We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I'zaz Lofts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added I'zaz Lofts to your Saves list
I'zaz Lofts
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kamerhatun Mah. Balik Sok. No:12 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey (Beyoğlu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 829 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I rented three lofts for our travelling party in May. We loved the roof top deck, which is fully equipped for a light snack and the updated, contemporary rooms. The location was excellent for seeing the sights and the neighbourhood is very exciting with shops, restaurants, bakeries...everything you need! The housekeeper was very accommodating and did our laundry at no charge. Sadie,the hotel owner was available and attentive, offering suggestions for restaurants and attractions.
For a unique experience try the barber shop a few doors away for a shave, massage,wax..you name it!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a window seat and room 3 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second visit to Istanbul. Our first visit was about five years ago, for only a short time. Then, we stayed in Sultanahmet. Since our stay was so brief, we concentrated on visiting the old town and its highlights--Haghia Sophia, Sultanahmet Mosque, the Grand Bazaar. At night, we went into Beyoglu to hear music, and knew that when we returned, we would stay in Istanbul longer and stay in this vibrant, modern district.

We did return in May for 8 days and Izaz was a perfect basecamp for us. The design is very handsome without being sterile, the room an ideal size for my partner and I, and the kitchen roof terrace was a great amenity. We are not fans of big hotels--they lend a somewhat generic feel to a vacation--and we like to be able to occasionally make our own meals. We considered renting an apartment, but then learned about Izaz. This is a great combination of staying at a small hotel and an apartment.

The kitchen is well-stocked. On days when we didn't want to go to another restaurant, we simply picked up some wine, fresh produce, bread, cheese and olives from a few stores just up the street, settled in upstairs on the terrace, plugged in our ipod, and enjoyed our private terrace meal, overlooking the city.

Izaz's location could not be better--only a few blocks away from Istiklal Caddesi, a main artery to other parts of the city, but tucked away in a relatively quiet alleyway street.

If you want a big hotel experience, Izaz is not for you. However, the amenities of a hotel--reception and information as well as security--are still present. The manager, Sadi, was often right outside the building, and always available for questions and advice. He could not have been more helpful. Even when we came in late from a night out, the security gentleman was around.

I hope to visit Istanbul again soon, and would very much like to stay at Izaz again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond B.C.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were a group of 7 and had booked all 4 suits, 3 were great but we had ground floor and found the room very small, no air flow and air condition did not function properly. This place is not wheelchair accessible we were happy to move to a hotel with phone, elevator , air condition, and larger room

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izazlfts, Owner at I'zaz Lofts, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello, We very much appreciate all feedbacks as it helps us improve the stay of our future guests. However, this review also is a bit concerning since it does not reflect the true condition of our rooms.

- The room that was chosen is our smallest room available at 25 m², hence priced accordingly in comparison to all the other rooms we have, while providing exactly the same amenities. The guests were informed about the size before booking. This is a standard size of a hotel room in Istanbul today.

- Although the room is located on the ground floor, there are two secure 120cm tall windows. Most of our guests love to open these during the day to allow fresh air and enjoy the sights and sounds of the neighborhood.

- Spring maintenance of our air conditioning system had occurred the week before the the guests checked in. Upon receiving this review yesterday, I personally checked the air-conditioning system in the room and have verified it is in a fully functional state.

- Since none of the guests in the party had a psychical condition that prevented them from accessing their rooms, this comment was the most surprising. Located in a renovated antique Greek building, as we mention on our website and in all our emails with guests, we have no elevator in order to preserve the historical integrity of the building. We understand that having no elevator may limit the accessibility for some potential guests.

Even though the guests checked out earlier than booked and moved to another hotel, it is never in our intention to charge our guests for a stay they are not happy with. So, as a good faith gesture, they were not charged for the last night of their stay. Additionally, we provided them a complimentary transfer back to the airport and they mentioned that they will definitely stay with us during their next trip to Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The I'zaz Lofts was a perfect experience for our group of Canadian friends. We took over all four rooms and really appreciated the roof top deck/kitchen for breakfast and evening wine and appies.
The housekeeper was extremely thorough and friendly. It was great to have our laundry done! The location of the boutique hotel is perfect....close to Istiklal Caddesi, the tram and the trolley. This is not the place if you expect a North American big hotel experience.

Room Tip: The first floor room is very small and stuffy because you can't open the windows for security re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Well this hotel was my husbands idea. He alway likes to try new places. I am more of the big hotel girl. It turned out this one time he chose well.
Izaz is a little gem of a hotel. It is just so homey and cute, with its 4 rooms and this little terrace on the roof. It was tulip season in Istanbul, I just love that time of year. In Singapore we do not such a spring like I grew up with. Back to Izaz, Up on the terrace the glassed in room was just perfect as it was still a little brisk outside. I ended setting up shop there in the morning while my husband was at his conference. I just loved watch the city from above.
The rooms are super, much larger than what I would expect from a city hotel, especially a small one. We booked the room with the nook. so nice for reading.
Bye the way the people who work there really add to the comfort of the stay.
Enough said, I am a convert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It does not add much to just copy he numerous compliments this small boutique hotel / B&B has received, and if you like a bar and dining room in the hotel, this may not be the place.
When we arrived in Istanbul we shared a taxi with a couple to the old city, and the first thought that entered our mind was "we should have stayed in the old town as well" it was very pretty.

When we arrived, the taxi could not enter "the walkin only street" but Sadi was quick to help us with the luggage (they do not have an elevator}.and show us the room and the communal kitchen on the roof terrace with a nice view.
We were adviced to walk up further on the street for dinner, which we did.
It was only a 100 yards and the street thansformed into a true diningroom with sidewalk dining everywhere. The specialty was fresh fish you could select from the numerous fish-mongers around.
The food was ... (fill in your own words to describe a nice and enjoyable meal)
At the end of this picturesque street was a huge shopping street with a charming old tram in the middle of the street trying to pass the crowds and bring passengers from both ends of this 1 mile long shopping street.
This area of Istanbul has become very trendy among the natives, but it is not inundated by the foreign tourists yet.
So it was no wonder that we both agreed, we like to come back to the same area and Hotel on our return from Ephesus and Capadocia.
The hotel, not surprisingly. was booked for these day, so we may have to stay in a less nice hotel, but it will be in the same area as we really started to like the "fish-mongers" (as Sadi jokingly portrayed them to us) and the restaurants that used them.
We did get to appreciate the commeradety on the strrets.
Of course we like to visit the incredible places of interset that are located in the old city, but we also enjoyed the area that is getting more popular among foreign tourist but still has a definite charn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london/damascus
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I loved Izaz. It's only got four rooms, and no reception, so it really feels like you're staying in your own personal Istanbul apartment. The location is great, too. It's right at the heart of the Meyhane area where all the restaurants and bars are. I'll definitely be back here.

Room Tip: The second floor room has a nice sofa in the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I'zaz Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I'zaz Lofts

Address: Kamerhatun Mah. Balik Sok. No:12 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoğlu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I'zaz Lofts 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
i'zaz lofts is a collection of trendy, yet intimate, lofts that truly reflect the boldness and the diversity of the city itself that are located in a street near the old fish market at Taksim, two blocks away from Istiklal Avenue and one block away from British consulate; one of Istanbul's most colorful urban neighborhood with art galleries, shops, restaurants, clubs, theaters and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your I'zaz Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i`Zaz Lofts Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I'zaz Lofts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.