We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully Turkish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Witt Istanbul Suites to your Saves list
Witt Istanbul Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Delightfully Turkish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I book my hotels based on several factors. Two of the most important of which are design and architecture. A hotel for me is where I go to get inspiration, ideas and most importantly where I can feel right at home. When I'm visiting a new place, having a hotel that fits into its setting and offers you such a unique perspective of the locals is an absolute must. It paints a picture of a cityscape that is varied, diverse and like an artist's canvas, is open to all kinds of interpretation from the beholder.

Witt has really combined all my hotel preferences into one lovely incredible package. The location is ideal, right in Cihangir, one of the trendiest inner Istanbul neighborhoods, a mere stone throw away from the major thoroughfare that is Istalal Caddessi and a short walk away from Taksim Square. The area is also home to several art galleries, an array of vintage and second hand shops, a myriad of trendy coffee houses and an abundance of cats!

The hotel is has been beautifully designed and envisioned by Autoban (those who read Wallpaper* will know them well). The building itself does have some further creative history, it was the Turkish headquarters of the global advertising firm Ogilvy and Mather. So if you were ever looking for a concentration of everything creative, conceptual and at the same time warm and elegant, you really can look no further!

Situated on a steep hill, expect to break a sweat or two going and coming, but that's what Istanbul is like, all about lovely hills and open water fronts.

In the morning take a stroll down to the Kabatas or Eminönü and the lovely boat dock station to see local fisherman scurrying to grab their day's produce. Some will then sell it to you in a sandwich called Balik Ekmek. Tastes like the Bosphorus!

As the day progresses walk to the old city, the spice market, the grand bazaar and the Yeni Camii. On your way back, take a slight detour and head towards the lovely Galata Tower, one of the remnants of the Genoese presence in Constantinople. As it approaches afternoon, take some time to shop in the vintage and creative shops around before you take on the area's vibrant nightlife culture. Cafes, restaurants, clubs and pubs - you are sure to find some evening entertainment that will make you fall in love with Istanbul even some more!

Breakfasts at Witt are incredible. You can have them taken up to your room for more comfort. As you can see from the pic, I took advantage of that! :)

Room is super spacious, bigger than many of the studio apartments I've lived in before! Lovely kitchen area with a microwave and nespresso machine. You also get daily treats like cupcakes!

I would highly recommend staying in one of the king panoramic rooms, an absolutely delightful experience. You will feel right in the heart of Istanbul as you wake up with the city and get to see an incredible sunset as the city lights up at night time, absolutely beautiful.

Istanbul is an incredible place, a sensory mayhem. West meets east, old meets new. Somehow, just somehow, Witt manages to let you live all of that simultaneously as you experience this great city. Not bad. I'll be coming back again!

Room Tip: Suite 52 - An absolute must. It gives you a proper panoramic view of the Golden Horn and the old cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    94
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
92
531
33
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Volkan, Anil, Ali, Volkan and the staff at the hotel did everything in their power to make our stay as pleasant as possible, including recommendations for music spots, restaurants, sites to see and reputable shops. The room was kept clean and the staff was unobtrusive unless you needed them. We found the breakfasts to be outstanding. The bed was comfortable, the room cool and the city noise well within expectations. We would like to visit Istanbul and the Witt again, hopefully for a longer stay.

Room Tip: 4th through 6th floors on the south side have great views of the Bosphorus & Golden Horn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I found the staff incredibly polite and very friendly - it was lovely to be welcomed back by name each evening, even by people I'd not met before! Nicely furnished with stylish pieces and wonderful decor, excellent quality linens and all very well maintained. The team seem to take real pride in the hotel. The welcome drink was a nice touch.
There were two things I think could be improved - there were no robes in the bathroom, which seemed a strange oversight given the attention to detail elsewhere and the selection of TV channels was rather limited. Small things, I know, but I was on a hectic 3 day business trip and my idea of relaxation after working late was to 'veg out' in the evenings in the lovely room.
The hotel is very careful to give guests directions to the hotel on a card which you can give to taxi drivers - but one driver got annoyed because the address on the card and the print out from the hotel's website, which I also offered him, were different. It didn't seem to stop him getting us home!
I would certainly recommend this hotel - great service,lovely room, interesting locality, charming team.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome on arrival, excellent rooms and the best hotel shower on the planet!
From the airport transfer to the end of our stay all was excellent. Staff go out of their way to ensure you are happy and have all information needed. Their restaurant recommendations were all excellent.
Recommended highly if you want to stay in this part of Istanbul.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This review is a little while in coming, as we stayed here in January 2013. This hotel was an amazing place to finish our time in Turkey, and is hands down the best place we stayed at. Gorgeous room, amazing bathroom, comfortable bed and a decent breakfast. The staff were friendly and helped out with any requests. We definitely hope to be back! Fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a fantastic trip to Istanbul for New Year's Eve. We stayed at the Witt hotel and were able to enjoy both the Panoramic Terrace Room (61) and the Penthouse (62). Both rooms were modern, hip and very comfortable and both offer an amazing view of the Old Town and the Bosphorus. The hotel is a small, boutique hotel and you really get the feeling that the staff are looking after your. A lavish breakfast is included and having it brought to your room each day is complimentary (not common at many places). What could be better than to enjoy Turkish tea and breakfast on your terrace, overlooking the Blue Mosque. The staff are also extremely helpful and knowledgeable and it is so lovely that they remember you and ask if you enjoyed your outing the previous day. We are avid travelers and are quite comfortable looking after ourselves, however if you would prefer more assistance and tour arrangements the Witt would happily look after this for you. Overall, the hotel is a modern boutique hotel that you might find in Soho, with warm and welcoming staff that is such a signature of Istanbul. Please stay here and know that the upgrade to a terrace room is absolutely worth your money!!

Room Tip: The Panoramic Terrace Suite and the Penthouse have exceptional views and large, private outdoor spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had read the good reviews and must say it exceeded our expectations. Staff were very friendly and amazingly helpful. Nothing was too much. We had room 61 - it was at the top of the building and had a balcony and floor to ceiling windows on two sides of the room. The views were stunning! You can see the Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Galata Tower and the Bosphorus and Golden horn. The views alone were worth the price of the room however the room itself was amazing! A giant bed that could easily have fitted five, a sofa with a flat screen tv, a Nespresso machine, fridge and a seriously funky bathroom! Breakfast was provided - you could take it downstairs or in your own room for no extra charge. Breakfast was tasty cereals, pancakes, breads, meats, cheeses, omelettes, eggs, juices etc.
Location of the hotel was ideal. 15 minutes on the tram to Sultanahmet, 10 min walk to the Bosporus bridge, Galata tower was within easy reach!
Only thing I would say is that it is up quite a steep hill so you will either need to be fairly fit or willing to take taxis.
The local area has some wonderful restaurants and it's only a 10min walk to Taksim Square and shopping district.
Overall we had a fabulous time and would recommend anyone to go!

Room Tip: Room 61 though any of the higher rooms that face towards sultanahmet would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#23 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witt Istanbul Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.