We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icredible experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Witt Istanbul Suites to your Saves list
Witt Istanbul Suites
Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Icredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at the Witt and were pleased with every aspect of our stay/

We stayed in Room 51, which I would highly recommend as the layout is ideal and the view is spectacular. The rooms are spacious and the separate living area is an added benefit. The wetbar is beautiful and fully kitted out with a mini fridge and all the service ware you could need. The attention to detail and the design aspects of the room are also incredible. The folks who designed this hotel and its rooms left no stone unturned. Bathroom was also gorgeous - complete with a multi-head shower and heated floors (swoon).

The breakfast served in the lounge was generous. Complete with the standard Continental yogurts, cereals, pastries, meats and cheeses, the spread also included several local specialties of salads, olives, simit, and other items. The staff would also prepare eggs to your specification upon request.

The location of the hotel itself is fantastic. Away from the main tourist area of the Old City, the Witt is in a much hipper and stylish hood with lots of young people, boutiques, bars, and restaurants. The tram that will take you into Sultanahmet is just down the hill from the hotel - a five minute walk at best. Of course that means you'll have to walk up the hill when you come back at the end of the day. The hotel does not have a gym but, after walking back to the hotel up the hill, you won't even miss it.

The staff at the Witt are extraordinary. Ali in particular was a standout as he answered every single one of our questions graciously and expeditiously. The restaurant recommendations he made to us were spot on (definitely try Journeys and Ciya Sofrasi on the Asian side) and he went out of his way to help us secure a coveted table at Lokanta Maya for our last night. Ali and the rest of the staff at the Witt really helped to make our stay very special.

Definitely looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the higher floors - the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    90
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
90
506
33
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

They do just about everything right at the Witt:
Gracious service from the welcome guest staff of Volkan, Ali, Anil & Aykut.
Helpful restaurant suggestions, city navigation tips and local customs knowledge.
If you are facing the Bosphorus from an upper floor it will be intoxicating.
Generous breakfast with a myriad of options.
Super cool room design by the design group Autoban. Stylish without being overly "hip"
Located in a real residential neighbourhood. The best in the city for eating, drinking, art, antiques and apparel shopping.
Just around the corner are good eating options: Jouney Lounge, Smyrna and White Mill.
You get to hear the call to prayer each day from the Moque below the hotel.
Funky shower & superb Molton Brown toiletries.
The staff is the hallmark of this hotel: they will charm you...

Room Tip: Room 52 faces both the Bosphorus and the city. It is on a corner. Fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hospitality at its best!
Rooms are spacious and has a very contemporary feel to it. Loved the decor and ambience. Staff were very very hospitable and made us feel like actual guests unlike other hotels especially 5 stars! I am glad I cancelled my booking at grand Hyatt king suite rooms n booked here totally worth it.
It's a mere 5 to 10 min walk to taksim square and a 5 min walk to the tram station which will get u to ur tourist destinations quickly and is cheap. Tram is the best way to explore the city.
Breakfast at the hotel is also very good! Overall I highly recommend this place to anybody and everybody as its not only centrally located but lives upto 5 star star standards n ref to design, decor and service.

Room Tip: We were staying on the 2nd floor n had no issues at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Witt: the location is perfect-- quiet as can be, yet an easy walk (if you're ok on hills) to Istanbul Modern,Galata Bridge, and old city sites and Taksim Square for lively contemporary Istanbul. The room was beautifully designed-- comfortable as could be, great shower, lovely bar and kitchen with supplies, a comfortable couch, and real reading lights over the bed. I wish there were more Witts in other places I travel since I travel very frequently and hate the sterility of most hotels. Last but certainly not least, the staff were exceedingly polite, knowledgeable, and ready to help-- whether with directions, a printed boarding pass, a complex phone call, or a glass of wine. Just excellent. I would go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Probably more expensive, but upper rooms likely have a spectacular view. I was on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The term boutique hotel is widely used these days but it was originally coined for hotels like this. The Witt is a small hotel over the river from the old town, in a hip young neighbourhood full of interesting little restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is lovely and welcoming with a glossy and clean lobby opening out from a candlelit entrance. The lift has been touched upon various times by other reviewers but sufficient to say it was a cute touch. We stayed on the fourth floor and fell in love with our suite as soon as we walked in. The view wasn't panoramic but you could see the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia from the bar area window. The bar itself was magnificent, with marble fixtures and a really unusual metro mirrored wall opposite. We were touched to see that after being told that it was Mr Lisbonite's 30th, they'd left us an entire chocolate cake in the room, along with candles and sparklers. The room was spacious and squeaky clean and the bathroom was extremely comfortable and came complete with a rainfall shower big enough for two. The bed was enormous and the sofa area was perfect for stretching out with a book. Service was generally good. The only slight hiccup came when the concierge mixed our destination up with someone else's, sending us on a twenty minute taxi ride in the wrong direction. That said, they did send up a couple of glasses of wine that evening upon our return and offered to refund us the taxi fare. We also found it paid to pass by the bar on the ground floor for more water every time we came in as room service would bring one small bottle at a time. Overall, we loved the hotel so much that we actually spent most of one afternoon there reading and enjoying the view. We have told everyone we know that they shouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!

A couple of tips - yes, the hotel is on a steep hill but we found that taxis were generally very cheap and there's a tram stop about four minutes walk away. Ask taxi drivers to take you to the Italian Hospital. In general our strike rate when trying to get home was better once we realised that the hospital was practically next door. The hotel does give you a card with directions for taxi drivers but to be honest, very few of those that we used actually knew where the hotel was located. That said, we might just have been very unlucky with taxi drivers. Breakfast was good, if a litte unvarying, and excellent value for the relatively cheap room price.

Finally, take time for a local evening. The area feels like it's full of university students and ex-pats and there are loads of tiny bars and restaurants around. We walked further up the hill and then just wandered for ten or fifteen minutes before finding a lovely little place with huge windows and great food.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in one of the top floor suites - the view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here at the end of October. Originally we booked for 3 nights but then decided to change and arrive a day earlier. We had originally booked a Grand Panoramic but there was not one available for the extra first night for of our trip. We were given a Grand King , which was beautifully designed and magnificently spacious. There was a slightly obstructed but impressive view of some of the city. The next day we moved room and were thrilled to have been upgraded to the Super Grand King Panoramic on the top floor, with a wrap around terrace, and incredible views over Istanbul, a wonderful gesture that we were not expecting. The view was so amazing that we never closed the curtains so we enjoyed the views at dusk, all through the night and early morning with the call to prayer. The only bad thing is when we return we will have to book this room!

The hotel is beautiful, small and quiet, and the service faultless. There are plenty of nice touches, for example the beautiful showers and choice of having breakfast downstairs or in your room. Everything in Istanbul is within reach and although I have seen some people mention the steep hill to the hotel, it only makes it more worthwhile when you arrive in your oasis of a room. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this small boutique hotel near Taksim Square. The service was amazing and it was close enough for us to walk to Taksim (about 5 minute walk, all uphill) but was far enough that it we were able to get our rest at night (no noise). The only part I wasn't happy with was that I had expressed to the the concierge that we had heard that getting a Taxi from the airport might be too expensive so instead they set up a private ride from the airport to their hotel and charged us 115TL. Later I found out the ride from the airport was only about 45 to 50TL. Other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncel, General Manager at Witt Istanbul Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your time for sharing your experience. We feel great that we could meet your expectation other than the transfer service. There must have been a misunderstanding about the relative costs of a private pickup service and public yellow cabs. The yellow cabs can accommodate 2 people with luggages or 3 people without hardly any luggage. Our private van can accommodate up to 4-6 people with luggages. So I am assuming you were a group more than 2 which means you needed 2 yellow taxis. If you were a party of 2, then there must have been a misunderstanding obviously since private pickup service is more expensive than yellow cabs all over the world. If there was a miscommunication on our part, I apologize for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witt Istanbul Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.