes and a comfortable seating area. The beds and soft duvets are heavenly. The windows cut out all street noise and I didn't notice anynoise from other rooms. I had been looking all over town for Cornucopia magazine, but only found it here with our well-edited coffee table magazines. My only suggestion would be for adding lighted make-up mirrors in the bathrooms, as the overhead light makes it difficult to see well in there. Lighting is great in other areas. Otherwise, I found the hotel to be absolutely perfect. It is not a fancy Palace-type hotel and not so self-consciously cool that you feel intimidated (we had stayed at the W Istanbul earlier).
We loved the location. The trams are particularly simple to navigate--even from the airport. Just make sure that you take a taxi up that hill with your luggage. It's not too far, but those few blocks are tough with rolling luggage. Otherwise, we found the Witt to be an easy walk from restaurants and sights (w/ the old city reachable by tram). There's a great non-touristy cafe 5-6 blocks up Defterdar Yokusa on your left, and we loved the rooftop restaurant, 5 Kat, a few blocks away. This neighborhood feels like the Village or Soho in NYC.
I just wanted to thank the staff at the Witt. They were friendly and caring. Hasan, particularly, made us feel well taken care of by bringing us coffee before our early morning check-out and by responding to my e-mails with such warmth. Also, the reception desk fellow on Monday night was a fount of information and help. Sorry, I forget his name.
This hotel deserves its kudos! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley, ca.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We spent the last four days of our Turkey vacation in this boutique property in Cihanger after reading all the recent glowing reviews in US travel magazines. They did not prepare us for how stunning this suite hotel is. Every room detail is spectacular, even better than their website photos. We were in sea view suite 52, with panoramic views over the Bosphorus and the sights of the historic district. It was stunning. This is from someone who has had sea view rooms on the Riviera and in Positano. The location is very good for experiencing the real Istanbul, but not as great for seeing the sights in Sultanahmet. We found the front desk staff, Murat, Aykut, and Onur to be very helpful and thoughtful. We thought the amenities to be world class, e.g., Molton Brown, and the breakfast spread to be very good. There were a few minor services glitches, not unreasonable for a new hotel. Overall, you will look long and hard to find a property like this in a major tourist location for under $250 anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We've been to Istanbul for the F1 Grand Prix and we had a wonderfull time there thanks to this hotel and mostly the staff that makes you feel tha you are into the best travel agency and takes care for everything as if you were their best friend. You don't have to worry about anything because the guys there will recommend you the best places to go, will make the right suggestions, reservations at the right times in places you won't fing in any traveller guide or site. You will never feel as tourist and you will find people who concern about you as they were your best friend smilling and ready to fix anything for you.
The suites are fantastic with great interior - design, fantastic lighting - design and you feel like you have already rent a loft in New York that is fully equiped with anything you need. It is even equiped with espresso machine and i-pod loud speakers !!! The whole building has a lounge atmosphere with the appropriate music and you think that everything is set to right place.
It is also located in a neighbourhood that is has a classy feeling and you feel the culture differences to many other places in the town and you will never feel as you were in a touristic area. It is close to many nice European style restaurants - bar - cafe - bistrots and by a short walking you can be in the heart of modern Istanbul.
The only thing I would make some changes is the breakfast that seems some kind of "poor" and I also did not like the fact you could eat anything at breakfast but you had to pay for the orange juice. I can tell you for sure tha this makes a black spot in a perfect environment. I know that they will fix this because I'm sure the guys are perfectionists!!
Once again I have to thank and congratulate all the staff that made us feel between friends and with their care and their recommendations made our trip one of the best we had. I hope you'll create Wiit suites in other European cities also under the same philosophy and when you do please let me know immediatelly!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncel, General Manager at Witt Istanbul Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Hi,
Thank you for your nice comments. I would like to tell you we have made the first glass of fresh orange juice free since August 2009. That was a major complain and I can understand why now , but it was tempting to charge for it to be honest :)
Best regards
Tuncel TOPRAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Wow! What a great place. Everything was spot on from the service to the wonderful suite. Even the location is great. Yes, it’s about a 30 minute walk to the “sights” of Istanbul but, the area around Witt Istanbul is buzzing. There are bars and restaurants galore and also the main shopping area in Istanbul, including some wonderful antique shops. Also, the walk to see the traditional sights over the Galata Bridge gives you a chance to see another side to Istanbul - and you can always catch the tram.

Our suite didn’t technically have a view but, if you hung out of the small Juliette balcony you could see the Bosphorus which was enough of a view for us. The decor of the suite was so contemporary and there was so much room with a huge bed, sitting area and a gorgeous bathroom with amazing shower. You really couldn’t ask for anything more. On our first night they even ordered pizza for us to eat in our room. The breakfast buffet each morning was really delicious and served by friendly staff. On one night we ate at Changa just down the road which was wonderful whilst the views from Leb-i-Derya at the Richmond Hotel where we had drinks are just stunning. The hotel sorted out a trip to the Aga hamman for me and my husband. Being a prudish Brit amongst a room of me (as well as male masseuses) it was certainly an experience. I was very kindly taken to a separate room for my massage but, do expect to expose yourself to the masseuse! Well, whilst in Turkey!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witt Istanbul Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.