We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel in a great area with very helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Save Saved
You added Witt Istanbul Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Splendia.com
and 4 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 886 hotels in Istanbul
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Fabulous boutique hotel in a great area with very helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my first trip to Istanbul and what a great place to stay! The staff made the trip just perfect! Everything we needed the staff provided! Wonderful breakfast, they made all of our dinner reservations, and they were always willing to point us in the right direction on anything we needed! Our room was a good size with great views of the river! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a nice sized corner room with views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    79
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
445
28
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Last time we stayed in the Sultanahmet area but this time we wanted to be closer to the restaurants and bars on the European side. The Witt is part of Design Hotels which are very good. We had the corner penthouse suite, #61, which is a large and bright room with wall to wall and floor to ceiling sliding glass doors that open wide to a large wraparound balcony. The views are incredible looking over the Bosphorus to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Aja Sophia, ferries pass by constantly and the Galata Tower are very close by. It is a fifteen minute walk to Taksim Square and the pedestrian street with the side streets of restaurants and bars is about twenty minutes walk. There is a large glass enclosed shower stall, the bed is very comfortable and bedding of high quality. Breakfast is very good and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the Witt and will stay here next time we are in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite 61 is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Looks like a great hotel from the lobby/library and bar area. My husband and I were walking through the neighbourhood and were *mildly* lost/exhausted after the steep climb up the road. We stopped in to get a better map and some directions; the young gentleman at the reception desk was extremely gracious, offered us water, some helpful insight on the area, and great directions. If we ever make it back to Istanbul and can afford to, we'd stay here. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

All the many superlative reviews are entirely justified. This is, quite simply, a wonderful hotel in every way. My wife and I stayed for eight days, long enough to discover any flaws, but there were none. I would especially praise the staff, all of whom were consistently helpful and friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was both very stylish and very comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast (included) was delicious. The manager told us our room would not have a view, so we were surprised when we ended up with a lovely view of the Bosphorus and Sultanhamet. The location of the hotel is great - it's a very short walk to the Tophane tram station. Walking around the neighborhood is tricky because it is so hilly, but we found the neighborhood to be very hip. My one caution is that the hotel is up a very steep hill, so if you are not fit for a lot of steep climbing, I would say find something closer to the water.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is awesome. If I ever go back to Istanbul, this is the only place im staying! I really enjoyed our stay here. Firstly its in a quiet street which means you can get a peaceful nights sleep. Secondly the staff were all so friendly and professional. Their recommendations on local sights to see or restaurants to eat at meant we spent less time reading books and reviews online, and more time actually there enjoying the city! The room itself is extremely modern and designed beautifully... probably one of the nicest boutique style hotels I've been to. I just loved coming 'home' to our room each night. The bathroom products they have are great... the little surprises they offer on arrival or when you get back each day (I won't spoil them!) are a lovely touch. We got around using the trams which were really frequent and easier than trying to deal with Turkish taxi drivers. The downhill walk to the stop is only 5 minutes away so really convenient... but be prepared for a steep climb back to the hotel at the end of your day. Let's say our calves got a bit of a workout by the end of our trip! The whole modern part of Istanbul (Beyolgu) is quite hilly so there's no avoiding the inclines/declines, but it's actually a cool party of the city that seems less touristy. The Sultanahemet area was a bit too much, so it was nice coming back to where the hotel was each night and hang with the locals. Lots of little shops and cafes are dotted through the area and walking around was by the far the best way to see it all. After 6 nights here, the same breakfast every day got a little boring but it was still nice. A tip for other travelers... make sure you ask for your cooked breakfasts (ie: scrambled eggs or omelette), because if you don't ask for it yourself, you don't really get offered by the staff there. The other option is you just order whatever you want and get it delivered to your room, but its more enjoyable/comfortable in the meal area downstairs than in your room. Was nice having the free in room breakfast option though! A big thumbs up and thank you to the team at Witt Istanbul.. you made our stay very warm and welcoming!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33 on the 3rd floor. Had no problems, everything was perfect. Didn't get a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. We wanted a hotel with Bosphorous views in or around Beyoglu/Taksim and walking distance to the tram to take us to Sultanahmet where all the historic sites are. We picked this area because it is less touristy than Sultanahmet and has great dining.
Witt has three rooms on the 6th floor that have the views, of which #61 is the best. It is a corner room (very large) with outstanding views of Bosphorous. They will serve breakfast at no addtional fee in your room - take the offer. The room is very modern.
We could only stay 2 nights in #61 as it was booked during the last two days of our stay. We switched to the Grand King on the 3rd floor (#31). This is as big as #61 but without the view. Otherwise it was fine (and cheaper too!).
The breakfast is standard, but quite good. They have a Nespresso machine in the rooms as well for those who enjoy a good coffee.
Keep in mind that it is half way up a hill and so is a stiff climb from the nearest tram station (Tophane). If you are not up to it, consider taking a cab back to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want the some of the best views at a reasonable price, take 61.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Istanbul Hotel
Witt Hotel Istanbul
Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witt Istanbul Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.