We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Istanbul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adamar Hotel to your Saves list
Adamar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First visit to Istanbul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Were met at airport by driver (arranged by hotel) holding up our surname. After a long flight plus jet-lag, this was appreciated. Cost: about CDN $80. added to our hotel bill.

The location was excellent for visiting Istanbul sites.

Rooftop restaurant had an excellent view--menu very good too.
Morning breakfast (included) was also good.
Staff at front desk very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Our room was on floor 1, so had only a street view. Would have liked a room on upper stories. Prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    254
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
240
393
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was my fifth visit to this hotel and I would never consider staying anywhere else when in Istanbul. The staff are so friendly and welcomed me back like I was part of their family. The service and hospitality is such that you would find in a smalll boutique hotel. The hotel has five floors (with the restaurant on the sixth) and only five rooms on each floor. The rooms are small but clean and cozy. Each floor has a different color (red on first, blue on third, etc). Breakfast is included in the room rate. The restaurant is on the top floor of the hotel with spactacular views of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. They are so close that it feels like you can just reach out and touch them. If you book on the hotel's website and stay for more than 3 (or 4?) nights then a one-way airport shuttle is provided free of charge. I am returning to Istanbul in two months and have already booked my reservation at the Adamar. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request rooms ending in 3, 4 or 5 as they are on the quieter side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

From the moment of booking (swift replies) to checking out (booking us a hasslefree taxiride) we've had a very satisfying and delightfull experience.
Because of our celebration of 30 years of partnership they booked us the best standard room, with splendid view, very clean and cosy. The room was big and airy and very nicely decorated.
Breakfast was very good, lots of variation and options (coffee was great, freshly made omelettes,...) and this while enjoying the topnotch view over the Istanbul highlights...

We've enjoyed a very good diner too... the view over Istanbul by nights is unforgettable...
Option for a typical Turkish lunch or diner are avaible nearby...try Ortoklar for a cheap and tastefull experience.

Room Tip: some standard rooms are bigger and have nice views over the Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia, based on TA reviews.

It is a really good choice - location is right in the old part of Isatnbul, overlooking the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Topkapi palace and the Bosphorous. So very convenient for sightseeing in the touristy areas. However, it is also close enough to Serkeci to walk (or catch the tram). Lots of good and very reasonable places to eat withing 3-5 minutes walk. It is far enough away from the main tourist drag.

Great breakfast choices, amazing views from the restaurant, and there is a rooftop area with stunning views across the whole city.

The staff are helpful and knowledgable (they give you a crash course in where to go and what to see while they check you in!).

The room was clean and suitable for us although it was one of the smaller rooms on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked to stay at the Adamar in September for 4 days. Our room was unavailable for the first night due to the illness of a hotel guest and the Adamar arranged a very pleasant alternative hotel for the first night and arranged for us to be moved on the second day. Halil arranged everything brilliantly so that there was virtually no disruption to our holiday. The test of hotels can be how they deal with difficulties and in this regard the Adamar and Halil were wonderful. We were looked after flawlessly and ended up in an upgraded room and with a free airport transfer. We would go back without hesitation. Great location. The airport transfer option is worth every cent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Istanbul for the first time and wanted to see the all of main sights. The Adamar is in an incredible location within a short walk to all of the main attractions. It is also close to several fantastic restaurants and a great hammam spa. Also the views Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque from the rooftop restaurant are amazing.

Husnu and Ilhan provided great service and helped planned what activities to do on which days because we were only in town for a short stay. They also pre-bought and printed our entrance tickets which is key as it allows you to avoid long lines to buy tickets at the actual sights. Thank you Husnu and Ilhan! Rooms were a little small which would be my only complaint.

Stay here if you want a great location and high level of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Adamar Hotel in Istanbul for three days/nights, Oct. 18, 19, 20, 2013, following an Oceania cruise that ended in Istanbul. Located in Istanbul's Old Town (Sultanahmet), the Adamar is within comfortable walking distance of many historic sites, including the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Cistern, and the Grand Bazaar. The Adamar is also conveniently located near many restaurants that offer enjoyable outdoor dining as well as more intimate dining experiences within each restaurant.
Our hotel room was spacious, clean, quiet, and featured a view of Istanbul's waterfront. The complimentary breakfast buffet offered a delicious and varied array of foods, including an option to request eggs cooked to order. The hotel's dining room on the 6th floor, in which the buffet is served, offers a wonderful panoramic view of Istanbul. The hotel's 7th floor open-air deck offers a fantastic panoramic view of Istanbul, an absolutely outstanding location for dining, late afternoon drinks, and picture-taking! The views at sunset and at night when the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia are floodlit are amazing! The Adamar staff, led by Halil, were all very friendly, accommodating, and helpful! Selda, a charming and very enthusiastic waitress whom we had the pleasure to meet at the buffet, suggested many sightseeing possibilities. Thanks to the guidance and recommendations of Halil and Selda, we greatly enjoyed a private boat cruise on the Golden Horn River, the Bosphorus Strait, and the Sea of Marmara that showcased both the Asian and European areas of Greater Istanbul, as well as visits to the Spice Bazaar, Chora Church, Pierre Loti Hill, and Istiklal St. and Taksim Square in the New District...all of this in addition to visits to the renowned, historic sites mentioned previously in this review.
The Adamar provided complimentary shuttle service to the airport on the morning of our departure. We would definitely stay at the Adamar Hotel again! We truly loved our visit to Istanbul, and we found the people we met to be extraordinarily friendly, engaging, and kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#51 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.