We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Witt Istanbul Suites to your Saves list
Witt Istanbul Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (Beyoglu)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,022 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was an incredible boutique hotel in the heart of a fabulous district surrounded by wonderful antique shops. The hotel rooms are fabulously appointed, roomy, with ability to do some snacking in the room. Fully stocked with dishes, silverware, coffee machine, microwave. The design of the room was perfect with the bed, sofa and chair, tv and kitchen area all clearly separated yet with an open feeling. A glass brick column serves as a room divider which adds some real "pizzazz"! Could not recommend this hotel more. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast is perfect for starting your day exploring the wonders of Istanbul.
Tepersis

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    99
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
99
556
33
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Witt for five days in late October. It didn't hurt that the weather was warm and sunny. A friend had recommended this hotel and she was spot-on. The rooms are contemporarily decorated with five star finishes. There is a lovely modern kitchenette stocked with lovely goodies and beverages. The bedding and towels are the best of Turkish linens. The bathroom is sleek with marble and stainless fixtures. But what makes this boutique hotel so special is the service. From a one person concierge desk they generate first-rate service with style and a smile. We especially liked working with Wulcan who knew just where to send us. Another highlight was the included breakfasts which were served buffet style but for the eggs which you can custom order. We recommend the mushroom omlette. There are homemade jams, breads, cheeses, fresh fruit, espresso and juice. All very comfortable served in the first floor lobby. The traveler demographic were mostly couples and small families. The only downside was the lack of a fitness center...but there is an adequate overpriced one just up the street.

In conclusion, we would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to trying the other destinations in the Design Group portfolio.


Warmly,
Elizabeth & Brad

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which I would recommend as the elevator can get busy...so you can take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in Witt hotel about 10 days ago for 5 days, our room # was 61, this room has the most amazing view that you can imagine. It has a rap around trace. When I walked in to the room I was speechless. The room itself is so beautifully designed and the view is breath taking. The hotel is located in a residential area but very close to many restaurant and Taksim Squar. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. We travel a lot and we always stay in boutique hotels , I can say that this hotel is in my top 3. I highly recommend this Hotel. If I ever go back to Istanbul I would only stay in this Hotel (#61).

Room Tip: 6th floor room 61
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A three day stay of which the last two were on the fifth floor with a spectacular view of the Bosporus , Agia Sofia church and the surrounding mosques.
A very well designed hotel in the true spirit of "boutique" with spacious rooms with very friendly and helpful personnel.Very good breakfast included in the rate.Not on the cheap side for this city but worth the money.
Thank you Ali and all the others for your helpful guidance and service.
Stayed October 26-28.

Room Tip: Pay a little more more and get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Conveniently located in the offbeat Cihangir district, Witt Hotel is small and tastefully modern. Rooms are spacious and bright, street quiet. We had sweeping views from one of the French windows. Staff is friendly and efficient, breakfast is seasonal, fresh local fruits, yoghurts, different breads, cheeses, home-made jams and fresh juices - all served on beautiful plates made by a young Turkish designer. A helpful waiter will make you Turkish tea or coffee. Enjoy it all while taking in the view of Galata tower, which is mere 10 minutes` walk away. Orhan Pamuk`s Museum of Innocence is close by, a short, pleasant walk away along curvy streets of this formerly Greek quarter, dotted with cafes, antique shops, shops selling vintage costume jewellery , shops selling pickles in giant jars, a non-descript " hole in the wall" selling everything from old amber to new tea-pots, old men selling rusty old kettles, cats sleeping under tables of street cafes - in short, an area to fall in love with. Istanbul Modern - museum of modern art- is an easy walk away at the Bosporus as are some stylish modern restaurants in newly gentrified streets. A good choice for a traveller discovering a vibrant city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Witt Hotel for 3 nights and were absolutely happy with our choice. Tastefully furnished, well equipped and very spacious, clean rooms (including kitchenette), great selection and good quality breakfast, nice and helpful staff. The location is a bit off the beaten path but very quiet, about a brisk 40 min. walk to the Hagia Sophia or 15 minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment areas around Istiklal Cd. (a tram stop is only a 5 min. walk away). The only thing I desperately missed was a good quality hair dryer (the generic wall-mounted appliance on which you have to hold down a button constantly and a choice of either too hot or too cold air is provided).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Witt Istanbul for a week on our first ever trip to Istanbul recently. We booked fairly last minute (about 3 or 4 days in advance) and our primary reason for choosing this hotel at the time was because of the great views from the top of the hill location raved about in previous reviews. I emailed them and they said they had only two types of rooms available - The Grand Queen panoramic with terrace for the first 4 nights and the Grand King Panoramic for the last 3 nights. I explained that I had my heart set on a bosphorus view and when I spoke to them on the phone they said that both rooms had a sea view, but that the sea view was direct from the King room and for the queen room you would have to go out onto the terrace to see it. To be fair, when I later emailed them to confirm they wrote back clarifying that their best seaview rooms were already booked and the Queen room would have mostly a city view whereas the king would have somewhat of a seaview. Seeing all the great reviews and given the price tag of 300 Euros per night, I thought it was bound to be a great experience so I agreed.

(I should also mention here that they had a special offer of stay 7 nights and get one night free on their website which they neglected to mention to us when we booked with them until my husband emailed them and pointed it out, at which point they said it was an oversight because we were staying in two different rooms instead of in 1 room for the entire stay but as far as I am aware they did honour the offer).

ROOMS:

The Queen Panoramic room:
When we got there, the Queen Panoramic was on the 6th floor (room 63 I think) so luckily it had a very decent city view but it hardly had a sea view at all - one corner of sea visible if you look all the way left. The terrace is very nice but be warned that the queen panoramic bedroom is really quite small for a 300Euro room. Not really large enough to accomodate a kitchenette - just a standard coffee machine and some knick knacks. And it did bother me that the tv was on one side facing two chairs instead of facing the bed (particularly as there was ample blank space wall opposite the bed to accomodate it). Bit of a strange design choice. Bathroom is also small, but the Molten Brown amenities were a nice touch and so was the rain shower. The two little cakes left every day or so were also a nice touch and so was the option to have breakfast brought to you on the terrace.

Tip: If you do get the queen panoramic room with terrace, definitely get the one on the 6th floor as any lower than 5th floor and you will get no view at all and will instead stare into someone else's apartment building.

The King Panoramic Room:
This was on the 4th floor (Room 42 I think) but thankfully, views were still nice for the most part as most of it was not blocked by apartments next door (only part of one window was). Ours had some lovely city views and a partial sea view. The best part about this room was that it is MUCH larger than the Queen panoramic and after those cramped quarters for 4 days, it was kind of a relief to have some space to stretch out. I didn't mind the lack of terrace as the views and size of the room made up for it.

LOCATION:
Great location, loved Beyoglu, very hippy, artsy, cafe culture kind of area, lots of locals and little hills to climb up and down. But be aware, it is a steep walk uphill to the Hotel from Tophane tram stop. I followed a previous reviewer's advice to get off at the tram stop and then flag down a taxi going in the direction of the hotel to avoid the walk uphill (Cost me about 2 dollars or 4 lira each time). You end up walking about 5-6 hours a day in Istanbul anyway, so it's really nice to be able to avoid the steep walk up at the end of the night. Also, while it is within walking distance of Istiklal caddessi and Taksim square, it's about a 15-20min walk uphill to get there).

SERVICE:
Staff were polite and reasonably helpful but I found some to be more warm and welcoming than others. They didn't stand out for me. Breakfast was nice, but I agree with other reviewers that after about 4 days you might get a little bored. It would be nice for instance if they could expand on their basic eggs menu a bit - maybe include a speciality option everyday like hollandaise or eggs benedict instead of just fried, scrambled etc. Also, nobody informs you that there is an eggs menu available beyond the bread and cereal and salad display etc. I only found out because I asked - and everyday you have to ask them for the menu to order eggs or they won't give it to you. You could stay there the entire time and not even know they are an option unless you inquire, which is strange. They should make a practice of informing guests at breakfast or leaving a menu on the breakfast tables as otherwise there is no way to know. I also think it would be nice if they had a yellow cheese option other than the white sheep cheese (?) and goats cheese everyday.

All in all, did I like it? Well yes, it's a nice little place, but not the amazing boutique experience I expected. Would I stay there again for 300Euros a night - only if I got the best room in the house - seaview on 6th floor, otherwise not. None of the other rooms for me or the hotel overall, felt like a 300Euro a night hotel. For that price you could stay at many of the other nice 5* chain hotels in Istanbul.


Room tip: Only agree to pay this price if they are going to give you rooms with the best views on the 6th floor or fifth floor. I saw into the other 6th floor rooms when they were cleaning and Room 61 has the best seaview in the hotel. Rooms 62 (and most likely 52 directly under it) is also very nice. These are the corner rooms and they are nice and spacious. We stayed in room 42 - also nice but higher floors probably better view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor or fifth floor have better views or you might risk partially looking into oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,022 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,022 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,583 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#7 of 1,022 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Millennium Suites
Millennium Suites
#3 of 1,022 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Splendia so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witt Istanbul Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.