We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Save Saved
You added Witt Istanbul Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 900 hotels in Istanbul
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

With so many great reviews of Witt Istanbul Suites, I don't want to repeat all the things that have already been said. All of them a true - the rooms are beautiful and spacious, the service is great and the staff are really good at giving advice about restaurants and bars in the area, the breakfast is above average. Actually, the only bad thing I can say about this hotel is the size of the bathrooms - ridiculously small, you'd think a hotel where all the rooms are "suites" would have decent sized bathrooms, but that is not the case. They're tiny. The rain shower is great though.

Many reviewers have mentioned that the hotel is located on a steep hill, but I didn't realize how steep untill I got there. Deffinetly not a good choice for people with mobility difficulties. Of course, it's possible to avoid the up-hill climb if you walk down the hill to the tram station when leaving the hotel, and walk from Taksim square on your way back to the hotel. Other than that, the Witt is in a great location, although I'm not sure I'd recommend it for a first trip to Istanbul. I've been to Istanbul many times and I wanted to stay in Cihangir as it's a really "authentic" neighborhood (there are actually more locals than tourists in the restaurants and bars - something you won't find in a lot of the touristy parts of the city), but I do think that for a first visit staying in the Old city would be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    660
    82
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
464
30
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was wondering why the hotel was called 'Suites' - until I got into my room. Huge. Gorgeous. I wanted to stay here all day. Real Molton Brown toiletries, massive room with kitchenette that doesn't look used, the ubiquitous Nespresso machine, super comfy bed, lovely bathroom and great decor. My only complaint about the room is the desk chair is just a stool, which is terrible if you need to use the desk to work at for more than 10 mins. Breakfast downstairs is really good and the whole place just reeks of taste. Even the bookcase in the lobby is filled with terribly cool books. Service was great, location right in the heart of the city near the Bosphorus is fab. Listen to all the great reviews - they're right.

Room Tip: They're all gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recommended by our travel agent, we could not have been happier with the Witt. Well located in lively Çihangir, with views over the Bosphorus and surrounded by hilly streets full of great cafes. Fantastic rooms, great breakfast, but the best aspect is the service. The staff here are knowledgeable, friendly and gave us really excellent tips on where to eat; the relatively small size of the Witt allows for a more personal feel than the service in bigger places. While not inexpensive, the quality of the experience represents real value for money. One of the best hotel experiences I've had anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights after three nights in the Old City. The hotel is absolutely perfect. Just 17 rooms and ours was the size of a small apartment. Perfect details in the room, there was a kitchenette, a sitting area with a TV, great firm bed and a huge bathroom. The staff is helpful and friendly and the breakfast is just right.

I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just spent 5 nights at this fantastic place, one inadvertently after a late transfer caused us to miss a connecting flight. So, the up side of this situation was being able to go 'home' for one more evening...such helpful staff, they are a real credit to this hotel! Lovely, well appointed and clean rooms (with welcoming pastries), free wifi, excellent location (close to public transport which was our chosen method for getting around, it was so easy-although the walk up the hill is a killer!). Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great hotel . The hotel is well centered between Istanbuls different arreas close to the tram to take you to the old city , walking distance to Taksim sq . Great service from the staff , the rooms are large 45 sqm with design furniture a homey feeling with the mix of wooden floors and the marble kitchenet , the bathroom has inventive showerheads and the shape of the toilet is like a little spaceship. Breakfast is simple and nice .

Room Tip: The corner rooms on the higher levels has a fantastic view over the city and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Witt for 5 nights and had a terrific overall experience.

The location is excellent. Cihangir is a quiet neighborhood in Beyoğlu with lots of cafes and residential buildings so you feel like more of a local than a tourist. It's only a 10 minute walk to Istiklal Cd. (shopping, bars, clubs, restaurants) and Taksim Square. There were a few sporadic protests still going on in Taksim but our location was ideal -- close enough to walk over to Taksim to eat and shop but far removed enough to not be bothered when we went 'home'. It's also a 5 minute walk from the Tophane tram station and a 15 minute walk from the Istanbul Modern museum. Taxis are easy to find everywhere. As others have noted, the hotel is located on a fairly steep hill that is a tough walk after a long day, but it's nothing that would stop us from staying here again -- and a good way to work off all that baklava!

The hotel is very modern and impeccably designed. Our room was spacious, very clean and extremely well appointed. The view of the Bosphorus and city from our private terrace was stunning. We had breakfast brought to the room every morning, which was very convenient. That said, the food was average and there were a few mix-ups with our order a few times during our stay. Also note that some standard hotel amenities do not exist (pool, restaurant, gym) and the 'hotel' is more of a high-end serviced apartment -- which is still great and gives it a home-away-from-home feel.

The service at the Witt was generally good, there were a few missteps which prevented it from being a truly excellent experience. While the hotel does have a concierge, we received little helpful information on restaurants and the front desk was sometimes empty during the day. When it was staffed, we had difficulty getting recommendations as some of the staff spoke little English. During check out, the front desk staff refused a 50 EUR note because it had a small tear in it (we used it at the airport with no problem).

Nevertheless, we greatly enjoyed our experience at the Witt and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor with panoramic Bosphorus river views are amazing. The private terrace and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#18 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witt Istanbul Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.