We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Clean and best breakfast spread!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 974 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, Clean and best breakfast spread!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The biggest highlight of staying here is the breakfast spread. The staff who prepares the spread definitely take pride in it.

Definitely clean and great location. Apart from all this, i guess its all regular as there is a lot of hotels to choose from in sultanahmet.

The biggest downside is the noise, if you sleep after 11pm then its a perfect hotel for you. However, i have stayed here for 2 nights and came back at 8pm but arent able to enjoy the room due to the noise of restaurant around the area.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    124
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
83
129
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed a one night stay as I roam around Istanbul for the first few months of 2015. It was a competitive priced hotel in the heart of Sutanahmet. The rooms were clean, a bit dated, but quite servicable. I was given an amazing sea view by the very cheerful front desk and the rest of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The spa services are available to guests for an additional charge which was a surprise, and a couple treadmills make up the fitness center. Breakfast was ample with a wide selection of hot and cold items. Loved the presentation and the coffee was wonderful. Get a good price for your room and it's worth staying there as part of your Istanbul trip.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Public Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Tripa Adviser Memmber!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and found the staff very polite and helpful. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at The Byzantium hotel & suit.İt was pleasure time for us to have you here.
Best Reguards!
Guest Relation Department
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked and paid for this hotel via Hotels.com but were forced to pay again upon leaving in a rush for the airport. We reported the double charge immediately and were told we'd be refunded in 3 days. Despite numerous calls and repeated written confirmations that we'd get the money back, it's been over a month and we've yet to receive a cent.

I can only conclude that this hotel, while appearing nicer and more modern than some in Istanbul, is just the same as many cheap hotels: trying to swindle money from tourists.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel, perfect location - walking distance to some of the most important attractions and the Mosques, and also in a street full of restaurants; mostly friendly staff, and a lot of things to do in the hotel. They have many massage packages, sauna, Turkish bath, and stuff like that; too bad I didn't have the chance to take any of them. Room was a bit simple but still nice (and nice shower) and we had a great view to the sea. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Vanessa V,
It’s was a pleasure for host you in our Hotel,and thank you for choosing us.
It is really a big acess your opinion about our staff and hotel too.
With the hope to host you again.
Best Regards
Guest Relation Departament
The Byzantium Hotel &suit
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel three nights. Very good location,close to Blue Mosque,Haga Sofia and Top Kapi. Through our stay staff was very polite and helpful,food was very good. the rooms are very comfortable.
We would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr Alban!

İn name of all 'The bezantium team',we want to thank you for choosing us.İt was pleasure to have between us,either for a short time.We want to thanks for your coment.
Hope to see you in the future.

Best regards !

The Byzantium Hotel team
Guest Relation Department!
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Within just 2 blocks of the the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia it is in a great location but really the excellent and friendly staff is what made our stay so good.
The first day we arrived there was a snow storm and as such had to walk the last 2 blocks to the hotel as the taxi got stuck in traffic.
As we arrived the staff ushered us straight into the restaurant for hot coffee and breakfast before checking in.
Through out our stay they continued to be helpful with one member of staff even letting us use her train card for the day.

The hotel itself is in a perfect location with easy walking to the main attractions and surrounded by good restaurants and bars. The rooms are cosy but comfortable and the rooftop bar has an excellent view of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the straights. It also has an enclosed restaurant that is good for cold days.

I would highly recommend staying here again.

Room Tip: Room with a water view Keeps you away from the noise on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Saffadave!

I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I remember this stormy snow day ,how did you come.I am glad that you enjoy the İstanbul and your stay with us either in these cold days.
We will be waiting for you!

Best reguards!

Guest Relation Department
The Byzantium Hotel & suit
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

What a great experience. After much concideration as to where we should go for a much needed winter break, we finally decided on Istanbul. The Byzantium Hotel became our choice of accomodation as it was situated in the historical centre of the city, a short walk from the Blue Mosque and the Haga Sophia.
We stayed at the Byzantium for 1 week. When we arrived we were told that they had upgraded our room to a suit. Which turned out to be beautiful.
The staff were polite, kind and cheerful throughout our stay, dispite the fact that some ended up staying on duty for several days continuously due to snow. They went out of their way to chat to us everyday and point out the places of interest that we should visit, giving directions and advice about trams, trains etc.
The breakfast menu was amazing.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone concidering a trip to Istanbul.
As for Istanbul itself, it is one of the most beautiful cities that I have ever visited. The people are lovely, thoughtful, kind and conciderate. The food fantastic, a meat eater and a vegetarian's paradise.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Byzantium H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear Christina M!

It was a great pleasure to host such a warm and welcoming personality like you here at The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul.

Your review and all good pointing reviews are giving us such a great power and our staff is very proud with the service you enjoy.

Like to thank you for taking time to share your stunning review here on tripadvisor, we love to host you again like your own sweet home here at The Byzantium Hotel.
Best Regards!
Guest Relations Department
The Byzantium team
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#137 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#150 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.