We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emine Sultan is a gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emine Sultan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Emine Sultan Hotel to your Saves list
Emine Sultan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapiagasi Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Emine Sultan is a gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 6 nights in this gem of a hotel. Emine Sultan is located in the heart of Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. While the rooms are small, they are clean with well appointed bathrooms. The breakfast buffet that is presented on the 4th (top) floor of this hotel is scrumptious and the view of the Marmara Sea is wonderful. The staff have a good grasp of English and are helpful and personable. Especially helpful were Sumette and Dolan. Remember, you're in the middle of a big, big city so expect some traffic noise -- both from cars and feet. But this hotel was very comfortable. Isabelle F.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    143
    32
    3
    4
See reviews for
105
266
65
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked this hotel very last-minute based on reviews, and wasn't disappointed. Very warm welcome by all staff, which made up for airport hassle. The room (I was upgraded to a suite, a few minutes away) was more than wonderful with a comfortable bed, divan, excellent bathroom, air conditioning, wifi and a fruit basket to welcome me. The sauna in the suites building was a great bonus. Location wise it's excellent for sightseeing in Sultanahmet, as well as being close to public transportation to see other parts of town. Breakfast is great as well, with all the Turkish staples on offer in a breakfast room with a view. The neighbourhood is safe (I walked around alone at night and was perfectly fine), and full of restaurants and shops, but 100% geared to tourists so don't expect anything 'authentic'. All in all I recommend highly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wife and I stayed in Istanbul for nine nights in April 2013. This hotel was outstanding, we stayed in a suite on the 4th floor and loved it. Even though it was very close to heavily visited tourist attractions like the Blue Mosque, the hotel was very quiet at night. Can't say enough about the hotel staff, they were attentive and helpful and made us very comfortable, it was like we were staying with close family and friends. Highly recommend, and I should add that this hotel was recommended to us by someone who had previously stayed there.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator, so if you pack heavy, well, it's going to hurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was there for 4 nights and I really enjoyed it. The hotel itself is very clean and located in a traditional area of Istanbul, close to historical parts of the city, very quite and nice rooms.
The staff were really kind and nice to us and they were helping us in any situation.I would like to give my kind thanks to Dugan also Someye whom helped us very well during our stay over there. I will return back to the hotel for sure:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I loved the amazing view of the Marmara sea and the blue Mosk from the 4th floor, the cleanliness of the room, the adaptability and the kindness of the staff, in particular Sümeyye who is really fantastic ! And the little attentions they have for their guests to make their stay special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmineSultanHotel, General Manager at Emine Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Honoured Guest,

It has been a great pleasure for all of us at Emine Sultan to host you at our hotel.

We are happy about that you have reviewed us on Tripadvisor to help other guests who thinks to stay with us in Istanbul !

We wish you an enjoyable trip and we will be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards ,

Çağrı Saracalıoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited this hotel in Mid May 2013 and had a great stay. Picked the hotel based the excellent reviews I had seen on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The rooms were not massive but were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and liked the extra touches of a fruit basket presented on arrival and the free cake in the afternoon :-). Best of all though was the location. Walking distance to all the major historical sites and from the roof top terrace you get a view of the Blue Mosque whilst overlooking the Bosphorus river. Great at sunset.
Finally, thanks to the staff for being so friendly and helpful. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and was pleasantly surprised at its central location. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was amazing. The sea views and great variety of food on offer were fabulous. The hotel is clean and beautifully decorated and I would definitely recommend it to others visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmineSultanHotel, General Manager at Emine Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dearest Catherine,

It has been a great pleasure for all of us at Emine Sultan to host you at our hotel.

I hope you had your package that we have sent you which you forgot in Istanbul :)

We are happy about that you have reviewed us on Tripadvisor to help other guests who thinks to stay with us in Istanbul !

We wish you an enjoyable trip and we will be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards ,

Çağrı Saracalıoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emine Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emine Sultan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapiagasi Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#61 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#203 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Emine Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emine Sultan Hotel, Located in the old city of Istanbul, small boutique hotel that has only 10 rooms, we have very nice see view in our Terrace and some of our rooms, our hotel is max. 10 minutes away from Historical Places by walking. We have open buffet Breakfast with special Turkish homemade cookies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emine Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emine Sultan
Emine Sultan Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emine Sultan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.