We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis on the Bosphorus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus to your Saves list
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciragan Cad. No. 28 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #13 of 963 Hotels in Istanbul
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Oasis on the Bosphorus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I work in Afghanistan, so the chance to meet up with my family for a few days was precious time away from chaos and conflict.

Where to stay?

I travel all the time, and am a regular visitor to Istanbul. Good friends working at Robert College in the city advised me that the best choice for us was the Four Seasons Istanbul on the Bosphorus.

The hotel is an experience as much as a place to stay. The terrace along the edge of the Bosphorus is best at dusk with the boat and ferry traffic so close by. The outdoor swimming pool is the finest in the city, and the health club and hammam are places to retreat to on days when the weather turns cold and damp.

Typical of all Four Seasons properties, the staff were extraordinarily professional and committed to meeting our every need. The rooms were superlative...and we especially appreciated the hotel's reflection of Turkish culture and design.

If you need to be where the action is...then perhaps choose the sister property in Sultanahmet. But the Four Seasons on the Bosphorus reminded me of the Cipriani in Venice in its glory days:It's a hotel to be savored.

My only recommendation to the management: the hotel should offer a free of charge boat (something wooden and classic) to shuttle guests from the hotel to Eminou or Kabatas, so that the city's biggest attractions would be easily accessible. Traffic in front of the hotel can trap guests for extended periods...so why not embrace and make use of the Bosphorus in every possible way?

Take a lesson from the Cipriani, which provides a memorable ride on their own very special boat every 30 minutes from Piazza San Marco to the hotel's dock.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBosphorus, General Manager at Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear PeterCanoe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your visit in January. We are delighted to read that both you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. We also would like to take this opportunity to thank your friends for recommending us.

Please be advised that I will share this post with Four Seasons Bosphorus team as nothing can be a greater motivator than our guests' comments. We also noted your suggestion for a shuttle (boat) and appreciate the feedback. This summer we started offering airport transfers by a luxury private boat, which definitely helps our guests to avoid traffic.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Leonardo Baiocchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    97
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
174
364
36
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Four Seasosn Bosphorus is a first-rate hotel in every aspect: superb service, comfortable and spacious rooms, outstanding outdoor pool, and matchless spa. The business center is very helpful, and the concierge service is impeccable. The outdoor bar and restaurant are next to one of the most historic waterways on the planet--the Bosphorus. Like all Four Seasons, it is pricy, but you do get here what you pay for. It is about a 15 or 20 minute cab ride to the historic center (Sultanahmet), where there is another Four Seasons hotel. The views from the pool, the restaurant, and the outdoor bar are sublime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBosphorus, General Manager at Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear BassmanChicag0,

Thank you very much for your post about your stay in September.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and had a memorable stay with us. I will share your post with my team, especially with the Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards to Chicago,

Leonardo Baiocchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was special and also a delight to be on the Bosphorus as well as being well placed for local eateries, river trips and the Palaces.
I found the room that had a lot of attention to local detail (the ceiling coving) and well created room space unlike most 4* hotels that I have stayed in and this encouraged me to visit the Four Seasons hotel, London on the River Thames (my hometown).
This Bosphorus hotel has a lovely terrace, where boats drop off guests (water taxis/private yachts).
There was ample morning buffet that was fresh and there was attentive service on the terrace.
The spa was a very relaxing area to be after a long flight and we were taken care of with every need you did not need to ask for anything more.
For travellers to be mindful of was the time it takes for taxis to traverse the city from this location as the roads were always very congested.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south-western side are quiet Ask about the bed length as they were not for someone ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBosphorus, General Manager at Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Andystravelblog,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. These reviews are precious for us as it is the only way to learn about your experience and improve our services.

We are delighted to read that you loved your room, the facilities and enjoyed your time with us. Like you mentioned, we have a significant location on the shores of the Bosphorus, but our biggest asset is our people. Thank you once again for your nice comments about the service, especially at Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards to London,

Leonardo Baiocchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent four nights at this fantastic hotel with its beautiful terrace. The location is ideal right on the Bosphorus and one could happily spend all day out on the terrace watching the passing boats and ships. Also loved the landscaping with the pomegranates, magnolia trees, topiary and hedging. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very attentive and helpful. The beds were also very comfortable and we really liked the bathroom. It is a stunning hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBosphorus, General Manager at Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Heather L,

Thank you very much for your post about your stay in September.

We are happy to read that you and your family had a fabulous time at Four Seasons Hotel Bosphorus and went home with nice memories. September is one of the best months to visit Istanbul and you can still enjoy the nice Bosphorus breeze at our terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards to Australia,

Leonardo Baiocchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I won't take your time to explain anything about this hotel because whatever I tell, It is not enough to explain how I am thrilled. You should visit and feel the perfection. Even If you are not a hotel guest, please stop by for a coffee or a couple of drinks at the Aqua. Your experience with FS at the Bosphorus will be beyond anything expected from a hotel. Congratulations on having an excellent hotel like this..

Room Tip: Bosphorus view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBosphorus, General Manager at Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear EABSLR,

Thank you very much for your great comments.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a terrific time with us in July and I'll be happy to pass on your congratulations note to the rest of the team as there can be no greater motivator than our guests' comments. You made our day.

We hope to host you again in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Leonardo Baiocchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here for alas, one night only. From the moment you arrive, you're whisked into another world. The service is impeccable, the rooms spacious and luxurious, and the location on the Bosphorus just beautiful. Rooms are furnished to a high standard with attention paid to the smallest detail. The bathroom is especially nice. The hotel is a short walk to the lively district of Ortakoy, but not ideally situated for sightseeing in the Old City. As it is, it's far too tempting to just remain at the hotel rather than venture out and see the great city of Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBosphorus, General Manager at Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Justagirl28,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that we made it up to your expectations and you had a memorable stay with us.

We truly hope that you will have more than one day the next time you visit us and we look forward to being your host again in the nearest future.

Best regards from Istanbul,

Leonardo Baiocchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Cant speak highly enough of this hotel, great location great views, excellent service and immaculate. Good location. the waterfront bar and restaurants are why your there. room is great not outstanding but the view...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBosphorus, General Manager at Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Hugh E,

Million thanks for your post and the great comments.

We hope that you will come back again very soon and enjoy more of the facilities you liked, such as the bar and the restaurant.

Best regards to Australia,

Leonardo Baiocchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus

Address: Ciragan Cad. No. 28 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at the Bosphorus. On the European bank of the Bosphorus – which flows through Istanbul’s history and heart – Four Seasons gives a 19th-century palace a fresh, eclectic spirit. Alluring facilities include a chic urban spa. Fine restaurants and pools by the quayside overlook the Asian shore. And all are awash in the light, space and excitement of this water’s-edge location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Istanbul At The Bosphorus
Four Seasons Istanbul At The Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Four Seasons The Bosphorus
Istanbul Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.