We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot spot !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oldcity Hotel Istanbul

Oldcity Hotel Istanbul
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Oldcity Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Oldcity Hotel Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alaykosku caddesi No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #842 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“hot spot !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

this little hotel is located in the quite side of sultanahmet just a little bit above the basilica cistern..its just a few minutes to hagia sophia and to the blue mosque.. its close to the grand bazaar also - there is a short cut when u walk towards the opposite way of hagia sophia, u will pass from a lovely street full of trees & jewellery stores & cafes - starbucks is on the right side - ... the breakfast was in the middle, u can have ur breakfast in the small area outside the hotel also - not many cars are passing.. close to the hotel there is the house of medusa restaurant - lovely garden w/delicious food... the only negative thing with the hotel was our room was so small and the walls were so thin :S but ok we slept like rocks after tiring busy days :) O.ooo... another advice, book ur shuttle to the airport from the place just on the next door of the hotel, its so cheap... and dont be surprised if u see the person who picked u up from the airport when u were coming, cause the hotel is working with them also ..

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed at old city hostel istanbul and we realy liked it so much..thanks to everybody there...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

This is the place to stay in Sultanahmet. I have traveled to Istanbul several times and stayed in at least three hotels in Sultanahmet. This was, by far, the nicest, friendliest, and best value. Our room was very nice, clean, and comfortable and it is very close to all the sights. The hotel staff is great and breakfast offers a wide variety. You can't go wrong here-- highly recommend!

p.s. also note that there is a travel agency nearby that offers cheap (about 6 euros) airport pickup and dropoff.

  • Liked — Room, Location, Breakfast, Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

I would not recommend this hotel. Our room 202 was very cramped and the bathroom was also very cramped. The only thing that this hotel had to offer was its location. We were introduced to our bedroom. We were not told how to use the safe and there was no kettle to make a cuppa. There was no room for our cases as the room was really small. We ordered a taxi for the Sabiha Gocken airport and the taxi arrived at Ataturk Airport! We nearly missed our plane. The receptionist was asked to call us on the morning of our departure and they did not. We ordered a breakfast before our early departure and they did not have it ready. It appreared to me that they tell you that they understand your request when in fact they do not. This is not a hotel that I could recommend and we were very disappointed with the service.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Oldcity hotel is a wonderful hotel. We were in Istanbul for our honeymoon and we couldn't have choose a better place to stay.
The hotel itself is really beautiful and our room was very large and comfortable.

The breakfast was very nice and various and the staff was really helpfull.
The position of the hotel is really good, just a few steps from the most important things to see in Sultanahmet.

I would surely recommend this hotel and I would come back there in the future.

  • Liked — The location, the hotel's furnitures, free wireless connection.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldcity Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldcity Hotel Istanbul

Address: Alaykosku caddesi No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #842 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldcity Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the historical charm of Istanbul’s old peninsula and indulge in 4-star luxury at the wonderful Old city Hotel. Absorb the romantic atmosphere of this hotel’s tasteful, classic interior and completely unwind in the comfortable accommodation. Take a moment to savor the atmosphere of this elegant establishment and you will almost be able to feel the rich history of its surroundings. Start your day off with a great, wholesome breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Oldcity Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldcity Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.