We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 976 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 5 nights a couple of weeks back and really enjoyed the experience. We were surprisingly upgraded to a Junior suite which had a lovely balcony and the view of Blue Mosque on one side and the Bosphorous on the other. It was truly amazing. The room was very spacious and nice. Only reason I have not given 5 stars is that there were a couple of things that if taken care of could have made the stay better. Our bathroom was smelling throughout and despite the staff looking at it, there wasn't much of a difference. I guess they are just old buildings! And one of the days we were supposed to catch a 5.30am flight and that was the night when the Day Light savings changed and we had no idea about it and we missed our cab and almost missed the flight as we were 1 hour delayed. I would have really expected the staff to let the guests know about this change happening as many tourists like us wouldn't be aware of it.
I would still go back to this hotel because nothing can beat the location. It is walking distance to Blue mosque and Ayasofia and lots of restaurants nearby. Staff are very kind and friendly too!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe or suite to get views of bosphorous and mosque. it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    126
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
86
131
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, great room, friendly and helpful staff... No downsides to mention. The safe box stopped working with our passports inside and they quikly fixed the problem. We liked the breakfast too. Great experience overall. Our three kids loved the hotel. Jasmine and the girl from Italy (Lucile??) gave us great tips to move around Istanbul.

Room Tip: Family room is VERY spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Gustavo!

We want to thank you for choosing and trusting us to pass your holiday in İstanbul.
We will be always here and ready to give and do our best for you and all our guest.
With hope to see you again in the future.

Best Reguards!
Guest Relation Department
The Byzantium hotel & suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The biggest highlight of staying here is the breakfast spread. The staff who prepares the spread definitely take pride in it.

Definitely clean and great location. Apart from all this, i guess its all regular as there is a lot of hotels to choose from in sultanahmet.

The biggest downside is the noise, if you sleep after 11pm then its a perfect hotel for you. However, i have stayed here for 2 nights and came back at 8pm but arent able to enjoy the room due to the noise of restaurant around the area.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed a one night stay as I roam around Istanbul for the first few months of 2015. It was a competitive priced hotel in the heart of Sutanahmet. The rooms were clean, a bit dated, but quite servicable. I was given an amazing sea view by the very cheerful front desk and the rest of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The spa services are available to guests for an additional charge which was a surprise, and a couple treadmills make up the fitness center. Breakfast was ample with a wide selection of hot and cold items. Loved the presentation and the coffee was wonderful. Get a good price for your room and it's worth staying there as part of your Istanbul trip.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Public Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tripa Adviser Memmber!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and found the staff very polite and helpful. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at The Byzantium hotel & suit.İt was pleasure time for us to have you here.
Best Reguards!
Guest Relation Department
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked and paid for this hotel via Hotels.com but were forced to pay again upon leaving in a rush for the airport. We reported the double charge immediately and were told we'd be refunded in 3 days. Despite numerous calls and repeated written confirmations that we'd get the money back, it's been over a month and we've yet to receive a cent.

I can only conclude that this hotel, while appearing nicer and more modern than some in Istanbul, is just the same as many cheap hotels: trying to swindle money from tourists.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, perfect location - walking distance to some of the most important attractions and the Mosques, and also in a street full of restaurants; mostly friendly staff, and a lot of things to do in the hotel. They have many massage packages, sauna, Turkish bath, and stuff like that; too bad I didn't have the chance to take any of them. Room was a bit simple but still nice (and nice shower) and we had a great view to the sea. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Vanessa V,
It’s was a pleasure for host you in our Hotel,and thank you for choosing us.
It is really a big acess your opinion about our staff and hotel too.
With the hope to host you again.
Best Regards
Guest Relation Departament
The Byzantium Hotel &suit
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We stayed at this hotel three nights. Very good location,close to Blue Mosque,Haga Sofia and Top Kapi. Through our stay staff was very polite and helpful,food was very good. the rooms are very comfortable.
We would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Mr Alban!

İn name of all 'The bezantium team',we want to thank you for choosing us.İt was pleasure to have between us,either for a short time.We want to thanks for your coment.
Hope to see you in the future.

Best regards !

The Byzantium Hotel team
Guest Relation Department!
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#142 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#147 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.